We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in beautiful countryside.”
Review of The Old George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old George
Ranked #2 of 2 Broadwindsor B&B and Inns
Gloucester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is a lovely place, the owners are really friendly, the room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Hard to find any fault really, The landlords at The Greyhound in the next village Beaminster were very accommodating and fired up there cookers especially for us at 9.45pm on a Saturday evening. A beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charltonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Old George is a b & b in Dorset. We stayed for 2 nights and the service was excellent. The house is beautiful with a large garden where cheeky chickens roam - you will eat their eggs for breakfast. The room was immaculate , large double bed and shower room. A selection of nice smelling shower gel and shampoo etc and lovely fluffy towels. Best of all FRESH milk for you to make tea. The owners are friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our friends room was a good as ours - they had a bath - so just say which you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anni099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We booked into the Old George as we had a wedding at nearby Axnoller Farm. The room was beautiful and the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom had a fabulous roll top bath and no need for toiletries as they provide Tisserand products during your stay.

The breakfast was amazing - poached eggs from their own chickens and home-made banana bread. I would definitely stay here again when I visit this region of Dorset for the banana bread alone.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed12hus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed with my partner over Easter as we needed a relaxing break out of the city. We were going to The River Cottage Spring Fair on the Saturday (RC HQ is only about a 20 minute drive away), so Broadwindsor seemed the perfect location as a lot of the other B&Bs in the area were fully booked - so pleased now!

This was our first experience of a B&B and we couldn't have been luckier. This is a home away from home, with luxury and personal touches that you wouldn't get even in the best boutique hotels.

The Food
Fantastic breakfast which set us up perfectly for the day. Great choice, fab quality. Fresh coffee and juice, thick-cut bacon, homemade soda bread and hot cross buns, fresh eggs from the bantums in the garden, homemade jams and marmalades. Christina and George haven't scrimped on anything, even the sugar was unrefined and the honey raw and locally sourced. Delicious, I'm hungry just reminiscing.

The Room
We stayed in Lewesdon which was immaculately decorated, spotlessly clean and incredibly comfortable. Particularly enjoyed the roll top bath, which is big enough to fully submerge yourself in after a long walk up Pilsdon Pen nearby. Beautiful organic products provided in the bathroom too, which was hugely appreciated. Previous posts mention no bin or wardrobe, but our room had both, nothing missing in our minds.

The Hosts
Keep up the good work and thanks for the truly lovely stay. We're already planning our return for October.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deathbysnusnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Lovely B&B. Beautiful room, lovely bath with lots of hot water. Fresh milk on tea tray. Comfortable bed. Lots of lovely touches to make it feel high end. Fantastic breakfast. Friendly warm welcome. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank whizzylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Old George. We were made to feel welcome and found our room clean and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. The house is full of character and the breakfast was delicious. We'd recommend this to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMalyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
220 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

A big thank you to Christina and George for making our stay very comfortable,
My wife and I just popped away for a couple of nights, to the depths of Dorset, and the Old George was the perfect place to stay. Room, bed bathroom all faultless, well worth a stay, it's just off the all the main route in Dorset but has a very warm welcome.And the breakfast, wonderfully served and a great choice. Thanks both!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadwindsor
2.9 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
7.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.9 mi away
Winyard's Gap Inn
Winyard's Gap Inn
#2 of 8 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old George

Property: The Old George
Address: The Old George The Square, Broadwindsor DT8 3QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Broadwindsor
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Broadwindsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old George 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation and a warm welcome in a picturesque village setting. An ideal base to explore the unspoilt West Dorset countryside and the Jurassic Coast. AA Five Star Gold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old George Broadwindsor, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing