We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and best scenery in the world - breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxation and best scenery in the world - breathtaking”
Reviewed 29 April 2011

So, we went and didn't know what to expect. The lodges are spotless, like a home away from home, the view is breathtaking, no words can describe, unfortunately, there were a crowd that stayed up across from our lodge till 4 in the morning drinking and they were very loud, but.. this didn't ruin it for us. The hotel itself had very friendly staff, the food was to die for and the Guinness, well, my boyfriend says he hasn't tasted anthing like it before or since. Its a haven. Loved it so much, looking into having our wedding there. Best of luck to your tripl

Room Tip: Lodge was great, hotel is also good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJay08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aherlow, Owner at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Dear Erin068,

Thank you for your very kind words regarding your recent stay with us here in Aherlow. It is not often that our Guinness makes it on to Trip Advisor,and I will be sure to let my Bar Manager know that your boyfriend enjoyed it so much.

We hope to welcome you both back at some stage in the future and if ever there is anything I can do for you please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

With Kind Regards

Ferghal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    125
    62
    35
    21
See reviews for
125
177
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Had our Wedding here in March and the hotel was great. Fergal & Carol were very attentive in the run up to the wedding and we had their heads wrecked I'd say with all our queries. But on the day the hotel was just superb. Service was brilliant. Food was great. Everything ran very smoothly and we had a few people with special dietary requirements and these people were raving about the food afterwards. The location is fab and as we had a nice day it was great to be able to have the arrival reception on the terrace.
A lot of guests attending our wedding had never being to Aherlow before and were amazed at the location - they did some of the walks the next day (my feet were too sore from all the dancing!!) and really enjoyed them. The guests who stayed in the chalets were very impressed with the standard of the chalets and the value for money. On the Saturday a lot of guests spent a lazy afternoon relaxing in the sunshine on their balconies, having a bite to eat and chatting about the night before. So glad we chose Aherlow House Hotel for our Wedding - it was a very memorable weekend and Thanks to Fergal, Carol, Chef Michael and all the staff who ensured everything ran so smoothly.

Room Tip: Chalets are good value and very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandeleur79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I attended a wedding here and we stayed for the weekend. The service was really excellent throughout our stay. We stayed with a group of friends in one of the lodges and it worked out cheaper this way.The lodge was spotless and great facilities. Breakfast was included one morning and we paid for it the second morning. The food quality was excellent and despite being late for breakfast the second day the staff on duty were very accommodating.
We were checked in by lovely, friendly reception staff with no fuss.
There are lots of lovely walking routes in the area so we gave that a try and it is a truly beautiful area. Tipperary Town is a few minutes drive away and there are plenty of shops and pubs around there as well.
Overall we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivers2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This is, quite simply, the jewel in the already priceless crown of Aherlow. We found the chalet-style accommodation spotless, warm and beautiful. The view of the Galty Mountains from the chalets is one of the most breathtaking in Ireland. Superb food (including breakfast, so often a lazy excuse for bad cooking - but not here!); a 'boss host' in Ferghal Purcell who knows all the walks and made us feel like friends in good company; and a bar where the craic can go from mild to critical in the blink of an eye. The hotel, with some of the finest hill walking in Ireland on its doorstep, is one of the focal points for Aherlow's two splendid walking festivals (one summer, the other winter), and benefits from close association with local walking experts who are only too happy to share their secrets. They will bend over backwards to help and advise (literally, in some cases, at 4 a.m. in the bar - we saw you, MM!).

In short - a pearl among hotels.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigStick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Myself and my family and extended family stayed here last July in the lodges and I have to say it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to. Staff are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The views are breathtaking. Food was delicious and the service was great. The lodges were fantastic and were equipped with everything needed for a self catering holiday.

We loved this place so much that we have booked to go again this Easter, bringing more family members along this time!

I recommend Aherlow House Hotel for a stress free, relaxing, family break with the extra trimmings!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aherlow, Owner at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Dear "Oisine"

Thank you for your very positive comments, it means a great deal to all our employees. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed you stay last year and we look forward to welcoming you again at Easter.

We will endeavour to make your stay stress free and relaxing again and try our best to organise some nice weather ! I Look forward to meeting you and your family personally and both my team and I will do our best to ensure that your return is as enjoyable as your first visit.

With kind regards

Ferghal Purcell
Managing Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

24 of us booked - some into the hotel and some into the excellent lodges - for a walking weekend, and we couldn't have been looked after better.

Highly recommended!

Pete and Anne Evans

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeteDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aherlow, Owner at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Dear Pete & Anne,

Thank you for your very kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Walking has become such an important part of our business and I am thrilled that both the Galtees and the Loop walks and indeed the lodges gave you a sense of satisfaction and enjoyment during your recent stay with us.

I look forward to seeing you all again soon.

With Kind Regards

Ferghal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The lodges were well-kitted out and the size of a suburban house. The setting is fantastic with a view of the Galtees practically at your back door. Great pint of Guiness too.

As the previous reviewer said, the electricity bill you get on checking out leaves a bit of a bad taste. 36 euro for a two night stay seems way out of proportion to the amount of electricity used.

The ESB bill for a week at home wouldn't cost that much with dryers, washing machines, dishwashers, electric showers, TV etc., running regularly. If you're being billed, you'd expect it to be charged at or close to cost price.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aherlow, Owner at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, 20 February 2011
Dear "Shambob"

Thank you for your recent review and thank you for your possitive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Aherlow House.

The cost of electricity in our lodges is an on going concern to us and we are continuing to try and find more efficient means of providing the service at the most cost efficient means. As I mentioned previously, storage heaters are expensive and we at Aherlow House must endeavour to do more to communicate to our guests the most efficient means of usage, especially during such cold spells as occured in January.

I do hope that this will not have detracted from your stay and that we may welcome you back at some stage in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me in order that I can afford you my personal attention.

With kind regards

Ferghal Purcell
Managing Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen of Aherlow
5.1 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
8.9 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
11.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
603 reviews
24.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
379 reviews
19.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges

Property: Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Address: | Glen of Aherlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Glen of Aherlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glen of Aherlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Heart of what can only be described as the "Alps of Ireland", the Glen of Aherlow you can relax and unwind from the fast paced and enjoy the unspoilt beauty of the Galtee Mountain Range.Aherlow House Hotel and Lodges comprises of 29 well appointed Guest Bedrooms and 15 Three Bedroom Self Catering Alpine style lodges.Experience the tranquillity in its glory on one of the well appointed walking trails that border the hotel or relaxing in the Hunting lodge bar beside an Open log fire and sample the finest of local cusine from our bar food menu. For the more food enthusiatic side of you, choose from our Head Chefs extensive Restaurant menu which you can enjoy in the comfort of our Tree Top Restaurant.Located within a short distance of the Hotel you can enjoy the Historic with a Visit to The Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle,The Swiss Cottage or the wonder of the Michelstown caves. Also clsoe by you can partake in Horseriding, Childrens activities and many more wonders that Tipperary and Aherlow have for you to discover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aherlow House Hotel Glen Of Aherlow
Aherlow House Hotel And Lodges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing