We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, great staff, good food, rubbish connectivity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were married in Aherlow House 5th July, and the wedding experience was great. Caroline and her staff really helped us relax, said yes to nearly everything and the day was great. Lovely food, fabulous location, no problems, thank you all! We had use of the bridal suite for the Saturday night and its lovely. Can't comment on the hotel rooms as for the week leading upto the wedding we and 30 guests people were staying in the lodges. The lodges are fine, comfy beds, washing machines, dryers, cookers, some have better views than others. Showers are a little hit and miss with the hotwater, the lodges are a little bit frayed at the edges but that is to be expected with kids and prams and luggage being banged about. The hotel itself does good bar food and some decent evening meals, they can cater for a pre wedding big group. The bar is great, old school, fills up with Cream Tea seniors on Sunday afternoon, they have a sort of local party on Suday night with music and teenagers. There is lots of walking trails around if you are feeling energetic. Tipperary town is 10 min away and has pubs, restuarants and shops, including an Aldi if you are selfcatering. The only major issue, and it is an issue if you are trying to coordinate people for a wedding is the mobile phone coverage it patchy at best and the internet is only available in the hotel itself, and was a bit intermitent during our stay. So you are thrown into a bit of a spin if you are expecting phone calls/ needing to email people. But overall we had a lovely week and everyone loved the hotel and had a thoroughly good time- thank you Aherlow House you will always be close to our hearts...see you for an anniversary soon.

Room Tip: Lodges- if you can ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank schaffer1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for one night in hotel. Had dinner and must say the dinner could have being much better with a little imagination. The breakfast was very poor. There was little choice of breakfast options. I went for full Irish and the mushrooms were completely raw. I must say the breakfast was awful overall. The bedroom was very dated. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Declan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had our wedding in Aherlow House Hotel on the 27th June 2014 and we have not got a bad word to say about the place... From the beginning of planning the wedding Caroline and her team kept me at ease and were always there to lend a helping a hand, be it making last minute decisions and constantly updating the rooming list, there was never any problem... All the feedback from our guests was 100% positive, from the spectacular location, top class food and outstanding service , most of them are planning a return visit as some of them had never heard of Aherlow house hotel...Hopefully we will be back to celebrate anniversaries there...

We would highly recommend Aherlow House to any couple planning their future nuptials ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stay for 3nights in lodges with family and friends.nice house and place.good price for 3nights.pay additional for electricity, but was ok.everything what you need for cooking was in the kitchen.big and nice fireplace.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabuzinskaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

staff friendly - service hit and miss for most of the time of our stay it was miss. Wine list unbelievable dull and limited. No decent wine even if you were prepared to pay for it. Breakfast was good as also bar food. Did not eat dinner as weather was hot and wanted to eat outdoors. Management appeared to be gone AWOL and it felt like the staff were inadequately trying to run the show. With good management and a little imagination this place could be so much better. However, have to say the hotel is doing great deals and it is in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crankyfranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here recently for a function, we stayed in the lodges as the hotel itself was full.

The location of the hotel, whilst a bit remote, is stunning, the views are fantastic and you could spend a lot of time just soaking it up.

We stayed for one night and had bar food on two occasions and a meal in the function hall also.
The food was of very good quality and could not complain about it. The staff were also very friendly and professional.

The hotel itself was very nice, clean with a fantastic fire in the bar and stunning views.

The lodges were of a very good size, two double rooms and a twin room. The open plan kitchen/diner/sitting room was also very spacious and a nice area to relax in.

The but I have concerns the cleanliness of the carpet in the main bedroom. It a lot of stains on it (not quite sure what caused them) which was unpleasant and meant any trips across the room required footwear.

Overall we had a good experience in Aherlow house and would return but I would certainly request a change of lodges if I saw stains in the carpet like that again, it really was quite obvious!!

Outside of this a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PremierShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Let me start with some positive feedback: Rooms had a fantasitc view, Bed was v comfortable, Breakfast was great & bar staff were friendly. Now for the negative feedback: The receptionist was not particularly friendly, for example, we asked the girl on TWO occasions if she could arrange for someone to tune in the tv channels and she abrubtly told us that it would be taken care of, sadly it wasn't , and therefore we didn't feel comfortable to bring any of our concerns to her attention for the rest of our stay. The room in general was not properly cleaned, for example, toilet was dirty, ( we had to clean it ourselves, oops!) , we believe someone had used our toilet on the second day as it was unflushed. The throw and matching cushions were stained & there was a food stain on information brochure. The extra pillows had no pillow covers on them. We ate at the bar on our last night and it was a disaster. Food was cold, we didn't get coleslaw as advertised on menu, we believe €14 was bit overpriced for cold burger and chips!
The Aherlow hotel needs lots of attention and good management, especially at front of house and in the bar ! The lack of cleaning in our room needs to be brought to the attention of the cleaning staff, as this is quite a serious oversight on your behalf! These problems need to be addressed in order for us to return! We will remain positive and look forward to a more pleasant stay in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Corrie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen of Aherlow
5.1 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
19.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
8.9 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
398 reviews
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
622 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges

Address: | Glen of Aherlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Glen of Aherlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glen of Aherlow
Price Range: £64 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Heart of what can only be described as the "Alps of Ireland", the Glen of Aherlow you can relax and unwind from the fast paced and enjoy the unspoilt beauty of the Galtee Mountain Range.Aherlow House Hotel and Lodges comprises of 29 well appointed Guest Bedrooms and 15 Three Bedroom Self Catering Alpine style lodges.Experience the tranquillity in its glory on one of the well appointed walking trails that border the hotel or relaxing in the Hunting lodge bar beside an Open log fire and sample the finest of local cusine from our bar food menu. For the more food enthusiatic side of you, choose from our Head Chefs extensive Restaurant menu which you can enjoy in the comfort of our Tree Top Restaurant.Located within a short distance of the Hotel you can enjoy the Historic with a Visit to The Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle,The Swiss Cottage or the wonder of the Michelstown caves. Also clsoe by you can partake in Horseriding, Childrens activities and many more wonders that Tipperary and Aherlow have for you to discover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aherlow House Hotel Glen Of Aherlow
Aherlow House Hotel And Lodges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing