We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice fresh ingredients ”
Review of Jade Garden

Jade Garden
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Kota Tinggi
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice fresh ingredients ”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The food is nice as the ingredients are fresh and the food is not oily. They have just moved to a new location by the water and eating outdoors is nice and breezy. It's easy to locate as their are large red signs directing people from the main road and there is ample parking within their compound. The only down side is the price as it's on the high side

Helpful?
5 Thank sralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    56
    21
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontian Kecil, Johor, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food is nice, BUT a bit expensive”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

food is nice.. good customer service, big parking apace, but the price is slightly expensive. Maybe that is tourist's price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank yenlung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Should have gone to another place”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very rude service and all waitresses and waiters were consistently showing a face palm to you. After we changed one dish in our order from lobster to prawn, the waitress was even temperamental worse.

Maybe, they mistakenly or intentionally served us a wrong plate of prawns. We order a plate of prawns with creamy or milky sauce, but they served us the prawns with salty black soya sauce, This was totally unacceptable. Soup was full of pepper and vege was too old to be eaten. Only the egg was ok.

We should have gone to Long Huang or Lobster King instead of this restaurant. Kokka instant noodles are better than their dishes in my opinion. Need no to waste your time here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Leow90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

They have shifted to a new location. It is very easy to locate, and along the sea. Lobster is still the main draw, and it is much cheaper than having them in Singapore. However, the food is inconsistent. We ate there on two separate days, and the same food taste different. Example the HorFun. First day we went there, it was very nice, wet and it taste great. The next day we went there again, as we like it very much, but was disappointed the taste is not the same. However, still worth the trip for your lobster craving, thou be prepared to easily pay a few hundred Singapore dollars.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank FrancisCKSeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An Overrated & Expensive Restaurant”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A group of nine of us visited Sg. Rengit on 29 May 2014 &
visited this restaurant

As many of us in the group had visited this restaurant 2 months ago,
we should have tried another restaurant but some in the group wanted to
"play it safe" as some have not dined in Sg. Rengit before.

This time we decided on a value-for-money selection of dishes like
small clams (siput) in sambal, gong-gong (small conch), vegetables fried in
garlic, sotong, boneless chicken, steamed fish & ostrich meat.

The cooking standard is OK

We avoided the expensive seafood dishes like lobsters (MYR180/kg), large
prawns & bamboo clams.

Nevertheless we had a very satisfying meal without the "heart-burn" over
expensive seafood

Overall verdict : Average but pricey & popularity over-rated

We will try the other seafood restaurants in Sg. Rengit the next time around.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LowHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jade Garden also viewed

Kota Tinggi, Kota Tinggi District
Kota Tinggi, Kota Tinggi District
 
Kota Tinggi, Kota Tinggi District
Kota Tinggi, Kota Tinggi District
 
Pengerang, Johor Bahru District
Kota Tinggi, Kota Tinggi District
 

Been to Jade Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing