We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best campsite I have been to for a long time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballinacourty House Caravan & Camping Park
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best campsite I have been to for a long time!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Awesome site, quiet, family run, spotlessly clean, warm showers, a kitchen that can be used and a pub 10 min walk away. The Galtee mountains are really nice for walking and a cold dip in the lake.

Negatives - the campsite cat is a scavenger!
Work needed on to spruce up the mini golf but it is still operational!

Well done!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

just back from a great weekend at this site we have been going here for a good few years and can highly recommend it is a family friendly site very clean and the owners cannot do enough to make you feel welcome there is a lovely restaurant on site very good value to and if you like walking this is for you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Nice site very clean well kept. Paid €94 for 2 nights in my trailer tent 2 adults and 4 kids camping for 15 years and never paid as much, pet farm was gone a long time by the look of it well over grown but still advertised

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights - 2 adults and 2 kids.
Cons:
The website said they had a tv room and a pet farm. My 9 year old was very disappointed to find the pet farm had closed down and also the tv didn't work!! Not good when you pay for these facilities. Also the campers kitchen was extremely small. Bit too many spiders in the shower rooms for my liking - a lot of nasty cobwebs but otherwise very clean. Also reception rarely opens and not much info in there when you do get in.
Pros:
Great location set in the heart of the Glen of Aherlow. Great for walkers and hikers. Lovely scenery. Campsite spotless. Ample room and privacy. Campers kitchen is very clean with fridge, freezer, microwave and gas hob. Shower and toilet areas very clean (other than cobwebs over head!). Wash up areas very clean. Overall - a lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mairead77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We recently stayed for a week as part of a large family group in both the guest houses and caravan park. Its a lovely caravan site set in the heart of the Glens of Aherlow. It is central to many towns and a great base for visiting the surrounding area. It also is close to many walks in the local mountain range. The site is quaint, peaceful and offers everything that you need. The children spend hours in the the recreation room and the little playground which in all honesty could probably do with some new equipment.
The showers, which are excellent and free to use, suffered from frequent drainage problems and in no time at all you could be standing in an inch or two of water. Flip flops are the order of the day. We all agreed that the toilets could have done with at least two and possibly three checks a day to maintain good standards, It was a real shame to visit them in the morning to find overflowing paper towel bins which were there from the previous day.
Overall I would recommend this site and if the owners could make the necessary changes, i would have no doubt in awarding this site an excellent rating.
I have focused only on the caravan park and not the house accomodation

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PP29th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We intended to stay 2 nights at this camping park whilst travelling down to West Cork however we decided to stay a bit longer, and got 4 nights for the price of 3. The showers, in an outhouse barn complete with swallows nests, were free and dispite the odd cob web were clean and the water was warm. The campers kitchen had a gas hob, fridge and freezer - great for ice packs, a micro wave but no kettle. A small shop is on site along with a BB and resturant, take away pizza is available on some evenings.The site is close to many local tourist attractions- within 1hour by car. The local tourist information office was excellent. The park was well maintained, has plenty of trees and old stone, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jl33r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

A good base in the Glen of Aherlow, in a beautiful location and convenient for Cahir Castle, the Swiss Cottage, Rock of Cashel, the Mitchelstown Caves and the Vee Drive.
The toilet and shower facilities are clean, and FREE hot showers are included in the price. There is a kitchen, if needed, also a washing/drying room.
In good weather, it is a nice camp site to relax in, with some beautiful views. Lots of space for children to play around. However, I think the playground could do with a make over.
Reception hours are a bit restricted, but there is a phone number on the office door to contact. The first evening (not too late) that I arrived, reception was closed, I phoned the number, was told to take a pitch and settle the bill the next day. There are just some basic products in the site shop.
There is a restaurant on the site, but we didn’t use it ,and therefore cannot comment.
One word of warning though - if there is heavy rain, as we experienced - select your pitch carefully, as there was substantial flooding on some of them when we were there - but the rain was exceptionally heavy, I mean HEAVY, that particular night.
The direction to the camp site on their website are accurate, but for me a more direct route would be to approach it from Bansha. In Bansha, take the road for Galbally. Just immediately after the town’s speed limit signs, you come to a Y junction - you go to the right and travel straight on that road, about 8/9 miles, until you come to a sign for the camp site, at a cross roads junction, where you turn to the right. Now, there is a good reason, why Ballinacourty do not direct you this way - you will be passing the Glen of Aherlow Caravan & Camping Park on this road, and may be tempted to pull in there instead - but have faith and continue on to Ballinacourty.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank fenlaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glen of Aherlow hotels
0.0 mi away
Ballinacourty House B&B
Ballinacourty House B&B
#1 of 2 in Glen of Aherlow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
#2 of 3 in Glen of Aherlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Homeleigh Farm House
#2 of 2 in Glen of Aherlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinacourty House Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinacourty House Caravan & Camping Park

Property: Ballinacourty House Caravan & Camping Park
Address: Ballinacourty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Glen of Aherlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glen of Aherlow
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinacourty House Caravan and Camping Park is a quiet, unique, family run park in the beautiful Glen of Aherlow. Our well kept park provides a well equipped and relaxing environment for a short break or family holiday. Our central location means that we offer the perfect base for touring the whole of the South of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Ballinacourty House Caravan & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing