We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Klawer Hotel(Klawer)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lamberts Bay Hotel(Lamberts Bay)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Klawer Hotel(Klawer)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pick a Rest(Vredendal)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
53
38
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
38
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape townolifants riverone nightgreat viewexcellent stayself cateringlovely placeother gueststhe main houseguest housegreat breakfastpleasant stayamazing propertystaff are greatnice swimming poolsecond visitpleasant surprise
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed there last night after a couple of meetings in the area - it was absolutely lovely, my room was perfect and the service was fantastic. We also used the conferencing facilities which were also very good, and very convenient for a group meeting. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The manageress earned our praise for being the only B&B that checked on us before we arrived, they had already prepared dinner for us and asking whether we wanted dinner and when we were expected to arrive. The room was comfortable and well appointed - with a selection of wines available, Dinner was homely and delicious. Breakfast was slightly disorganised but good nevertheless, just failing to reach the high standards we were accustomed to during our SA tour, anyone having not experienced SA hospitality at all will not be disappointed however, Very helpful advice regarding where to still find flowers.

Room Tip: We looked at several other rooms and they looked very different.....we were happy with Wynkamer - there are family rooms available
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshwizardK10D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The purpose of staying here was to base ourselves to go see the flowers. And a good choice indeed. Arrival a little late due to bad weather plus me not feeling well at all. They offered to bring some soup to the room, butternut, was yummy and did me so well. The room we stayed in is called the "Koistal", only have about 10 rooms if not mistaken , each individually named and decorated. Our room is in deep red, with pine through out, gave a lovely warm feeling to the room. It needed it as the only heat was from an electric blanket which is not for me. The bed was very very comfortable.The bathroom had a stand alone victorian bath, and a huge shower. Don't know why they have a TV there as the channels are very limited , 3 or 4 and is very small. Better to do without as the setting overlooking the Oilfants river and vineyards is perfect. Breakfast taken daily in the main house upstairs, very personal and just the right amount. Staff very accommodating and friendly. Just be aware about payment as was surprised having made the booking via booking.com stating 50% deposit taken that i ended up having to pay for the full amount.

Room Tip: Look up the "Koistal", I liked it but that is just me not to close to the main house. I am sure all the other rooms are great.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Wow, what a find. This beautiful B & B tucked away in the vine-filled valley of the Olifants river in Northern Cape was perfect. Fantastic bedrooms which any 5 star hotel would be proud of. The breakfast on the upper terrace overlooking the wonderful green valley having the best scrambled eggs ever was spectacular. Hilsa was a wonderful host and we will back there some day.

Room Tip: all rooms facing the valley are very good. Nos one and two have self-catering facilities which are excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davlinontheMersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

What an amazing find! I really enjoyed my romantic getaway!

The grande luxury rooms are really just 1st class! Most of our time spent next to the pool but was just as happy to retreat to our beautiful room!

Thank you Hilsa & Hanika for and amazing stay with excellent food and wine.... WE WILL BE BACK

Room Tip: New Grande Luxury
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaBonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews