We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in an idyllic location with...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Orchard Cottage,overlooking garden and Pygmy goat pen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Orchard Cottage,overlooking garden and Pygmy goat pen
Bedroom 2, King size bed, high quality mattress. TV and DVD player Living room, overlooking gardens and goat pen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Front of Orchard Cottage,overlooking garden and Pygmy goat pen
Bedroom 2, King size bed, high quality mattress. TV and DVD player
Living room, overlooking gardens and goat pen
Bedroom 2, King size bed,high quality mattress and 3ft single bed. TV, DVD player
Kitchen, recently refurbished, new double oven, exceptionally well equipped.
Living room with large TV, DVD player and SKY TV, including Sky Sports channels
Dining room, with original Ham stone flag stones. Staircase leads to bedroom 1
Family Bathroom
Family bathroom with bath and walk in shower.
Fenced private garden; access to communal gardens, paddock and large trampoline with enclosure
Orchard Cottage garden; view from the Bedroom towards Lewesdon Hill
View from Orchard Cottage of Broadwindsor, the pretty 12 century church and surrounding countryside
Broadwindsor, surrounded by beautiful countryside, manyl walks straight from the cottage
Beaminster and surounding countryside
Todd and Herbie, mini-pot-bellied-pigs when young. The girls are quite enormous these days!
The Pygmy goats are very popular with guests
Lyme Regis, terraced gardens towards the lovely SANDY BEACH, ROCK POOLS, AND AMAZING FOSSILS
West Hill House and Orchard Cottage; to rear
Marshwood Vale, towards the World Heritage Coast,photographed a short distance from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Broadwindsor, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jadhandan
kent
1 review
“Fantastic cottage in an idyllic location with warm & welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Orchard Cottage which was peaceful, extremely comfortable and well equipped. The owners, David and Elaine, were very helpful and provided us with some useful information for day trips to keep our three children entertained. There are some great walks nearby which have some outstanding views of the local area - even our teenage girls agreed! We hardly saw our son who was in his element playing football in the adjacent field with David and Elaine's son. Even the pigs, sheep and goats were friendly! The only downside to our week was when we had to leave -This was our second visit and will definitely not be the last.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Like a home from home
Liked least: Not a thing !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda B
Benfleet
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our 4th visit to Orchard Cottage.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have just spent another week in Orchard Cottage (our 4th visit in the last couple of years) and similar to previous stays we have had a very relaxing and enjoyable break despite the unsettled weather. During this holiday we noticed that the property has undergone some improvements with the spacious lounge looking very fresh and contemporary whilst retaining its country/rustic style. We were also pleased to see that the much needed community shop has finally opened and although small, it sells different types of fresh bread,newspapers, fruit and veg and is well worth a visit as is the Saturday street market in Bridport. David and Elaine were as friendly as ever and even the goats seemed to have mellowed since our last holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciouness of the property,its clean condition and its location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home from home
Liked least: Floorboards a bit creaky
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tony T
Billingshurst,England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and surroundings.”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed the Friday to Monday (31/5-03/6) at Orchard Cottage. The cottage itself was lovely,clean and spacious. Two bedrooms one with a double + single and one with a double. Our bed was very comfortable with a very warm duvet. Televisions in both bedrooms as well as one in the lounge with Sky. The kitchen was very well equipped. Outside there was a see-saw and trampoline which went down very well with our grand-daughters. Also 3 goats, 2 pot-bellied pigs and 5 sheep were added attractions for them as they were allowed to feed them.
The owners of the cottage live on-site and were there if we needed anything and genuinely pleasant people. We had a wonderful weekend and would very definitely stay at Orchard Cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatrinaB5...
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect accomodation”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I went with my dog for country walks but had an all round holiday experience
The cottages are close enough to the coast to enjoy the sea also
Everything you could want was supplied at the cottage
Advise was available when required

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If only we could have stayed longer ....”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I chose this cottage for the family to celebrate my wife's birthday and it couldn't have been nicer. We all slept like babies (beds very comfy) after lots of walking through the picturesque countryside - a vista of patch-work fields and blue sea. Sounds like a postcard, but it was really beautiful. Everything was waiting for us on arrival, including a box of birthday chocolates, which was very thoughtful. Departing lunch at the village pub was a perfect way to end a memorable birthday weekend. As I said at the beginning, I just wish we could have been able to stay longer. Thanks to John and Elaine .... the family loved it. Cheers

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the house and the sound of the village church bell
Liked least: That we couldn't use the fireplace, saw it in the photos and was looking forward to a glass of wine in front of it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;