We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of cockroach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelangi Balau Resort
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kota Tinggi
Penang
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Full of cockroach!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stay there because of office family 2D1N trip, if not we definitely not come. Horribly, our family suite (which they had claimed for so many years, not worth the money) is a house for cockroaches!! We cannot even sleep and at 12pm, we rushed to reception to asked for another room but only get a small bottle of mosquito repellent. With that, we managed to kill almost 15-20 cockroaches!!! all night long the suite is full of repellent gas, terrible!! To those who read this out, use your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Nothing is good here, please go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aimar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    7
    1
    8
See reviews for
6
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

A nice place to relax with an outdoor swimming and wading pool. Be careful when in the wading pool area especially near the water slide area. You may accidentally kick or trip on the extended concrete railing that protrudes in the water area there.
Otherwise, it's a nice place to relax and it faces the beach front. Try to avoid swimming in the sea as thhe whole area stretching from desaru to tanjong balau is noted for its swift underwater current. During the monsson season , from October to January, many swimmers have been drown.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Customer service...i dont think they have...staff..rude...
front resk(reception)...know nothing about the resort...
room...dirty.oso many cat around..smelly...
so shame of Malay resort..hmmm..
So dissappointed because i go with my whole family including my father & mother in law..my brother & sister in law..i swear i will not stay again at this place..poor resort..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shaiful A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Tinggi hotels

Bangi Selangor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Room not as expected. Agreed with the other commentators/reviews that this hotel is not well maintained and not a comfortable place to stay. Supposed to stay for 2 nights however changed my mind on seeing & experiencing the room condition. Not recommended and not worth the rates ( based on market rates). Should give a very reasonable rate based on the room condition.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimboBangiSelangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuantan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We got to know about this hotel is through the net.From their net advertisement we can see that its no more less like a heaven on earth.But the nightmare starts when we arrived there.we have to wait for almost 10 minutes for the front office staff to realize that there is somebody standing in front of the reception desk( they were busy chatting ).
After 5 hours drive from Kuantan , I ,my wife & my 9 month daughter really need a good rest but yet there is still a shock on their way.We were given room look like non other than a barn! The room was smelly , not well maintained & it looks like it haven't been touch in a decade.
My wife then went to the reception and ask for a room change...yes they give us another room or I can say it here another 'barn'..again we went to the reception & ask for another room change & this time ( with sour face )they said all rooms are fully booked. We then asked them to return our money so that we can leave the hell & lucky after quarreling for almost 20 minutes we manage to get back our money & leave the place.
I wont recommend this place of hell to others...please look for other hotel instead

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank rezallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed there for one night. They needed to replace their bed mattresses as they were not comfortable to sleep on. Toilet bowl chocked in the morning (had to use the toilets at d pool outside). There was still water inside d kettle when we juz checked in. Resort was not properly lit especially at night (did not give a sense of security for hotel guests) as well as no there were no sight of securities around. Hot water was not available around 1100 hrs - and it came out very little(I was very lucky I took shower before that, but not my husband n d kids). During breakfast, staff picked up dirty plates without wiping d tables n just picked up d food remains with their hands, no sense of hygiene. Pool water did not look clean. Playground was not well maintained n cleaned (there's lots of cats droppings around d facility). Would not come back and recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kendiamummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here during Ramadan (Muslim's fasting month) because of its cheap promotion rate, MYR 80 (50% off) for Standard Room (without breakfast). However, the room we got was dusty, with cockroach's droppings on the washroom floor. Given the cheap promotion price during weekend, I don't expect much. It will be great if they had done their housekeeping for us. The receptionist is very kind though. I blogged about the location map to get there and some tips: http://walkwalk.github.com/blog/2012/08/14/tanjung-balau-beach/

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Tinggi
3.8 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Desaru Coast
3.5 mi away
Sand & Sandals Desaru Beach Resort and Spa
31.7 mi away
Kota Rainforest Resort
Kota Rainforest Resort
#6 of 10 in Kota Tinggi
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 mi away
Mayres Hotel
Mayres Hotel
#7 of 10 in Kota Tinggi
23 reviews
8.0 mi away
Amansari Hotel Desaru
Amansari Hotel Desaru
#3 of 4 in Bandar Penawar
12 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lakeview Terrace Resort
Lakeview Terrace Resort
#1 of 1 in Pengerang
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelangi Balau Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelangi Balau Resort

Property: Pelangi Balau Resort
Address: Jalan Balau, Kota Tinggi 81900, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Kota Tinggi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kota Tinggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a dream holiday come true at Pelangi Balau Resort, Tanjung Balau (within the vicinity of Desaru), Kota Tinggi, Johor. Desaru literally means 'Village of Casuarinas' where its sandy beaches are fringed with casuarinas trees gently swaying with the sea breeze. Mesmerize yourself within the extensive surrounding of flora and fauna, with its peaceful and serene atmosphere, Pelangi Balau Resort is the perfect getaway for a memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelangi Balau Hotel Kota Tinggi
Pelangi Balau Resort Kota Tinggi, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing