We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cold”
Review of Portneal Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilrea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portneal Lodge
Reviewed 29 December 2013

stayed last night and when we arrived at around 7pm it was pleasant and warm, room very clean. we were at a function and returned at 2am, it was cold. woke this morning and it was freezing, no heat, no hot water. breakfast was good and reasonable priced. we only paid £42 for bed & breakfast but the least they could have done was have some heat and hot water.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanetOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for a few days for a friends wedding.

At only £40/night we were not expecting much, however we have been really impressed, very clean rooms, nice space and the breakfast was pretty good.

Great place to base yourself and then go off exploring, would definitely recommend the place to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed two nights the rooms are spotless and very comfortable. At just £30 for the night i wasn't expecting accomation as good as this. Breakfast had lots on offer to choose from eg cooked breakfast, cereal, toast, fruit, cheese, ham, juice, tea, coffee ect. I was placed in a room with a river view and that in itself was spectular. However, I feel it was the staff who made my stay so enjoyable nothing was a problem- they were very helpful and polite. Claire the evening receptionist helped with directions and as we did not know the area she also pointed out where to get evening meals, at the Manor which was first class and very affordable. Overall and very peaceful and enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacerBoy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed two nights staff very helpful friendly and polite. Very relaxed atmosphere great value for money. will definetely stay again. Peaceful surroundings.shower could do with being improved. Bed comfortable. Radiators work well needed to dry out clothes due to bad weather.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikerKev66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Rooms are clean,Staff very helpful and breakfast is very good.
Food at the Manor where you would have your evening meal is excellent.
Downside is walking up the hill in the rain and no tea/coffee facilities in the room.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Grebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

As we were travelling to NI the weekend of the NW200 race accommodation was difficult to find so I was more than happy when I discoverd Porneal Lodge had availability. Though off the beaten track a little (as in not near a large town) the very reasonable cost of £30 for a double room along with the very nice setting more than makes up for this. The Lodge is set right on the banks of a river in a leafy corner off the road. Upon arrival we were greeted by reception, given our room key and advised breakfast was available for an additional £6 each should we wish in the morning between 8 and 10. Our room was a nice bright spacious one upstairs, overlooking the river. The decor is simple but has nice touches eg runner on the bed, cool mod lamps etc. Nice big wooden bed with crisp linen sheets. The shower bathroom was spotless. The room does not have tea/coffee facilities but it does have a tv and the small bar downstairs offers beverages. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was basic (self service cereals, fruit and toast, served scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage - my husband thought the quality of sausages was really good and thought more than one would have been good!). My only criticism of the Lodge is that it is not very well soundproofed. Late into the evening I could hear chat etc from the bar downstairs - think it may have been a few older bikers having a catch up which is of course grand and at least it didnt go on too late). As well as this there are obviously fire doors in the bedrooms not on gradual hinges as doors slamming was a regular occurance and could be heard from our room. Aside from this we really enjoyed our stay and it was very accessible from Ballymoney.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFB0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A 2 star rated facility which is better than many 4 star places. Friendly, helpful staff. Stunning views. Good food. And all for far less than we would normally pay. Should be rated 4 stars and should be packed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyager_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Portneal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portneal Lodge

Address: 75 Bann Road, Kilrea, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Kilrea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kilrea
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Portneal Lodge Kilrea, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing