We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal!”
Review of Boathouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boathouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hythe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely meal!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stopped in on the off chance when we came to see the three Cunard ships leaving southampton. The food was lovely- we all had steak and it was beautifully cooked. Really nice restaurant with a great atmosphere- will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    76
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
164
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The view from our room was great. It was kept very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.
The food was excellent as well.I would definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SecretTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I cannot praise this little gem of a hotel enough. My husband and I have been here more times than I can remember, we come back every year to relax. After a bit of retail therapy at Westquay in Southampton we head off to a light lunch and a walk around the picturesque town of Hythe along the marina and sit and watch the cruise ships. A cocktail or 2 or a glass of bubbly in the evening followed by a gorgeous evening meal. Perfect way to relax and unwind. Have booked again for June this year for our wedding anniversary to relax and chill out. Can't wait

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank McTug01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I live on the Marina and last week I hosted a dinner for 12 people, without exception the food was faultless. The following day 35 of us attended a function which with the excellent supervision of manager Zsalt and some superb innovative cooking from Chef Matt was a tremendous success.
Fabulous cooking in a stunning location.
I had some friends stay the night in one of their rooms and they had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pip45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had been wanting to stay here for a while but it was always booked up when we tried. Having now stayed there, we can see why! We squeezed in a 2-night stay and it lived up to expectations. Our room had a huge L-shaped balcony that overlooked the marina and the estuary. Great views of the ships and ferries. Pristine clean and spacious. We were shown to our room by the manager and recommended we book for dinner as it was Open Mic night. We were shown to a lovely table and enjoyed a delicious meal with wine. The participants of the Open Mic were all fantastic - think they were mostly talented local people. The service was warm and friendly by every employee throughout our stay. The continental breakfast was included in the price but my husband always wants the full English which costs extra - he said it was worth it. We dined again on Friday - it was heaving and they only just squeezed us in. As we had been cycling all day, we only wanted a quick bite to eat anyway, so this wasn't too much of a problem. Southampton is a 10 minute ferry ride away, from the jetty just round the corner. The village of Hythe is pretty and the New Forest is on the doorstep (Beaulieu is less than 5 miles away). Can't recommend it highly enough - we will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ta323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the Boathouse Hotel for two nights in Room 10 - gorgeous view of the marina, spacious and nicely-furnished room, fresh bedding, plenty of towels and toiletries. Unfortunately, the Velux windows and the enormous main casement windows were ill-fitting, letting in a substantial draught. Staff informed and said they hadn't been shut properly but the problem persisted. Would have given this hotel 5* were it not for the restaurant letting it down. Pre-booked evening meal delayed by 30 minutes as menus weren't available due to a printer malfunction. Finally got our starters after 1 hour. Food was average. Continental breakfast (included in room rate) was delayed by 15 minutes as croissants were still in the oven!

Room Tip: Room 10 was very spacious but no balcony to enjoy the views over the marina. No black-out curtain on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizally47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We did not stay at the hotel but ate Sunday lunch at the restaurant. Very good all round with a particularly delicious pudding - chocolate tart with salted caramel ice cream. The added bonus was that is was a lovely day and the view over the marina from the restaurant is lovely. Staff friendly and efficient so all in all very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hythe
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
4.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
809 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,124 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boathouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Hotel

Property: Boathouse Hotel
Address: 29 Shamrock Way, Hythe SO45 6DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hythe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hythe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boathouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Hythe, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing