We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad, Sad state of Affairs for Sebana Cove Golf Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sebana Cove Golf Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kota Tinggi
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just decided to drop by the hotel to see if they had any special promos after my second trip to Lotus desaru for the weekend.

I had really great memories of the place when I went there about 5 Years ago. :)
Imagine the shock as I got to the hotel. Basically everything is run down and damaged.
The Lobby was dirty and deserted and the walkways and corridors were littered with Bat Guano (bat [...]) everywhere.

Decided to walk out to the Marina and saw poorly maintained wooden walkways with nails sticking out from them. So were so old and brittle that they started breaking when i walked over them.
Function Rooms were empty and suffering from neglect and disuse.
Lightbulbs not replaced even the lobby toilet missing half a seat.

You know that the place has really gone down the drian when you go into the lobby toilet and find the room amenities (Foam Bath) being used as a hand wash.

All in all, I think the place has declined so much that I would even think of staying there even if it was free.

Its sad but I think the neglect of the place and the stoppage of the ferries from Singapore to Sebana Cove has sounded the death knell for Sebana Cove Golf Resort.

Let's hope we hear some good news about someone taking over and re-furbishing the resort as I still hold fond memories of the resort in its prime when I was there 5 years ago.

Room Tip: Rooms are so-so but not worth the money. I think you'd be better off at one of the other resorts...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Canicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Sebana Cove Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed with 4 friends for a golf weekend at Sebana Cove. as it was a return visit we knew what to expect.
The deal was great RM 335 p.p. (twin sharing) for 2 times 18 holes golf, buggy, 2 lunch and 1 breakfast.
The golf course is still under renovation, but still able to play.
The hotel is a bit run-down, but the rooms are clean, The food is very good and the pool is ok. The new bridge to this part of Malaysia has been opened, so travel time from Singapore is just 1 hour.

Room Tip: Room are all ok
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

1) Moldy sink.
2) Mosquitoes. Hotel ran out of repellant.
3) Kids pool closed for 3 days (entire time we were there)
4) So so food.
5) Too far away from town, other restaurants. It will cost you $ ringgit for transportation back and forth.
6) Nothing for kids to do.
7) Nothing for adults to do if you do not golf or have a boat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank travelbug2835805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

the hotel facility is running down. and the location is too far away from even a town around it. Basically you only can stay in the hotel and enjoy the environment there..Swimming pool is dirty with many ants around. No spa. No water sports. Anyway, the food is considered good. Given such hotel rate, i would rather go some others attractions

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cheehang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Stayed there for 3 nights, and played 3 rounds of 18-hole golf games.

1. Room

The room has a safe box that does not work. They put a notice on the desk to advise guest to deposit valuables at front office if the safe box did not work. Seems like the problem was well-known, but somehow or rather, the management decided not to rectify it.

None of the TV channels work. We paid RM20 extra per night to purchase their cable TV. Thought TV channels should be part of the package of a hotel room?

Otherwise, the room is considered pretty alright.

2. Golf

On the first day, we were the only 2 golfers during the 5hrs game. Know why?

It's the worse golf course we've ever been to. There's more sand than grass on the putting green. Some of the markers at the teeboxes were missing. The buggy ran out of petrol at the 6th hole. The buggy has spider webs at the containers portion...place where you normally deposit your loose accessories, like balls, pencil etc.. The sand bunkers contain stone and pebbles...how to hit without damaging your wedge? The fairway's grass were mostly dried up. You'll lose your ball very very very easily, as there were stacks of dried hay/grass all over the place. We lose our balls even when we witness where it landed, but just somehow can't find it as it is buried within the hay stack.

On our way home, we overheard a couple complaining that the golf course was like a desert. They suggested that if the management wanted to leave it this way, they should market it as a desert theme, and plant some cactus, or put some flintstones or caves-like structure nearby as hazards.

3. Hundreds of Insect Bites

I got more than 150 bites all over my body. 5 of them could be due to mosquitoes. The other bites...well, some said it could be sand flies...some said it could be bed bugs. I don't know. i just know that these bites were only noticed a day, or a few hours later.

I'm covering myself from head to toe. It's pretty embarassing as it looks like some kind of communicable diesese.

4. Service

To be fair, i think the staff were very polite and accomodating, thought many of them couldn't converse in English.

5. Remote Place

On many occassions, we were the only 2 guests in their one and only restaurant. And it was supposed to be a peak travelling period (public holidays). The number of staff easily outnumber the no. of guests at any given time.


Last but not least.....Will i go there again? I will consider going if the insects agree not to bite me again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bloom_Richie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

I was there for my team site meeting. Travelling to the resort took us about 1+ hour(ferry ride from Singapore + land transfer).The location is way off any local town. As such it's a good place for retreat . But ,if you r looking for the some local food/shopping experience, there isn't any within the resrot. This place is big (include the golf course), and a marina view is great .But, it does not impress me enought to bring up my camera to have a photo. The room is standard, but it really need a major refurblish of its furniture and the decor. Suprising the bed is comfortable, maybe we are too tired after of our round of meeting . There are 1 resturant and a bar, food is ok and sevice is quite good too . We also went out to the sea for 1 hour fireflies search.

Not a bad place , but i will not return if I'm looking for a holiday trip.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mackean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Was there for work-related meetings and had mixed experience. The place is impressive with large sprawling grounds and a nice marina view. Again its a pity that the stay there doesnt conjure delghtful memories. The apartments were adequate with varying levels of standards. Some were better furnished while others have problems with their water-heaters. Food is decent, a glorified version of the usual local fare found in nearby towns. The BBQ dinner buffet spread was much better. The highlight of our stay was probably when we get to head out into the sea at night in search for fireflies. Its a surreal experience especially when the seas gets choppy.

Overall a decent stay if expectations are not too high. Mosquitoes can be a problem so travellers would do well getting repellants and balms ready. Internet-addicts would be thankful for free wi-fi at the main lobby and the function halls.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brotherbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Tinggi
11.8 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Desaru Coast
11.9 mi away
Sand & Sandals Desaru Beach Resort and Spa
35.3 mi away
Kota Rainforest Resort
Kota Rainforest Resort
#6 of 10 in Kota Tinggi
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Tiara Desaru Seaview Residence
Tiara Desaru Seaview Residence
#4 of 5 in Bandar Penawar
1 reviews
13.6 mi away
Amansari Hotel Desaru
Amansari Hotel Desaru
#3 of 5 in Bandar Penawar
15 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lakeview Terrace Resort
Lakeview Terrace Resort
#1 of 1 in Pengerang
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebana Cove Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebana Cove Golf Resort

Address: Kota Tinggi 81900, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Kota Tinggi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kota Tinggi
Price Range: £46 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sebana Cove Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebana Cove Golf Hotel Kota Tinggi
Sebana Cove Hotel
Sebana Cove Golf Resort Kota Tinggi, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing