We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite local place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boathouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boathouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hythe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Favourite local place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I don't like driving too far to a restaurant but it seemed like we always did to get a view. I hadn't been to the Boathouse for years so I thought it was time to check it out. Well how silly are we? This place ticks all the boxes. The decor is lovely and has a real quality about it. They seem to be one of the few restaurants that understand that everyone wants to look at the view not just half the table! They have positioned their seating for everyone - inspired! The menu is great and varied as is the wine list. The decking is undercover which enables you to sit outside in the rain which is great . They are exceedingly friendly and the service is excellent. Not sure I should put this great review you might pinch my table!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VictoriaCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    72
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
158
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were delighted to be introduced to this lovely restaurant. The décor is pleasing and tables laid out well in an inviting fashion. We had a delightful lunch chosen from a well balanced menu, even the vegetarian in the party was satisfied, the service was friendly and the food was very good. Tables are well spaced and you are not on top of your neighbours. The tables are end-on towards the window so just by a turn of the head everyone can look out over the Marina. We live locally and will definitely make further visits.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Could not be in a better location! Had the only family room in the hotel, and i can honestly say it was the best hotel and room i have ever stayed in. The rooms are impeccably clean, modern and spacious with gorgeous views over the marina. Great location in terms of distance to the centre of Hythe where you can catch a ferry to Southampton which is very convenient. The staff were incredible helpful and friendly and the food in the restaurant downstairs was delicious. Would recommend a short break here to anyone, 5 star!

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashford kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

we have been traveling for 8 day in germany and now back in england we went to see the family in ruislip then on to exmoor then dartington and stop here for break location good room with balcony overlooking the solent just a lovely place to relax staff and food good hotel clean

Room Tip: if staying here ring hotel first and book with them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blowerAshfordKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading,
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Location is very good, set in the Marina in Hythe but still within very easy walking distance of Hythe centre. It is a good base for touring much of the New Forest, especially Beaulieu, Bucklers Hard and Lymington (good market on Saturday). Anyone wanting to see forest land might like to drive a circuit around Hythe – Beaulieu – Lymington – Brockenhurst – Lyndhurst – Beaulieu Road – Hythe. Other sites easily accessed from Hythe include Exbury Gardens, Lepe Beach and Calshott. Hythe itself is quite limited with sites but boasts the former home of Sir Christopher Cockerell (the pink bungalow just along from the Marina entrance), was once home to Lawrence of Arabia, and the train ride along the pier is always worth a trip. The Marina and shoreline offer great views of liners docking or departing Southampton, the Southampton Echo has shipping movement details. Recommend the Nelson, particularly for food at lunchtime or early evening. Their Sunday lunch was well worth the money & effort.
Limited public areas in the hotel and no lounge etc, save for the bar and restaurant. Reception is in the bar. Parking is right next to the hotel in the Marina. Given this, recommend that people book rooms with a balcony whenever possible. We were in Room 7 which is a good size, really comfortable bed and good sized shower. The best part was the two seater balcony looking down Southampton Water which gave us great views of 4 liners leaving on Friday night and the Queen Elizabeth on Saturday. The balcony doors open inwards so we were able to sit just inside the room when it was raining.
We chose to eat in the restaurant with family on Friday and were not disappointed. Good variety in the menu and food was prepared well. The main attraction was the Michael Buble night. We were a little sceptical but need have had no fears. The singer was a local 19 year old who put in a very good show which added that something extra to the night. A number of our party ordered Gammon from the Lunch Time menu and the restaurant accommodated this happily. The bar has a nice balcony and is ideal to just sit outside and have a pint in a bit of peace and quiet.
Continental breakfast included in the price which was mainly cereals, croissants and pain au chocolat still warm from the hotel oven. Cooked breakfasts are available at an extra price and my wife enjoyed her porridge whilst my field mushrooms were good.
Overall, nice place to kick back and relax and we will certainly look to come back on a regular basis when visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brucestalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a (very large) superior room. There was a private "L' shaped balcony with patio table and chairs, and views over the marina - great for relaxing with a drink of any kind. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and the dinners were really good. Breakfast was 'only' continental, but still filling. It was lovely to walk around the marina, and you can watch the ships and ferries moving in and out of Southampton. A little bit expensive, but I suppose most places are around the New Forest and boating/yachting areas.

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms, but Room 1 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have just got back from staying from the Boathouse from an overnight stay with our daughter (age 3) for our 1st wedding anniversary.
I booked the hotel a few days before and was lucky enough to book the last room which was room 10. This room is huge and has 2 double beds with fantastic views. The bathroom was also lovely with a seperate bath and walk in shower which was lush!
During our stay there was a wedding reception in the evening which we were not informed about so we were not able to book into the restaurant and also not able to sleep (including our daughter!) until the party had finished as our room was directly above the event and even with all the windows shut it felt as though we were sleeping above a nightclub!
Breakfast was lovely the next day and on checking out we did mention to the staff about the wedding the night before and he replied that we should of recieved an email informing us that there would be a event on that evening which we never recieved and my husband asked for compensation and we were given a small discount.
I would recommend this hotel, as it is in a lovely location and room 10 is amazing (although could do with a window cleaner to appeciate the views alot more). But might be best to call and check to see if they have a function on the night of your stay otherwise you will be having a very late night!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sturty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
1.9 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Maples
The Maples
#1 of 6 in Hythe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boathouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Hotel

Property: Boathouse Hotel
Address: 29 Shamrock Way, Hythe SO45 6DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boathouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Hythe, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing