We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Maples

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Maples
Ranked #1 of 6 Hythe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I chose this hotel from the reviews I read here and we were not disappointed, it was as described and more. Shirley and Godfrey are excellent hosts who are welcoming, friendly and warm, and work very hard to make it the wonderful home and hotel that it is and that is enjoyed by so many people.

The hotel was extremely clean, and homely. There was a very good selection of breakfast cereals, fresh fruits and the cooked breakfast was very tasty. There is a fridge in the dining room that can be used by the guests.

We stayed in an en-suite room with our daughter, the room was big enough for all 3 of us to be comfortable in. The tea and coffee facilities were very good, with a good supply of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. My husband and I were able to sit in a couple of tub chairs on the galleried landing while we waited for our daughter to fall asleep in the evenings which helped a lot. And the room had blackout blinds as well as curtains, which was great! We could see part of the sea from one of the windows and enjoyed spotting a big cruise liner and a couple of ferries go by.

We were given a parking permit to use in the car park opposite for the duration of our stay which was very thoughtful and helpful.

It is on the edge of the New Forest and close to Southampton too, so a good place to stop and enjoy a couple of days. We stayed for 4 nights and I would not hesitate to recommend it, we also would like to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda8_388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
81
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

A one night stay prior to cruise out of Southampton. Three rooms. Every aspect...perfect. the owners worked tirelessly to make our stay.... perfect, in fact the whole experience was....perfect, absolutely faultless. And.......what a breakfast. Hats off to Shirley and Godfrey the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: No swimming pool and no fitness centre but if they had either sure it would be perfect. All the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at The Maples Hotel. Shirley and Godfrey welcomed us as if we were family. They were very accommodating; our bikes were stored in the hallway, we had a car park pass for the weekend and an early breakfast wasn't a problem. The rooms were spotlessly clean. The linen was fresh, the towels plentiful. More than enough coffee/tea/milk etc in the room. Delightful shower. Can't praise this place enough! Oh, and when I requested pancakes for breakfast so I could eat up the blueberries with maple syrup and bacon, there was no hesitation! We would 100% definitely call back to this glorious place again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

3 of us (all guys) stayed for one night before a chartered fishing trip on the Anchorman, one single room and one twin. where to start....... the welcome was lovely and Shirley and Godfrey couldn't do enough for us, the rooms were immaculate and so well equipped, the beds were pure heaven. Shirley was kind enough to make breakfast at 6am for us as we had a boat to catch, the breakfast was a lovely full English with ample toast.
i could not recommend it enough and we will be back.

Room Tip: one of our rooms was en-suite and the other was not, the en-suite was lovely but so too was the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Only stayed at the Maples Hotel for one night, but what a great experiance. Having done a fair amount of business travel, staying in various Hotels, B&B's etc I can honestly say this is one of the best by far. We had a very warm welcome and our host couldn't have been more helpfull. We had a very early departure time to get onto a Fishing Charter boat out of Hythe and Shirley and Godfrey were willing to get up an hour earlier to serve us one of the best Full English breakfast I have ever had at 6am. I stayed in room 7 with my son, which was very well presented with an en-suite bathroom and view (albeit a little obstructed) of the sea/channel. I cannot comment on the price as it was a gift for Fathers Day/Birthday. The location is perfect for touring around the New Forest area or indeed just to take the two minute walk into Hythe itself, which is a lovely little town, well worth the visit. In conclusion a very well presented Hotel in a lovely little town, great facilities and excellent service - I would recommend the Maples Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: For a family of three room 7 would be ideal, having a lovely large double bed, a single bed and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodyA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at this small hotel for one night last weekend just because of convenience but we would go out of our way to stay there again. The couple who run it made us very welcome and the breakfast was magnificent whether you wanted a good fry up or a more modest serving, there was plenty of choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarnia_jeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Shirley and Godfrey are SO friendly - wonderful hosts - lovely, comfortable room (number 5) over-looking the water. This was a real home from home - no restrictions and the breakfasts were better! If they aren't full when we need them, we'll hopefully be staying in the future whenever we are viisiting our family nearby. Many thanks Shirley and Godfrey.

Room Tip: see the sea from number 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
2.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
4.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maples

Property: The Maples
Address: 21 St. John Street | New Forest, Hythe SO45 6BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hythe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maples 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guesthouse located in the beautiful setting of the New Forest National Park backing onto Southampton Water. We believe in using as much local produce as possible and supporting producers within the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Odigeo so you can book your The Maples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maples Hythe, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing