We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite reasonable resthouse, but poor service.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Al Qabil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Al Qabil Rest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al Qabil
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Rooms are rather basic, but clean with a good working aircon. Meal was so/so. We stayed in this resthouse to make an afternoon tour in the desert (Wahiba Sands) and to visit the very interesting women souq in Ibra the next (Wednesday)morning. The service of the rude receptionists was very poor. We almost missed the desert tour which was reserved via reception because of their disinterest. After a lot of trouble they finally arranged the requested tour for which we were late and we missed part of the tour. I only recommend this resthouse because of the desert tour and the women souq. There is no other hotel in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aquarius46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2010

Stayed herefor one night in March 2010 on our way from Sur to Nizwa primarily for a trip to the Wahib Sands.. The sands form a backdrop to the village of Mintarib which you can drive to on a sealed road also the resthouse will arrange for trips into the desert from the Al Areesh camp although when we booked a trip the driver did not turn up.

The rooms at the resthouse were small ,clean and fairly basic but perfectly adequate for a nights stay. The rooms surround a landscaped courtyard around which you can eat in the morning and the evening.

On the downside we thought the restaurant was a bit like a cheap cafe and the food was poor. certainly not a gourmet experience.

Convenient stopover if you want to visit the Wahib sands and do not want to stay in a desert camp

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

this hotel is located at the roadside at the end of a nondescript village, (Muddharib) close to the Wahiba Sands, where there are several much better desert camps if you are early enough to find them, if not, Al Qabil Rest house is a decent and only alternative, it serves a good meal, offers wine, has a nice patio, rooms are oldfashioned but ok,

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: in den Zimmern im Neubau hoffentlich keine Bettwanzen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer sind groß und gut ausgestattet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Ichse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Qabil Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Qabil Rest House

Address: Main road, Al Qabil, Oman
Region: Oman > Al Buraimi Governorate > Al Qabil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al Qabil
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
on the Mucat to Sur road at Al Qabil village close to the Wahiba Sands ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Al Qabil Rest House Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing