We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boathouse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Maples(Hythe)(Great Value!)
US$147
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
224
82
16
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
82
16
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew forestsouthampton wateroverlooking the marinacontinental breakfastlarge balconyboat housewalk in showerfull englishsouthampton boat showsuperior roomeasy accesstop floorgood sizecomfy bedshort breakan overnight stayfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here at the begining of August, after flying into Gatwick on a 9 hour flight and spending the whole day touring the Beaulieu motor museum , we checked into the Boathouse.
Greeted at the Bar and shown to our room, we were delighted with the modern rooms,clean and very inviting.
With the jetlag starting to sink in, we went straight down to the resturant for dinner, we both ate fish and chips which was excellent, all was fresh and very tasty, not a massive portion but the taste made up for the quantity.
Our sleep was comfortable with no interuptions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jofo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Very nice rooms, especially the new ones on the top floor. We were in the area for a wedding and all the US visitors stayed there and enjoyed it. My daughter and her family were in the family room which is huge with great views and lots of room for the kids to play. The restaurant is very good and the ferry to Southampton very convenient. Wait staff there excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I stayed on a Saturday night for his birthday. We had room 7, which has a small balcony -big enough for two chairs - nice to sit in the evening with a glass or two of wine and which the boats go by. Views over marina and the Solent were lovely.

The room was very clean and nicely decorated. Not a huge room, but plenty large enough for two staying a night or two.

The bar was busy with a nice atmosphere. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment there.

Word of warning, in the vicinity there is only the restaurant in the hotel and an Italian restaurant opposite. We ate in the Italian which was very busy and food was lovely (but the wait between courses was long).

My only gripe is that this hotel is not cheap (especially whilst The Southampton Boat Show is on) and I would have thought that for the money it would have included a full English breakfast. It doesn't. That is available at an extra cost. Continental buffet is included though.

Not sure we would stay here again, not that it wasn't nice, but there are too many other places to try.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a balcony big enough for two chairs. Lovely views over the marina and The Solent.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed two nights. Reception is at the bar which is fine if the bar isn't busy (on day 2 there was a large reception on following a funeral and accessing the bar was difficult). The rooms are fine, very clean. The walls are extremely thin, we were in Room 6 and it sounded as though the people in the next room were in ours! The staff are excellent, helpful and cheerful. The ride from Hythe to Southampton on the ferry is a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arenicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

What can I say ... This was a totally enjoyable stay. Spotless restaurant area, views of the marina and by far one of the best breakfasts ever. The room was clean, beautifully decorated and colour coordinated towards relaxation. Room 7 had a small balcony through a pair of french windows ... Plenty of room to sit, share a bottle of wine and watch the boats, people and world go by! I would love to go back but in the meantime, I thoroughly thoroughly recommend this hotel for long r short break. Central for Hyde... 30 minute drive to Southampton or take the little jetty train to the passenger boat to Southampton in 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Room 7 is smallish but lovely ... Plenty big enough for two of you. Restaurant is closed Sunday so recommend food at The Hobbit in hythe ... Walking distance. No full length mirror :-(
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews