We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”
Review of Boathouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boathouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hythe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent menu ~ just the right amount of choices and catering for all tastes. Wonderful food and wine, delightful service and very good value for money. Only, tiny, gripe was that the live music which started towards the end of our meal was far too loud for such a venue. My friend and I had to leave, unfortunately, as we could not hear what we were saying to each other. We both love live music; however, the volume should have been lower. This certainly won't put me off going back to eat another evening though :)

Unable to comment on rooms as we were only there for supper.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    76
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
164
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Ideally placed right inside the marina at Hythe within easy reach of all the best places in the New Forest. The accommodation is very good for a small hotel, everything you need for a short stay, very clean and all the amenities. The breakfast was excellent, but a word of warning if you stay on a Sunday night the restaurant is closed and so is most of Hythe after 4pm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilandjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Lovely room. Lovely staff. The hotel was spotless. The room we had was lovely they even upgraded us for free!!! Would we return YES. The breakfast was to die for. Wish had stayed longer. Thank you to everybody who made our stay!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Neenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Didn't stay but had a meal in the restaurant. We turned up to an empty room, but it was soon completely full - a hopeful sign - particularly on a miserable February evening! Sure enough, the service and food were all very good indeed. And the kids loved it too. Calves liver was cooked beautifully pink, steaks were done rare as asked for. Wine list isn't that long, but there is enough to choose from. The only downside for me is the lighting - it is too harsh. That said, we really enjoyed our evening there and we'll be back another day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had a very pleasant stay at the Boathouse and were very impressed with the spotlessly clean room and bathroom. The large room was well furnished, and we enjoyed views over the marina and the estuary beyond. A good base for touring the New Forest. Friendly staff, and a nice bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burrij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had 2 rooms for a family of 4, which were modern, well equipped and looked fresh. The en-suites were again very modern and well styled. The views of the tranquil marina and across the river to Southampton are lovely and are what you pay for. It was relaxing to see the large container and Cruise vessels sailing slowly by assisted by the Pilot boats. The Continental breakfast was adequate with a good choice with lashings of Tea/Coffee and Toast - we elected cooked elements from the menu on the second morning for a bit of variety and were perfectly happy, albeit note this was at additional cost. We had a lovely lunch one day and a Dinner on the other, which was really good and not that pricey compared to elsewhere, with good quality food well cooked and presented. The stars of the show are the staff with the waitresses and in particular the Breakfast girl all happy, smiley and eager to assist with whatever was needed, the customer service is excellent. It is disconcerting checking in at the Bar as there is no separate reception and the signage outside could be better as we initially drove past the hotel! The rooms are a bit pricey at £160pn B&B, but overall we had a relaxing pleasant stay and would return if back in Southampton.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a wrap-around balcony overlooking the Marina,room 4 had a sloping wall on one side but ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Dec and we stayed in a family room which was very spacious with two double beds and a walk in shower and free standing bath. The decor is very modern and the views are fantastic and we could see the Queen Victoria in Southampton docks from one window and up the Southampton water from the other windows.The service from Zsolt the Manager is second to none and made our stay that little bit more special by going out of his way to make us sandwiches after kitchen hours. We had breakfast the next day which was cooked by Tim the owner and was cooked to perfection. Yet again another great stay in a lovely hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_petite34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
4.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
814 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,125 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boathouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Hotel

Property: Boathouse Hotel
Address: 29 Shamrock Way, Hythe SO45 6DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Boathouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Hythe, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing