We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Boathouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boathouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hythe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights in April. The room was fabulous and the setting is lovely. We ate in the restaurant one evening and that was very good. At all times through out our stay the service was great and the staff friendly. Hope to go back again soon.

Room Tip: I believe there is one room with a balcony, that would offer a great view. I will certainly try to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roscoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    76
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
164
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My sister and her now husband chose the Boathouse as their venue for their wedding breakfast and reception party. The staff were so good, the decorations and tables were beautifully set, food was incredible and freshly cooked - I have eaten there before with my family and the quality of the food for the wedding was just as superb considering they had about 50 dishes to get out in such a short space of time!

It was lovely during the party to be able to stand out on the decking overlooking the marina.

The accommodation was fantastic, bed comfy and rooms were really clean.

If you are getting married in the new forest please consider this venue for your reception as they really made my sister's wedding and not a single thing went wrong.

Thanks for a magical weekend xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank samwisemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed for my partners birthday for 2 nights. As it was a treat I specifically asked for room 2, when we arrived we weren't in the room we requested, not a brilliant start but from that second till the second we left I cannot fault a single thing. We ate on the first night and it was amazing! The fillet of beef looks a bit pricey but I can assure you it's to die for! The waiter came over the next morning and wished my girlfriend happy birthday, a gesture followed by a large number of the staff. It really was a special stay and I'll be busy looking for a reason to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RobinsonMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We loved! this hotel, it is set in such a beautiful location with lots to do in the area. Our room was perfect! Very large, clean and nicely decorated. My husband particully fell in love with the large shower :)
The staff were very friendly, one Lady in paticular but unfortunately we have forgotten her name, she even helped with directions to local places to visit.
The food was a little pricey, but you get what you pay for, the Beef Fillet was AMAZING! We also really enjoyed the live music on Friday and wished there was more on the Saturday Night
Only Negative was it would have been nice if the hotel provided a little something extra as it was our wedding anniversary (this was noted on the booking) maybe a bottle of wine or free course in the restaurant. It was also little strange to have the hotel reception in the restaurant/bar.

We will definetly love to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed with my wife for a 4 night break at the end of May. All staff were very friendly and helpful from arriving to going home. Room was very clean and well appointed but ours (room 6) was one of the smaller ones overlooking the square -having said that was not a problem. Breakfast was continental and very good. We also ate at the hotel 3 out of the 4 nights because of the quality of the food - there was 1 real ale on tap from Ringwwod brewery. Hotel is about 200 m to the edge of Southampton Water and about the same to Hythe town centre. Easy access to Southamptom using the Hythe Ferry and close to the New Forest. Will return again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms - slightly more expensive though
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tgarden34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

What a confused proposition, just can't understand why this hotel is trying to establish a highish end restaurant and menu in a high end priced B&B in Hythe (two courses for two £70) when at 1930 in the evening you can't hear your companion on the table over the noise from the bar visitors, its just rubbish, we left early no desserts, coffee or cheese......Think what you may be losing.......

The restaurant is an understated chic posh, with halmarked stainless steel cutlery eh? whats that for? but lovely chairs and great large tables with plenty of space on them

The food was poor for the price> Menu stated; king scallops, what it didn't quote was the chef cut them in half looked fpre frozen as very wet, and then they charge you £8.50 for 1 1/2 scallops with two slivvers of black pudding. Lovely food, be fair and deliver a proper portion if you wish to charge this.

The sea bream was stunning for mains, well cooked, but again, only one fillet for £16.50 its unjust and greedy....

The maple duck had a great taste, spoiled by being over cooked, but the red cabbage as part of the duo of cabbages was just to die for. The use of star anise really set the flavours alive.

Not one I would rush back to sadly, the scenery in the marina gives it a great setting and has the potential......Just a proper focus do you want to be a pub or a retaurant, I don't think you can be both well...........and currently you're not.........

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodfoodknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boathousehythe, Public Relations Manager at Boathouse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Just a few discrepancies we'd like to amend here.

Firstly our average price for two guests to enjoy two courses is about £42. The gentlemen had decided to add four drinks onto this, which could be considered misleading. All our prices our on the website, drinks extra.

We are a fun, lively place to come and dine or enjoy a drink (Summer weekends more so). Last Friday we were busy, the sound was people enjoying themselves. We also from time to time offer great entertainment and tribute acts for guests to enjoy after dining with us. Please see website for more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Lovely Hotel, brilliant staff, one of the best for customer service we have ever experienced. Zolt and his team made sure our stay was perfect, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely location, great food and room 4 was large, spotlessly clean (as was everywhere) and great views of the estuary. Ideal base for Southampton, the Isle of Wight and the New Forest.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
4.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,175 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
881 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,711 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 25 in Southampton
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boathouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Hotel

Property: Boathouse Hotel
Address: 29 Shamrock Way, Hythe SO45 6DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Boathouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Hythe, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing