We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant village B&B”
Review of The Old George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old George
Ranked #2 of 2 Broadwindsor B&B and Inns
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegant village B&B”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This lovely little B&B thoroughly deserves it's 5 star rating. Elegantly decorated with simple but luxurious rooms, the Old George is a lovely village B&B. A warm welcome, helpful and friendly hosts and a delicious breakfast make for a great stay. We spent a lovely long weekend here and would definitely go back if we were in the area again - we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingLawrences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely warm and welcoming accommodation. All round the best B&b of its type that I have stayed in. Attention to detail superb and our hosts could not have done more. Breakfasts were beautifully cooked and presented. Well placed for exploring Dorset and East Devon and a bonus being that the village pub opposite served good honest pub grub so no need to drive in the evenings. Thank you Charles and Christina. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommajebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights as we had family staying in a holiday cottage in the village for a week and so decided to join them for the weekend.

The building is an old traditional building which has been maintained and updated to a high standard. Our room was light and airy with a large en-suite bathroom.

As echoed by other reviewers the owners are delightful. Friendly and helpful and eager to ensure you had everything you needed.

Breakfast was beautifully presented and included a good range of choices.

I would definitely stay again if we were in the area and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurf4568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I can only agree with other reviewers. The Old Greorge was an excellent find and we would return there in an instant. It was well placed to explore the surrounding areas of Dorset and Cornwall with recommendations from our hosts.
Charles and Christina were warm and welcoming and the room was clean, bright and comfortable with a wonderful bath which delightful at the end of a busy day! Breakfast was first class.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is a lovely place, the owners are really friendly, the room was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Hard to find any fault really, The landlords at The Greyhound in the next village Beaminster were very accommodating and fired up there cookers especially for us at 9.45pm on a Saturday evening. A beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charltonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Old George is a b & b in Dorset. We stayed for 2 nights and the service was excellent. The house is beautiful with a large garden where cheeky chickens roam - you will eat their eggs for breakfast. The room was immaculate , large double bed and shower room. A selection of nice smelling shower gel and shampoo etc and lovely fluffy towels. Best of all FRESH milk for you to make tea. The owners are friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our friends room was a good as ours - they had a bath - so just say which you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anni099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We booked into the Old George as we had a wedding at nearby Axnoller Farm. The room was beautiful and the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom had a fabulous roll top bath and no need for toiletries as they provide Tisserand products during your stay.

The breakfast was amazing - poached eggs from their own chickens and home-made banana bread. I would definitely stay here again when I visit this region of Dorset for the banana bread alone.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed12hus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadwindsor
2.9 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
533 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
797 reviews
7.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
349 reviews
4.5 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
47 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hill Farm B&B
Hill Farm B&B
#4 of 8 in Beaminster
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old George

Property: The Old George
Address: The Old George The Square, Broadwindsor DT8 3QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Broadwindsor
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Broadwindsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old George 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation and a warm welcome in a picturesque village setting. An ideal base to explore the unspoilt West Dorset countryside and the Jurassic Coast. AA Five Star Gold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Old George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old George Broadwindsor, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing