We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many firsts made memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Petites Cigognes
London
1 review
“Many firsts made memorable”
Reviewed 29 October 2009

As some of the other reviewers have written, you never really know what you get until you open the door. I was mildly disappointed by the self-catering gites available on the internet and had, in the end, turned to a UK site. The reason: our first holiday with a then 6 month old baby, so we thought we needed some space, equipment and sensible kitchen to cope with all of his lordship's demands. Les Petites Cigognes seemed to tick all the boxes so we made the jump.

It was great. It was always going to be an adventure, but Sandra made life incredibly easy - everything we could possibly need (or thought we might need) happened to be there already and if ever we got stuck, she was always happy to oblige, suggest and help - but without ever becoming that omni-present landlord that no-one wants on holiday, quite au contraire!

Her tips and hints (for site seeing as well as the local bakery and market) were spot-on, her patience great and humour very welcome after a sleepless night. And as for the gite itself - we ended up in the mid-sized one, which turned out to be perfect as the kitchen was huge and ideal for preparing lots of bottles, food and feeding the little one (his first solids). There were loads of rooms (all well equipped, clean and pleasantly decorated) and plenty of space downstairs to host my parents who stopped by on their way back from the south of France. Add to that a pool (a first for the little one), a nice garden area (one for each gite, plus a communal area), pebbles (again a first, but we avoided too many being eaten) and a really tranquil area that was great for walking and general relaxing.

Les Petites Cigognes is situated just in between two villages, neither of which has any of the big headline chateaux, but all the attractions that make people visit the Loire valley are within 40 km - we tended to drive somewhere when the baby was asleep, walked around, ate something and came back to the pool when the little one dozed off after his afternoon milk - very relaxed. Not that a pushchair is an ideal accessory when doing castles - we only visited the Gardens at Villandry (where a film crew rather than stairs proved a challenge) and the village of Loches with its old town (we found every restaurant extremely child friendly - may be the little one flirted a bit too succesfully in 'Isabeau').

All in all a wonderful time, in a wonderful gite that proved a wonderful, spacious and convenient backdrop to a great first holiday with the kid, with an extremely helpful host (sorry Ian that you don't feature much, but we only had the luck of seeing you for one weekend) - many great, memorable firsts in other words.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngloDutchLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

My husband and I travelled and met friends at Les petites cignone. We spent a delightful week at the gite-which was very comfortable and met all our needs-especially having three bathrooms! The area is close to most of the famous chateau of the region and Ian and Sandra were so helpful. Althought the pool is great-we had to share with two other families there at the same time so that limited our use unfortunately. My only quibble would be the £50 cleaning charge which is a bit of a hidden cost and I have never been charged for cleaning a holiday home before. Regardless we would recommend this for families.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleStork, Owner at Les Petites Cigognes, responded to this review, 8 October 2009
There are no hidden charges at Les Petites Cigognes. Our guests are asked to leave the gite in the same condition that it was found upon their arrival. If they do not wish to do so guests can request a gite clean at a cost of £50. All of this was clearly stated in the Conditions of Booking signed for when the booking was made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

When you're booking accommodation on-line not only do you have to trust what you read but you also have to hope that the photos are not telling a lie. We've sometimes arrived in places where the paint probably had once been fresh and the carpets clean but they no longer looked that way - and certainly didn't match the pictures we'd seen on the web. So there's always that moment when you book your stay that you just have to trust it will all be okay. And how glad we are that we took a punt on Les Petites Cicognes! Before we left Sydney we had several e-mail exchanges with Ian and Sandra and we already had a very good feeling about the place. They were so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to provide us with all the information we asked for. We arrived at Tours by train from Paris - a fabulous way to get there - and picked up a hire car at the station. Sandra had recommended places for us to stop and pick up supplies so we duly filled the car full of enough yummy food to feed an army and then drove an hour to Cussay. We arrived at around six in the evening and found Ian and Sandra outside working in the front yard. They were incredibly warm and welcoming and helped us settle in to La Colombe, the smallest of the three gites. As there were only three of us travelling - my husband, five year old son and me - it was the prefect size and very reasonably priced. We were immediately impressed with the standard of cleanliness, the attention to detail and the very nice bath and bedrooms. Our bed was sooooo comfortable and we adored the absolute pitch blackness of the nights (after the never-ending twilight!) that revealed the most spectacular starry skies. I loved waking up in the mornings and standing at our window looking out over the fields and beyond. Our five year old loved the garden area outside. He declared that la Colombe was the best of the three gites because we had a private side area that he could play and dig in. Sandra and Ian were very tolerant of his digging! The pool was a great treat and so welcome after each day of chateau hopping. At a warm 27 degrees it was bliss and each evening we would wallow in the pool for an hour of so before dinner with the many water toys provided by Sandra. After Kai had gone to bed, my husband and I would sit and enjoy the slow drift to sunset with a bottle of wine and watch the rich palette of pinkness spread across the sky. Truly beautiful. We really enjoyed using the BBQ like any good Aussie and appreciated the fully equipped kitchen as we always love cooking with local produce. There are some great markets nearby, like the one we visited at Descartes, and we sampled many delicious local cheeses and wines, as well as an interesting sweet nut wine. Every day we took off with our map to visit the marvellous chateaux of the Loire Valley. Villandry was one of our favourites. But we have left enough unvisited places to warrant our return - and return we will! In fact one of our bags tried to stay behind but Sandra found it and kindly rushed to deliver it to us us at the airport!! It was a close shave but we got it. For us that summed up what Ian and Sandra do so well at Les Petites Cicognes: they never hesitate to go the extra mile. Thanks to you both for the most magnifique holiday - we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire england
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Les Petites Cigognes is ideal for a family break in the Loire, France. Ideally placed geographically, it is around a 6 hour drive from Calais (or more if toilet stops are needed frequently -like my family did) and has warm to hot spring /summer weather. It offers a swimming pool on site, bikes for the children, boules, grounds to play ball games on, beautiful sunsets and the most amazing clear night skies. (We've got a telescope, and really wished we'd brought it with us as the skies are the best for star gazing we've seen anywhere in Europe.)
The gite we stayed in was the smallest, (La Colombe) but more than adequate for us and our children who are 8 and 9. Downstairs there is a kitchen/diner and a spacious living room area, and upstairs 2 bedrooms, each with its own en suite shower room. The children were very impressed with having their own bathroom. My daughter said that the bed was one of the 'comfiest' holiday beds she had ever slept in! The kitchen was very clean and had a microwave, washing machine and dishwasher, but also included those extra things that are often missing, and which you never remember to pack, such as the cafetiere and teapot. Our gite also had Sky which the children appreciated when it was raining, too.
Ian and Sandra were excellent hosts, offerring advice on the best days to go to market (Sunday in Descartes; Wednesdays in Loches), making reservations for us in recommended restaurants, and lending us spare plug converters (as we didn't bring enough for the DS chargers...)They went out of their way to help us have the best stay possible.
We had booked for a week, and within a day or so realised that we should have booked for longer as we didn't get the time to just chill by the pool as we had hoped, as we were too busy exploring the area.
Futuroscope is about 40 mins away, and I would recommend booking online before you go and also booking lunch or dinner in the buffet restaurant too as the food was excellent and pre booking is cheaper too. I would recommend trying to catch the light show too, as both my children thought this was amazing, but it is late (depending on the time of year).

For a young family I would also recommend Chateau du Rivau: fairly plain inside as chateaux go, but it is the grounds that are suberb. There are overlarge teacups and wellies, wood sculptures and free roaming peacocks, a gnome village nestled in amongst the trees and Rupunzel's hair cascading out of the tower window! This about 40 minutes away too.

Les Petites Cigognes is an ideal family base: it offers outstanding accomodation that was clean, spacious and brilliantly equipped with the obligatory pool for the children. The climate there was just right for us, not too hot, but still warm; it's a reasonable drive from Calais, and near to enough attractions to keep the family amused, as well as it being an excellent retreat in itself. I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliver40a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks,UK
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Arrived earlier than expected and Ian and Sandra kindly let us in- after a good trip down(approx 6 hours from Calais).Ian gave very clear directions that were easy to follow. We were extremely pleased with the gite (Le Grebe)- it was very spacious,very well equipped , modern and clean! The pool was fantastic-and the kids enjoyed it - couldn't get them out! It was also very well maintained- one of the cleanest pools I have been in when on hols! It is a great base for exploring the many Chateauxs, Future Scope and Fantasy Forest ( a must for kids who like climbing on wires up in the trees!!) . Ian and Sandra were very helpful and a great source of info on the area. It is a relief when you book a holiday and the accomodation surpasses your expectations- well done Ian and Sandra!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChewbaccaBucks_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

A great deal of planning goes into a holiday involving five people coming together for a long-discussed journey. Sandra and Ian were true to every word presented in the description of their lovely gite. The standard of quality and design, coupled with a warm welcome long after our estimated time of arrival, provided a fine base for a brief but memorable journey. The location offers the tranquility of the countryside with easy access to points of interest. You may put your hopes for an excellent holiday home away from home in the capable and caring hands of Ian and Sandra. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCassell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We had been in transit for about 10 hours that day and arrived at Les Petites Cigognes about 11:30pm. Ian and Sandra had left a light on in the gite for us, so we were able to find it easily in the dark. The heaters were going and the house was cozy and warm when we arrived. Despite the late hour, Ian came out to greet us with a smile and we felt like we had just arrived home. The gite itself was spotless and beautifully, tastefully decorated. The beds were so comfortable and the bath towels thick and fluffy. Ah, the luxury of it! The gite was super child-friendly with fully enclosed back garden. Sandra and Ian kindly supplied us with games and toys and even a slide for the backyard! Our children are 2, 3 and 5 and they loved it! The kitchen was fully equipped, and I have to admit, it was nice having English tv and access to Cbeebies. Sandra and Ian were superb hosts and made some excellent recommendations for places to visit. Les Petites Cigognes was one of the nicest holiday houses we've ever stayed in and we'll certainly come back the next time we're in the Loire Valley.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Petites Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Petites Cigognes

Property: Les Petites Cigognes
Address: la Cigogne, 37240 Cussay, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Cussay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cussay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Petites Cigognes is a recently converted group of 3 luxury gites with 2, 3, or 4 bedrooms. All our gites are furnished to an extremely high standard and you can be assured of a thoroughly warm welcome and relaxing stay. Enjoy the large heated swimming pool from May to September. We are located in a quiet rural area within easy reach of all the attractions of the Loire valley as well as Paris. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing