We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Quiet Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayres Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayres Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Kota Tinggi
Raub, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old Quiet Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My travelling friend wanted to try this hotel which is just about next to the newer hotel we stayed the night before.

The reception is compact and check in took just a tad longer than expected. The lift is key-chain coded. The room is spacious though I had to ask to change the room TWICE. In the first room the blower is so loud I doubt a heavy sleeper like me could get a decent wink. In the second room, the air condition is not working at all. Lucky 3rd is okay and the view is great.

If you could overlook the somewhat old fittings and laminated flooring, your stay would be pleasant enough.

Again, we had to leave early and I could not comment on the breakfast but from the reviews, I doubt that I want to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezamshah65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    7
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Average hotel, not good value for money. We were unfortunate to have been there during Ramadan and were supposed to get breakfast in the price, all they would give us were some half-cooked eggs which were inedible and some toast. We are westerners and expected a little more. We decided to stay an extra day and had the same breakfast and then were charged extra for it upon checkout! 13RM for toast and coffee for 2 people, we were ripped off!!
There was off street parking in hotel building.

Room Tip: If travelling during Ramadan ask what there is for breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

The room is good. I was at room 1206. Breakfast only ala-carte. The hotel itself ... not happening. I came back from dinner (I walked to Bangkok Village from the hotel) around 1030 pm and the supposedly entertainment centre was closed already. My second time staying here but I think my next time would be somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drfauzims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Its stand as one of the tallest (building) in kota tinggi town, we can see the panaromic view from the upper floor of the room. It locate at a side of a road heading to their waterfall. They don't have safekeeping box in the room, but their pleasant staff, siti mariam help me to keep my passport in the reception. The receptionist was always busy handling phone call and attending to guest. They had small lobby and the hotel are run by a local company. Its a walking distance to the bus terminal, food eateries and the mall. I really fall in love with the town and will come back to stay in mayres. Four things apart from their waterfall(20 minutes drive) which i will love to go is watching fireflies, eat at a malay restaurant( belangkas mahkota)serving horseshoe crab, dinner at bangkok village restaurant and lunch at aida nasi padang(in front of terminal bus).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shai123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days and 3 nights everything was ok. Room is spacious and cleaned bathroom. Close to local restaurants and bus station is walkable. Breakfast was nice for me since I love to try local food everytime I go for vacation. Overall our stay went ok and no complaint at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naruske L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I wanted to watch the fire flies at night and visit the water fall in the day time. I stayed at this hotel as its location is ideal for my planned holiday.
The superior room has got 2 single beds. The beds were comfortable and firm. The air-con was noisy.
The bathroom was newly furbish and looks new and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night while I was in Kota Tinggi. Here's my review of the place:

Rooms:
- one double bed with two pillows
- towel, shampoo, soap provided
- TV, air-conditioned

Location:
- Kota Tinggi town
- Opposite Ambank

Pros:
- Spacious room

Cons:
- Air-condition was noisy, an "eek eek eek" sound was coming out from the it the whole night
- Bed is springy and does not provide much support
- The place is not very clean as there were ants crawling around
- The elevator (lift) is weird as sometime it refuses to closes or go up / down
- The hotel's restaurant was not equipped to deal with large groups as food ran out quickly and there were not enough places to sit. The refill of the food was also slow

Overall, this place is an "okay" place to stay in Kota Tinggi as it has the bare necessities. However, I would not advise large groups to stay in this hotel. Kota Tinggi is really a quiet town at night and if you are looking for good food / activities / shopping, I would suggest you stay in Johor Bahru which provides more choices.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hypernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Tinggi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Tinggi
27.4 mi away
Desaru Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort
6.6 mi away
Kota Rainforest Resort
Kota Rainforest Resort
#3 of 10 in Kota Tinggi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
27.0 mi away
Sand & Sandals Desaru Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amansari Hotel Desaru
Amansari Hotel Desaru
#3 of 3 in Bandar Penawar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
14.4 mi away
JS Hotel
JS Hotel
#24 of 107 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
13.7 mi away
Lakeview Terrace Resort
Lakeview Terrace Resort
#1 of 1 in Pengerang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayres Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayres Hotel

Property: Mayres Hotel
Address: No 29 Jalan Halban, Kota Tinggi 81900, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Kota Tinggi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Kota Tinggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayres Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Mayres Hotel Kota Tinggi, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing