We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing setting”
Review of Boathouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boathouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hythe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing setting”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had a very pleasant stay at the Boathouse and were very impressed with the spotlessly clean room and bathroom. The large room was well furnished, and we enjoyed views over the marina and the estuary beyond. A good base for touring the New Forest. Friendly staff, and a nice bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burrij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    75
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
163
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had 2 rooms for a family of 4, which were modern, well equipped and looked fresh. The en-suites were again very modern and well styled. The views of the tranquil marina and across the river to Southampton are lovely and are what you pay for. It was relaxing to see the large container and Cruise vessels sailing slowly by assisted by the Pilot boats. The Continental breakfast was adequate with a good choice with lashings of Tea/Coffee and Toast - we elected cooked elements from the menu on the second morning for a bit of variety and were perfectly happy, albeit note this was at additional cost. We had a lovely lunch one day and a Dinner on the other, which was really good and not that pricey compared to elsewhere, with good quality food well cooked and presented. The stars of the show are the staff with the waitresses and in particular the Breakfast girl all happy, smiley and eager to assist with whatever was needed, the customer service is excellent. It is disconcerting checking in at the Bar as there is no separate reception and the signage outside could be better as we initially drove past the hotel! The rooms are a bit pricey at £160pn B&B, but overall we had a relaxing pleasant stay and would return if back in Southampton.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a wrap-around balcony overlooking the Marina,room 4 had a sloping wall on one side but ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Dec and we stayed in a family room which was very spacious with two double beds and a walk in shower and free standing bath. The decor is very modern and the views are fantastic and we could see the Queen Victoria in Southampton docks from one window and up the Southampton water from the other windows.The service from Zsolt the Manager is second to none and made our stay that little bit more special by going out of his way to make us sandwiches after kitchen hours. We had breakfast the next day which was cooked by Tim the owner and was cooked to perfection. Yet again another great stay in a lovely hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_petite34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wombourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here on Saturday 14th December due to an early pick up on the Sunday morning of relatives returning from a cruise.
When we booked we were informed that the restaurant was fully booked for the night due to a Christmas party/disco, so when we were notified a few days before that we could be accommodated in the restaurant we were delighted. We did raise concern at the time of booking about possible noise from the party, but were informed that the bar area is sound proofed therefore there would be no problem. However, this did not turn out to be the case and a constant 'boom' from downstairs was apparent until after midnight. We did complain about this on the night, and at check out, and to be fair was issued with a 10% refund off the bill. I will get the other negative out of the way now. The brochure in the room states 'spacious' showers, but the one in Room 1, which is one of the larger rooms with a large L shaped balcony, is not 'spacious' enough to even turn around in.
So with the negatives out of the way I can move on to the good points, which do, thankfully, over shadow the negatives.
Room 1 is a very good size, with a comfortable sitting area, good comfortable bed, modern tasteful decoration and a good size flat screen tv. Fixtures and fittings are to a high standard, and a bright modern bathroom ensuite.
The view from the panoramic window is superb, with the many yachts in the marina right outside, and we were lucky enough to see The Queen Mary 2 dock early Sunday Morning.
We dined in the Restaurant on the Saturday evening, and although there was reduced menu available due to the time of year and large Christmas party booking, we were still spoilt for choice. My girlfriend opted for the 3 course Christmas Menu, of Parsnip Soup, Turkey and Cheese and biscuits (which we opted to share). I had the mussels in cider to start, followed by a Rib eye Steak. Both meals were superb, and I have to say, very good value for money. The service was very good, even with the restaurant getting very busy with a number of Christmas parties descending at the same time.
So overall a very nice and comfortable hotel, in a very nice location. Would we stay again - yes - but we'd probably avoid the Christmas period next time.

Room Tip: The two larger rooms with L shaped balconies are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Nice location overlooking the newish marina.
Very friendly staff front desk and restaurant.
A little unnerving having to book in at the bar with drinkers hovering over us.
Room was light and airy with a marina view. Walls rather thin meaning next door news audible.
Meal was good but pricey but restaurant needed more "classy features".
Stairway has a dodgy step with piece missing - and for £130 B&B room this is unacceptable.
Breakfast nice and relaxed. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get a marina view and watch the little train chug along the pier !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishJanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, mn
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was a very nice hotel with nice rooms. We had a standard double and it was generous in size. Check in was at the bar on the main floor which was unusual. The entrance is through the bar which is busy on weekend evenings but with a fairly quiet, well behaved crowd. The top floor was quite nice but the elevator did not go all the way requiring using the stairs for at least part of the climb. The continental breakfast was mediocre. Hythe does not seem to be a major tourist destination but is a nice town. It is easily accessible to and from SouthHampton by fairy with an easy connection to the train station. We would recommend it if you are staying in the area.

Room Tip: The top floor does not have elevator access. The standard double was very comfortable for 2 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Two day stay, booked last room available ( room 10, the biggest) very clean modern décor crisp white sheets clean and modern bathroom with plenty of soft white towels. Fantastic views over the marina and beyond over the Solent. Staff were polite, well presented and knowledgeable. Bar and restaurant clean and modern, menu good, food fresh and hot the table service was impeccable. Breakfast was continental, but we were offered full English at extra cost, this was not needed as there was plenty to chose from, best of all the tea and coffee freshly made as was the toast.

Faultless............well run private hotel.

Two comments.

I had to point out that the wine was not charged for on one of our evening meals.

I did ask for a 10% service charge to be added to my bill 3 times over the weekend.....somehow this was missed off when I got my final bill for the weekend, I did not fully check the cost until I got home, I`m sorry that the staff were not rewarded for such good service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the marina and the Solent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SoCal145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
1.9 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
2.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boathouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Hotel

Property: Boathouse Hotel
Address: 29 Shamrock Way, Hythe SO45 6DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boathouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Hythe, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing