We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Waterford
1 review
“fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

Stayed here recently to attend a wedding, not for the first time. The reception excellent, staff very good and rooms were nice. Location is outstanding.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    117
    60
    33
    19
See reviews for
120
169
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2008

This is a lovely hotel that is blessed with its location. When the weather is good the view of the Galtee Mountains is breath-taking. If taking a lodge; ensure you get the room with the view, as otherwise the rooms are small and have little going for them.

The staff with the exception of the reception are excellent; I found the reception staff somewhat indifferent. Initially I was given the wrong room. I was then asked to bring supplies such as clean towels etc. to my own lodge. Upon checking out (I was the last of our party to do so) I was hit for a bill on top of the agreed price for all of our party for electricity that I had to pay. When I explained that the room was booked at the rate for the wedding I received no response - only the bill with the charge. This was not advertised anywhere and the couple who had the wedding were also shocked as they had not been advised of any charges above the agreed rates.

Notwithstanding the above, I liked the hotel overall. It is easy to find even though it is out of town. It is a great place for weddings or walkers.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EOReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

We attended a wedding reception at the hotel and stayed in both a main room and a lodge. They were both quite tired and in need of refurbishment though still comfy aqnd fit for purpose. The food was OK, nothing out of this world. Beer prices are high but this was common within Ireland.
There are a good few day trips possible from here and it is off the beaten track to chill out in - it is well sign posted which is good given the local roads are narrow country tracks but finding it at 1am was not too hard. Staff were friendly and supplied any items asked such as irons.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — somewhat tired appearance
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Rochdalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2006

We were in Ireland for a wedding and the reception was held in this lodge. We stayed in one of the seperate lodges that had three bedrooms with baths. The location is beautiful, albeit a challanging 5 mile drive from Tipperary. The staff was welcoming and the food average. In all fairness, the lodge was officialy closed, and the provision for meals was especially arranged. We had a panoramic view from our living room that was constantly changing with the weather. We would certinally return for a longer stay.

  • Liked — location, comfort and beautiful views
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mamagoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen of Aherlow
5.1 mi away
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
8.9 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Horse & Jockey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thurles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
24.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
19.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges

Property: Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Address: | Glen of Aherlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Glen of Aherlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glen of Aherlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Heart of what can only be described as the "Alps of Ireland", the Glen of Aherlow you can relax and unwind from the fast paced and enjoy the unspoilt beauty of the Galtee Mountain Range.Aherlow House Hotel and Lodges comprises of 29 well appointed Guest Bedrooms and 15 Three Bedroom Self Catering Alpine style lodges.Experience the tranquillity in its glory on one of the well appointed walking trails that border the hotel or relaxing in the Hunting lodge bar beside an Open log fire and sample the finest of local cusine from our bar food menu. For the more food enthusiatic side of you, choose from our Head Chefs extensive Restaurant menu which you can enjoy in the comfort of our Tree Top Restaurant.Located within a short distance of the Hotel you can enjoy the Historic with a Visit to The Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle,The Swiss Cottage or the wonder of the Michelstown caves. Also clsoe by you can partake in Horseriding, Childrens activities and many more wonders that Tipperary and Aherlow have for you to discover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aherlow House Hotel And Lodges
Aherlow House Hotel Glen Of Aherlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing