We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super experience even in Greece :-))))”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mediterranean Village Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Paralia Katerinis
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were there for a long weekend - 5 nights. All was fine - service, attitude, restaurants, food, swimming pool, green areas between rooms, Latino party, etc. Two aspects were not on a high level - the beach that was not enough clean and the bill that we received on second day for unconsummated things from minibar. We refused to pay it.
Except that all was incredible.
Go and see it! A nice accommodation, architecture and atmosphere!

Room Tip: Prefer first room, the garden in front of it is wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrenaEmilova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is definitely not even close to 5*. At a stretch a 4*. It is in a remote location, on the beach (but the beach is absolutely filthy). The staff are the some of the rudest you will meet in the hospitality industry (the female waitstaff were always happy to smile at you though)

Room is a decent size (double bed, two couches), not cleaned very well. The noise from the other rooms is bad, especially when you have kids above you who go to bed late and like to move furniture a lot (after 11pm even!). You can hear toilets flushing in other rooms, entire conversations from the people next door. THe SHEETS in our room were not changed once during our 7 night stay (for a 5* this is really poor). The layout of the hotel was poor as well. We had a room facing onto the pool. But you can not enter your room by the back door with a key. Instead, you have to go all the way around via the beach to access the front door.

--
On Our first afternoon, I closed the door to the terrace (it was sticking a bit) and the glass shattered on me (it was all over me). Now, most people would be incredibly apologetic in the fact that I - or my 21 month old - could have been seriously injured. Not this hotel. Instead, they were INCREDIBLY rude to me. A phone call from reception the day after it was fixed started like this: Hello, can you come by reception when you have a minute regarding the broken door in your room? Me: why? Them: Bring your credit card so that you can pay 80 euros for the broken door. WHAT?
THe door shattered on me, I could have been seriously injured, and they TELL me (rather than ask) that they expect me to pay for their faulty door. The guy on the phone then said to me: "We have PHOTOGRAPHIC evidence that you broke the door, you will pay" Quote end quote.

Then he says: I will have to tell the manager about you. OK, Go ahead. When I offered that I was available any time for a chat with the manager he hung up on me. And rather than the manager speak to me, he sought out the greek speaking organiser of my conference to complain to him. Then tried to plead with me to pay for their faulty door. "You do damage, you pay." Sure, but I don't pay if something is faulty and breaks ON me.

3 cleaners came to clean the glass up, one swept it out the front door and left it there (while the other two watched). Right where we could walk it in the next time we entered the room. Of course we found glass in the room, and couldn't walk without shoes in the room.

A discrepancy in the minibar took 5 (no exaggeration!) attempts to sort out, and they still tried to sneakily add it to the bill at checkout. Their attitude is: "Well you must have used it. It was there when you checked in (really? did you personally come to my room and check that?) and it's not there now. So you must have used it" [side note, we had this problem in athens too two years ago - a greek scam on your first day?]

Do not stay in this hotel. It's an absolute nightmare. Check-in was a joke. A whole bunch of us arrived at once, took forever to check in as they expect you to pre-pay (a significant amount of money) but they only have one card machine. And that apparently takes 5 mins per person.

There is no wifi in the rooms. For a 5* resort this is pathetic. The wifi in the lobby is incredibly slow. THe cable, you must give a deposit for, is not much faster. the cable is so short you can only sit at the 15cm wide desk, and not on the couch or bed.

There are tiny TVs, next to a HUGE mirror. (very odd decoration). I didn't even know it was possible to get TVs so small nowadays.

Dinner doesn't start before 7pm (with a baby, not very flexible) - and there is always a queue at that time. HINT HINT Mediterranean, listen to your guests (a large fraction of which want dinner earlier judging by the HUGE amount of loitering and the queue at 7pm)! It's an extensive buffet, but it's also pretty much the same thing day after day.

Beach/pool towels are on a 20 euro CASH deposit! Pools are very cold anyway. Pool area.doesn't seem to be cleaned very often. A hot day saw the pool literally filled with millions of bugs.

Bath/shower poorly designed. To turn it on, you have to have incredibly long arms to get around the screen, or actually climb into the bath to put the plug and run the water. Not so bad if you're having a shower, but for a bath, ridiculous.

Cleaning staff throw out anything in sight. Including your unemptied water bottles, your child's biscuit he put on the table for later, the nappy swim pants, etc. There appears to be a ration on toilet paper and soap (but don't ring the front desk and ask for any, heaven forbid).

This hotel was abysmal, they turned our time into a nightmare. And it's 5* was certainly NO better (with respect to facilities) than the 3* we stayed in last week in THessaloniki (which I gave a rave review about).

The fuse box hums all night long incredibly loudly. And is very annoying. I don't know if it's all rooms, but they really need to do something about it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else! OR ask for a room on the top floor to avoid noise from overhead neghbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank tracey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great hotel, beautiful location, very nice beach. Great service and very friendly staff. As we were here off-season, the closest village Paralia was almost closed down, though the other option Katerini was still open. The hotel is a little remote if you are not into sun bathing the whole day, but I can definitely recommend renting a car and drive to Mount Olympus, Dion, etc.

On the downside was the buffet, which was nice but a little boring after a few days stay. Poor wifi in the rooms, but accessible in the reception area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiseGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is about one and a half hours from the airport. It is situated on the beach and has a lot of amenities for sun bathers. The breakfasts are generally the same menu each day so be prepared for that.I had a couple of meals on an evening which were satisfactory.
The village of Paralia is a twenty minute walk on the beach or promenade.It is a village which caters for tourists.
There are buses into various towns and THESSALONIKI at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the sea or you may be looking at a stone wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great hotel location, sea is just a few meters along with many great pools. Great service, friendly staff. The food was excellent, wide choice of food.Hotel have modern furniture,the rooms are comfortable and very clean.We will definitely come again for a 10 days vacation like past year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the corners of hotel, in the two-floors buildings are so quiet! And choosing one on first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed a week here, and while acknowledging that the breadth of facilities count towards star ratings the quality was definitely not 5 star. The room was small and quite spartan with no ironing board nor kettle, which is common in many hotels these days. I agree with other comments about noise: embarrassing to be be woken in the night to the sound of guests in other rooms using the toilet. The minimum aircon temp was 18 deg C. Room cleaning was poor, with the bins (including the bathroom loo bin) not emptied for 2 days and the bed not tidied. The floors were left wet. The choice of the all-buffet food in the restaurant is enormous, although the main dinner dishes were average in quality and I believe had been cooked much earlier in the day. I do complement the hotel on the waiting and admin staff: unfailingly efficient and friendly. Room rates are very expensive. The beach is nice for children and the sea is very shallow for a long distance so very safe for them. Two pools but very cold.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deltadry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Until now I had not thought it would be nice to spend a weekend in Greece at the coast of the Aegean Sea off-season. Spent two nights at the Hotel Mediterranean Village convinced me that this concept is very good and will certainly repeat it in the future.
In the summer we used the hotel beach for a day, but it was too crowded and noisy. Prices per night are quite high and we did not think about accommodation there. To my pleasant surprise in April the hotel with breakfast and dinner turned out to be much cheaper than many Bulgarian hotels with just breakfast included. Separately is extremely quiet and one can indulge in a true holiday and relaxation. Totally worth more miles travelled.
We were lucky with the room - we sat on the garden level with a fabulous sea view. In the morning you can have coffee on the porch while walking barefoot on dewy well maintained lawn. The bed was huge and very comfortable. If anyone has a problem with high pillows have in mind. The bathroom had some metal parts worn-out and scale that was obvious. Maybe the hotel mantainance should pay attention to them and to renovate a little bit. Very clean and comfortable the room.
The food is incredibly delicious and plentiful. And for breakfast and dinner was a huge variety of products and dishes. Desserts, of course, were the best. Especially for dinner had 6 main dishes - vegetarian, meat and fish. If left to list all the appetizers, salads and starters will be too long to show in one review.
We took advantage of the Wellness, which includes an indoor heated pool with built -jet whirlpool, sauna , steam room and relaxation area . This is included in the price. Here you should list only , I think, minus of the hotel - no interconnection between the Wellness and guest rooms. I guess this is not possible because of the architecture of the houses or in the summer is not much of a problem , but in the cooler months is a little uncomfortable after a relaxing sauna have to get out before you get to the room. Well that ensured dressing room where you change your robe in warm clothes.
The beach is well maintained even out of season. Too bad that the sea was iced cold.
Very nice to walk on foot to the nearby town while enjoying the snowy peaks of Olympus.
Definitely recommend Greece and specifically this hotel to rest off-season.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paralia Katerinis
0.8 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel & Spa
Cosmopolitan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Paralia Katerinis
106 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mediterranean Resort
Mediterranean Resort
#6 of 22 in Paralia Katerinis
51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Panorama Inn Hotel
Panorama Inn Hotel
#1 of 22 in Paralia Katerinis
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Cavo Olympo Luxury Hotel & Spa - Adult Only
2.5 mi away
Mediterranean Princess
Mediterranean Princess
#5 of 22 in Paralia Katerinis
77 reviews
20.9 mi away
Cronwell Platamon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Village Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Village Hotel & Spa

Address: Paralia Katerinis 60100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Pieria Region > Paralia Katerinis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paralia Katerinis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paralia Katerinis
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paralia Katerinis
Price Range: £62 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Village Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the shadow of the mythical Mount Olympus, on the waves of the Thermaikos Bay's beach from the Pieria side you will come accross to the hotel MEDITERRANEAN VILLAGE & SPA. An ultramodern five star hotel which is open all the year. It is situated exactly by the sea. In front of it extends the beautiful beach of Pieria. For your accommodation you can choose among: 115 rooms,49 superior rooms(for three or four persons)with separate swimming pools,6 Suites.4 Grand Suites & 2 VIP Maizonettes with private swimming pools. All rooms have view over the sea and dispose of: Air condition, LCD TV ,Internet access, minibar , safe,telephone, hair dryer, telephone in the bathroom, Magnifier in the bathroom ,towels for the beach from the reception for all rooms. Relax The modern architecture of MEDITERRANEAN VILLAGE, the stylish rooms with a gorgeous vista of the deep blue of Thermaikos Gulf, the spectacular beach, the many beautiful corners created for you, make you enjoy special moments of relaxation in MEDITERRANEAN VILLAGE. MediterraneanVillageComfort Comfort To have the holidays that exceed your expectations we created and we offer you all those services and all the comfort that will make your holiday a real experience. Rich buffets, unique dishes to our a la cart restaurants or to your room, if you wish, frozen cocktails at the bar, fun with amazing duets are only some of the dozens of services that we are able to offer you to make you happy during your stay at Mediterranean Village. MediterraneanVillageLuxury Luxury The affordable luxury of our hotel is really unique. You can go about from the Pool to the main bar Captain 's, and to the new pool of Bar Ammos. Enjoy a luxurious spa VENUS with its heated pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna which are included in the room rate and are free. Enjoy luxurious linens and your luxurious room amenities, where you can enjoy a cold coffee or a cold Champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterranean Village Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Village Hotel Paralia
Mediterranean Village Hotel & Spa Greece/Paralia Katerinis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing