We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautifull cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious living room with many rustic features, plenty of comfortable seating and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with many rustic features, plenty of comfortable seating and dining area
Hallway leading to back door and enclosed private garden Living room, overlooking garden with stairs to Bedroom 2. Large TV with SKY TV including SKY
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Spacious living room with many rustic features, plenty of comfortable seating and dining area
Hallway leading to back door and enclosed private garden
Living room, overlooking garden with stairs to Bedroom 2. Large TV with SKY TV including SKY
Fully refurbished kitchen with additional dining area. Rustic old beams throughtout
Bedroom 1, Super-King size bed,(can be two 3' beds)& 3' single bed. Ensuite Bathroom. TV & DVD
New fully refurbished ensuite bathroom with shower-over-bath; bedroom 1
Bedroom 2, Kingsize bed, ensuite bathroom. TV and DVD player
Bathroom with walk-in shower, Bed 2
Bedroom 3, King-size bed, ground floor ensuite bathroom. TV and DVD player
The Bothy entrance from the court yard
The Bothy, looking towards Hollis Hill
Private fenced garden overlooking goat pen,with view of village
The White Lion, the village pub, excellent food.
Forde Abbey, magnificent house and gardens, 20 mins away
Beaminster, historic small town, 3 miles away
The Bothy is located behind West Hill House
12th Century Church in Broadwindsor
Todd and Herbie, Vietnamese Pot-bellied pigs
Broadwindsor from Hollis Hill looking towards Lewesdon
The Jurasic coast from Golden Cap towards Seatown.
Lyme Regis, excellent for sandy beach, crabbing rock pooling and fossil hunting
Lyme regis, 20 mins away
Unspoilt rolling countryside on the doorstep
Private fenced garden and communal grounds with views of the village,and surrounding countryside
Adorable spring lambs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Broadwindsor, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
kuhnert12
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautifull cottage”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I recently spent a long weekend at The Bothy, Broadwindsor with my elderly mother and two children. We were extremely impressed with the Cottage, it was more than we expected. The property was clean, had games for the kids, although we were lucky with the weather, we still all sat down at night to a game of scrabble etc. It was fantastic that one of the 3 double bedrooms, all with en suites, was on the ground floor, so perfect for my mother whos 83. The owners have truly thought of everything, and got it all right. There were torches on charge, milk had been put in fridge, biscuites on the table for us when we arrived, it goes on and on. We have stayed in many places, but this surely tops them all. We loved the private back garden for the dogs, made life alot easier. We already booked our return before we departed. Fab time, just didnt want to come home, many thanks to you both, Jane Hayward and family.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janiedela...
salisbury
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent, amazing, wonderful, fantastic, brilliant.......!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have just returned from a week staying here for a surprise trip for my husbands "significant" birthday. He thought it was just us and our two dogs, but we were joined for the weekend by our grown children and husband/boyfriend.
Firstly the cottage is immaculately clean, very warm and cosy. I'm a chef and the kitchen is by far the best equipped self catering kitchen I have ever had the pleasure to use. The bedrooms are large and comfortable and the bathrooms, particularly the power showers, are fabulous. There was plenty of space for us all to have a formal birthday dinner and to relax. The fenced garden was an absolute bonus for the dogs!
The village is just charming. The pub welcomed us like locals and the community shop is VERY well stocked with lovely staff.
There is loads to do in the surrounding area - we particularly enjoyed the Harbour Bar in Lyme Regis and The Grove in Exmouth.
John and Elaine, who own the cottage, literally could not have been kinder and more helpful....both in the booking process and whilst we were there.
The ONLY slight drawback was that I slipped a disc in my back by climbing up to the top of the nearby hill, apparently the highest in Dorset!! My fault entirely, but we were recommended a local doctor who was amazing and got me sorted.
I can recommend The Bothy without reservation. It's ideal for a couple, a family or especially if you have dogs. We are counting the days until we can come back to recharge the batteries.....although we may give the hill a miss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage, the helpfulness of the owners and the village
Liked least: The internet access was a little hit and miss
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karnak55
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We have stayed at this wonderful property a number of times now and each time it gets better.
The friendly attentive owners add something, or renew something every time we visit.
This time a new built in wardrobe has appeared in the main bedroom, and a Sky HD box in the lounge.
The property is bright, warm and spacious in a wonderful area.
Broadwindsor is a lovely little village with friendly inhabitants and a recently opened community run shop.
We can confidently recommend this cottage especially to countryside lovers and dog owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic place to stay in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Just returned from a family get-together at The Bothy. We wanted a relaxing break to spend some quality time together in a peaceful environment. Our time here exceeded all our expectations; from the moment we arrived it felt like a home from home. Even Leo, our chocolate Labrador settled right in. The cottage is in a perfect location for exploring the surrounding area; plenty of opportunities for scenic walks, and a short drive to the coast. The facilities were excellent and John had provided everything we could have wanted, even a set of charged torches! Everyone in the village was very friendly; we were all welcomed warmly at the local pub (including the dog), and the ladies especially liked the Craft Centre just a short walk up the road. All in all, a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michx88
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful weekend in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The bothy is an absolutely beautiful cottage with wonderful owners. It was a home away from home. I couldn't fault the stay, was truly the best girlie weekend away. There was everything needed for the perfect stay. The property was spaces and clean and the most comfortable beds. There was a local shop and a local pub less then a 5 minute walk away. The animals in the field provided us with a lot of entertainment and very tame so we were able to stroke them. I would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a cosy holiday away from the hustle and bustle of city life. I will definetly be returning to this lovely cottage.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakkiPar
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place of calm and quality”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Jakki and Julia are very old friends who now live miles apart. We have to try and get together regulalry to talk, eat good food, drink some wine and did I mention the talking? We now have our daughters accompanying us (aged 10 and 13) and this deceptively large, spacious, warm and comfortable retreat, with good quality rooms, en suite bathrooms and well equipped kitchen made an immediate home from home that meant we were settled and comfortable immediately and able to get on with enjoying the weekend. The girls had great time in the attic bedroom, trying to take photos of the night sky through the (closed) velux window...plenty of space for us and them! Lovely welcome from the owners, and the local town seemed great... such a great cottage we didnt mind that it poured with rain all weekend as it gave us an excuse to stay inside..... and talk! Many thanks !! Jakki xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was gorgeous, well designed and clean.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCNQuest
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great location, wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The Bothy has everything you need, it is warm, comfortable, the kitchen is well equipped, the courtyard is lovely, the outside bath is beyond need, it's a real treat!
The location is perfect if you want to explore a lot of Dorset as it in the middle of everything and not far from the lovely south, or new forest to the east etc. and has some great farm shops and pubs close by.
Sarah is the ideal hostess, a mine of information and very welcoming but also unobtrusive.
A perfect place to get away from it all and explore The delights of Dorset!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor bath!
Liked least: No criticisms
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing