We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfull location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed in Aherloe House recently on a midweek break and we were totally delighted with the hotel itself which is full of local charm and we were made feel so welcome by the friendly staff We had a meal in both the bar and in the treetop restaurant which were both excellent the food in the restaurant was a little slow arriving but well worth the wait The lamb was the best I ever tasted The friendly young waiter William seemed to be on his own but did his best
Our room was comfortable but the decor a little dated however as renovations are in progress I am sure this will improve
A particular word of thanks to the barman Jonathan who was there till late and still on duty next morning to help us on our way

We will return and bring friends soon


cant wait to return

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of Hotel have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blinkysocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights recently and we both fell in love with this hotel. The food in the bar/restaurant was lovely, the pints were great, and the room was comfortable and spacious. I loved how the hotel was so accomodating to walkers, with OS Maps and local trail maps on display for consultation. The hotel is situated a ten minute drive from the start of some good, challenging hillwalks and this is the most fantastic thing about the place. If you're looking for an authentic, peaceful properly Irish welcome, you really can't go far wrong here. Will be back! :)

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a southern view to fully appreciate the views to Galtymore, Galtybeg and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jj1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamBarrettAherlow, General Manager at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Dear JJ 1804,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Aherlow House Hotel and Lodges.

I am delighted as are all the team here at the hotel that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just had a lovely two night stay in this wonderful Tipperary hotel. Loved everything about it. It is perched on a hillside and has panoramic views across the Glen to the Galtee mountains. It is a beautiful hotel with character, not a modern office block. We arrived exhausted after a week’s work and a long hike up Galtymore Mountain but after two days of peace and relaxation in the Hotel felt fit enough to face the rat race again. Thanks to the staff who were great. They even gave us an early breakfast as we rushed back to the working week.

Room Tip: We were in Room 109 and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamBarrettAherlow, General Manager at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Greenie 75,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Aherlow House Hotel and Lodges.
I am delighted to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us as it is of the utmost importance to us that all our guests get to sample and enjoy the serene and relaxing atmosphere that surrounds us here at Aherlow.
I will gladly pass your thanks onto our staff here, they are always striving to provide our guests with excellent guest care so it is very rewarding when someone takes the time to thank them.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future to Aherlow and Thank you sincerly for choosing Aherlow House Hotel and Lodges as your destination for your short break.

Mise Le Meas,


Liam Barrett,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We are just back from a stay at this hotel and it was such a let down..it is very old fashioned,terrible decor. Our room smelled of stale cigarettes. Our meal in the restaurant was very carvery-like, poor menu and poor quality.The staff were so slow and inefficient. It was the aherlow walking festival so we presumed there would be a good atmosphere there but we were sadly wrong..It was quite, no atmosphere,no music just plain boring! The breakfast was terrible, the room was quite no music we were all just looking at eachother.. the waitress came up and asked us what do we want? i asked well what are our choices to which she replyed porridge or full irish..it was just so unprofessional and a poor service. We couldnt wait to get out of there in the morning. This place has great potential and a lovely location but they badly need the brennans brothers from rte to sort the place out!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francesork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamBarrettAherlow, General Manager at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Aherlow House Hotel and Lodges.
I would like to address the feedback that you have provided to us:
We are a fully non smoking hotel and in the event that our non smoking policy had not been adhered to by a guest we not not resell that bedroom until the anti tobacco deep cleansing process had been followed.
In relation to the walking festival, this is not an event hosted by the hotel but an event hosted by Aherlow failte who provide a full information pack at the reception area of the hotel of all the events and live music venues during the festival which includes a complimentary shuttle bus to and from all events. It was unfortunate that the weather conditions on the weekend of the festival hampered what is normally a fun filled weekend but the weather that we did have reduced attendance.
Our Breakfast service here at the hotel consists of a Full Extensive Hot and Cold Buffet selection at the weekends so had your stay been with us on a bank holiday weekend this certainly would have been available. During midweek we operate an a la carte breakfast which is listed on the full comprehesive menus provided on each table. The menus of which are often complimented for there variety and differance from the normal offering at Hotels.

We have a huge emphasis on guest care here at the hotel and all our staff are trained to provide the higest level of care to all our guests so your experience does not reflect the normal levels of service here at the Hotel.

In relation to the decor, we are currently renovating the full property and have been in renovations since March so I am very much surprised that you feel that the Charm and decor that keeps our guests returning was not to your liking. Even throughout the renovations we have kept the emphasis on the character and charm which makes Aherlow the relaxing Hotel that it is widely known for being.

I always welcome genuine feedback and would be delighted to discuss any of the issues you raised in your review with you.

Mise le Meas.

Liam Barrett,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed in the lodges for a weekend; found them to be spacious, well designed and well-equipped, particularly loved the balconies with panoramic views and space to eat. Cooked both nights and this was no problem with the equipment provided. We did two walks - one to the Curra lake -which started a short drive away from the hotel and the other started at the hotel. These were exellent; loved the scenery, especially while on the walk to the lake ( complete with cute lambs en route). The lady servicing the lodges was particularly helpful provding extra towels etc. Would highly recommend these lodges for a family group or couples. Only docking one dot for dated decor and outdoor table which was a little tight for the space.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I am having my Wedding in Aherlow House Hotel on the 12th of July 2012 and I have been dealing with Laura & Carol with regards to that....
My Partner and I went for dinner there last Friday 11th of May...We arrived and were shown to the table with a lovely Menu with our names on it and a table reserved for us which was a nice touch the bar was buzzing and the restaurant was busy too...The views were great out the window...so we got starter,soup,main course and desert and latte I have to say the food was amazing so well presented and very tastie I felt very satisfied...The waitress was very friendly without being over the top....so now I'm getting really excited about our big day it was such a great feeling to know the food will be good on the day !!
Thanks to all the staff....

Room Tip: I've seen the Honeymoon suite it's devine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strawberybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamBarrettAherlow, General Manager at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Marie Therese,

Thank you for your very kind review.
We look forward to taking very good care of you both and your guests on the 12th of July.
It is so refreshing to see that the emphasis chef Jose and his team have placed on the quality and presentation of our food excited your palate.
Thank you for your comments also regarding Laura and Carol we ahve very lucky here at Aherlow to have such a professional dedicated team.

I look forward to meeting you in person before the 12th as your big day approaches.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Just back from a lovely stay here. We got it through a voucher deal but would have been good value regardless. The hotel is extremely easy to get to, just over 2 hrs of mostly motorway driving from Dublin. Staff were very friendly and always happy to help with anything.
Our room was simple enough but spotless and comfortable with some nice antique furniture.
The bathroom was also spotless with loads of hot water and towels etc.

We didn't get a chance to see the lodges but I'm sure they would be worth checking out too if you had a group & wanted to mix in a bit of self-catering too.

There is some nice walking to do nearby and some horse-riding too which we did a bit of. Weather wasn't great while we were there which gave the perfect excuse to curl up beside the large fireplace with a book and the ever attentive Damo on hand to serve drinks from the bar.
The restaurant was closed too but the bar food was very tasty, especially the Aherlow Burger. Nyom.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davetr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamBarrettAherlow, General Manager at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Davetr0n,

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw your stay here with us at Aherlow House Hotel and Lodges.

I am delighted to hear the team here at the Hotel helped you to enjoy your relaxing break in the picturesque Galtee Mountains.

It is our aim here at Aherlow to ensure all our guests have an experience they will remember and will hopefully see them come back to visit us again in the near future.

Again, Thank you for taking the time to review Aherlow and I will pass your kind words onto our team and in particular to Damo.

Mise le meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen of Aherlow
5.1 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
8.9 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
11.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
431 reviews
24.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges

Address: | Glen of Aherlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Glen of Aherlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glen of Aherlow
Price Range: £65 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Heart of what can only be described as the "Alps of Ireland", the Glen of Aherlow you can relax and unwind from the fast paced and enjoy the unspoilt beauty of the Galtee Mountain Range.Aherlow House Hotel and Lodges comprises of 29 well appointed Guest Bedrooms and 15 Three Bedroom Self Catering Alpine style lodges.Experience the tranquillity in its glory on one of the well appointed walking trails that border the hotel or relaxing in the Hunting lodge bar beside an Open log fire and sample the finest of local cusine from our bar food menu. For the more food enthusiatic side of you, choose from our Head Chefs extensive Restaurant menu which you can enjoy in the comfort of our Tree Top Restaurant.Located within a short distance of the Hotel you can enjoy the Historic with a Visit to The Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle,The Swiss Cottage or the wonder of the Michelstown caves. Also clsoe by you can partake in Horseriding, Childrens activities and many more wonders that Tipperary and Aherlow have for you to discover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aherlow House Hotel Glen Of Aherlow
Aherlow House Hotel And Lodges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing