We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A nightmare"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelangi Balau Resort
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Kota Tinggi
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Room not as expected. Agreed with the other commentators/reviews that this hotel is not well maintained and not a comfortable place to stay. Supposed to stay for 2 nights however changed my mind on seeing & experiencing the room condition. Not recommended and not worth the rates ( based on market rates). Should give a very reasonable rate based on the room condition.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimboBangiSelangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

We got to know about this hotel is through the net.From their net advertisement we can see that its no more less like a heaven on earth.But the nightmare starts when we arrived there.we have to wait for almost 10 minutes for the front office staff to realize that there is somebody standing in front of the reception desk( they were busy chatting ).
After 5 hours drive from Kuantan , I ,my wife & my 9 month daughter really need a good rest but yet there is still a shock on their way.We were given room look like non other than a barn! The room was smelly , not well maintained & it looks like it haven't been touch in a decade.
My wife then went to the reception and ask for a room change...yes they give us another room or I can say it here another 'barn'..again we went to the reception & ask for another room change & this time ( with sour face )they said all rooms are fully booked. We then asked them to return our money so that we can leave the hell & lucky after quarreling for almost 20 minutes we manage to get back our money & leave the place.
I wont recommend this place of hell to others...please look for other hotel instead

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
11  Thank rezallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed there for one night. They needed to replace their bed mattresses as they were not comfortable to sleep on. Toilet bowl chocked in the morning (had to use the toilets at d pool outside). There was still water inside d kettle when we juz checked in. Resort was not properly lit especially at night (did not give a sense of security for hotel guests) as well as no there were no sight of securities around. Hot water was not available around 1100 hrs - and it came out very little(I was very lucky I took shower before that, but not my husband n d kids). During breakfast, staff picked up dirty plates without wiping d tables n just picked up d food remains with their hands, no sense of hygiene. Pool water did not look clean. Playground was not well maintained n cleaned (there's lots of cats droppings around d facility). Would not come back and recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kendiamummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here during Ramadan (Muslim's fasting month) because of its cheap promotion rate, MYR 80 (50% off) for Standard Room (without breakfast). However, the room we got was dusty, with cockroach's droppings on the washroom floor. Given the cheap promotion price during weekend, I don't expect much. It will be great if they had done their housekeeping for us. The receptionist is very kind though. I blogged about the location map to get there and some tips: http://walkwalk.github.com/blog/2012/08/14/tanjung-balau-beach/

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank teohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I have been recently there but never ever thought that i am at hell. Believe me thats just a place for one community ( I will not tell you name ). In the evening when I went to a single restaraunt in that resort, they said We can't give you any food now, you have to wait till 9 oclock because staff busy in preparing food for some special guest( same community people). Later when we went there then they said we don't have food now left. All staff was staring us like we are in ZOO. In morning my god you will not believe when we been there for our free breakfast before time, everrything was finished there. Manager told us we will try to cook something for you. without even asking he bring something which was looking so weired , We said can we get atleast bread. the guys there in restaraunt was talking in there language & misbehaved with us. One guy was trying to KILL US. He came with knife & tried to hit us. Anyhow with the help of one person we reached at reception area. We have said everything to manager at reception. But he was gain helpless infront of those bad guys who again tried to kill us.

ANY HOW I MANAGED TO LEAVE THAT PLACE IMMEDIATELY.
DON'T GOOOOOOOOO. THATS A HELL DIRTY PLACE.

Room Tip: This place is simply Hell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 249SHWETA249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Staffs service are so-so but product knowledge bad, they seems to have difficulties in understanding,they juz smile n grin helplessly at you for things they cant understand (cant understand English) .Have an on site restaurant but the items on the menu are unavailable (only if u are "lucky" u might get nasi goreng or mee goreng) Stayed there for 2 nights (free breakfast)

Breakfast
1st breakfast: nothing but mee goreng tea/coffee and a plate of papaya
2nd breakfast : local breakfast wif "buffet" style tat is limited serving.
basically, u cant choose what u want to eat... u need to eat what they "feel" like cooking.

Bedroom
Wardrobe weird smell (like not use for long time)
TV anntena bad reception
Pest like mosquito & big ants in room
No bathroom towel (must request from reception)
Pillow stained
noisy air-con, toilet always got water being flushed down sound (quite disturbing at times)
no telephone in room
no remote control for air-con & TV

Environment
Swimming pool is deserted & algae growing at the bottom of the pool. Seen staff scrubbing the algae off the the swimming pool w/o changing the swimming pool water (so dirty) not advisable to swim in..

Environment full of Pests. Big houseflies/bugs flying all over you even in the restaurant w/o air-con

No vending machines for selling drink as their restaurant dun sell any..

Do not have being welcomed feeling

Beach
Not advisable for swimming.. (very dirty) & many rocks

BASICALLY THIS PLACE IS NOT FOR FUN TRAVELLERS....

No activities, very very quiet, boring. worse of all they do not provide any transport to attraction places.

Locations is very far from all other resorts n attraction places.

Advise if going there for adventure/fun holidays..book resorts like Lotus Desaru where they have activites like water sports which u can enjoy.

Photos of mentioned resort is deceiving

Room Tip: Nothing good to share
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Goldie124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Staffs service are excellent but the management not. Stayed there for 2 nights, both breakfast we just had 3 kind of food which very oily-not healthy, asked boiled egg for a change instead of the fried egg given, they said - " will be charged", place for the bbq "charged", bbq equipment "charged", extra pillow "charged"...

Malaysian..

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hrene070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Tinggi
1 mi away
Kota Rainforest Resort
Kota Rainforest Resort
#4 of 9 in Kota Tinggi
33 reviews
14.9 mi away
Amansari Residence Resort
0.4 mi away
Mayres Hotel
Mayres Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kota Tinggi
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#47 of 111 in Johor Bahru
390 reviews
15 mi away
Rooms Boutique Hotel
Rooms Boutique Hotel
#39 of 111 in Johor Bahru
50 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Tebrau
Hotel Tebrau
#46 of 111 in Johor Bahru
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelangi Balau Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelangi Balau Resort

Address: Jalan Balau, Kota Tinggi 81900, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Kota Tinggi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Kota Tinggi
Price Range: £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a dream holiday come true at Pelangi Balau Resort, Tanjung Balau (within the vicinity of Desaru), Kota Tinggi, Johor. Desaru literally means 'Village of Casuarinas' where its sandy beaches are fringed with casuarinas trees gently swaying with the sea breeze. Mesmerize yourself within the extensive surrounding of flora and fauna, with its peaceful and serene atmosphere, Pelangi Balau Resort is the perfect getaway for a memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pelangi Balau Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelangi Balau Hotel Kota Tinggi
Pelangi Balau Resort Kota Tinggi, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing