We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Nearby Hotels
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel(Tipperary)(Great Value!)
US$164
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$98
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deebert House Hotel(Kilmallock)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hearn's Hotel(Clonmel)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
196
135
65
35
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
196
135
65
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgaltee mountainsbar foodtipperary townbeautiful scenerylog firebit datedself catering lodgesbig open firenight breakwonderful weekendbridal suitelick of paintfood was amazingspecial thanksfish and chipsold world charma lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2011

24 of us booked - some into the hotel and some into the excellent lodges - for a walking weekend, and we couldn't have been looked after better.

Highly recommended!

Pete and Anne Evans

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
Thank PeteDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aherlow, Owner at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Dear Pete & Anne,

Thank you for your very kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Walking has become such an important part of our business and I am thrilled that both the Galtees and the Loop walks and indeed the lodges gave you a sense of satisfaction and enjoyment during your recent stay with us.

I look forward to seeing you all again soon.

With Kind Regards

Ferghal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The lodges were well-kitted out and the size of a suburban house. The setting is fantastic with a view of the Galtees practically at your back door. Great pint of Guiness too.

As the previous reviewer said, the electricity bill you get on checking out leaves a bit of a bad taste. 36 euro for a two night stay seems way out of proportion to the amount of electricity used.

The ESB bill for a week at home wouldn't cost that much with dryers, washing machines, dishwashers, electric showers, TV etc., running regularly. If you're being billed, you'd expect it to be charged at or close to cost price.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aherlow, Owner at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

Dear "Shambob"

Thank you for your recent review and thank you for your possitive comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Aherlow House.

The cost of electricity in our lodges is an on going concern to us and we are continuing to try and find more efficient means of providing the service at the most cost efficient means. As I mentioned previously, storage heaters are expensive and we at Aherlow House must endeavour to do more to communicate to our guests the most efficient means of usage, especially during such cold spells as occured in January.

I do hope that this will not have detracted from your stay and that we may welcome you back at some stage in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me in order that I can afford you my personal attention.

With kind regards

Ferghal Purcell
Managing Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Had a fantastic stay here during the Aherlow Winter Walking Festival. Stayed in the lodges - which are amazing - very spacious, really well equipped, spotlessly clean, with the added benefit of breakfast and dinner in the hotel - so definitely the best of both worlds! The service in the hotel was absolutely fantastic, super friendly but so organised and efficient. Excellent food - from breakfast, to bar food to restaurant, and packed lunches. Brilliant value for money. Would highly recommend it - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Are-any-left
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aherlow, Owner at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

Dear "Are-any-left"

That's it, I am going to retire now ! ! Thank you for your very kind comments and I really am delighted that you enjoyed the Winter Walking Festival and especially your stay here with us. You can only imagine how great it makes us all feel here at Aherlow to receive such lovely feedback.

Hopefully we will have you back with us in 2012.

With kind regards

Ferghal Purcell
Managing Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

everyone was very friendly,very helpfull,the lodge was beautifull,clean and well equipped,the hotel is very relaxing with a big log fire,the view was amazing,the walks were fantastic..it was so peacefull we didn't want to leave,would go again definitley..it was such a shame when leaving that we were hit with such a huge electricity bill..we stayed for 9 nights and it cost us..E111.00....we'll be more prepared next time!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank kiddies3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aherlow, Owner at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

Dear Kiddies 3

Thank you for your recent review and indeed your positive comments regarding your stay with us at Aherlow House over Christmas.

I understand your concern regarding the cost of the electricity, it is a challenge that we frequently encounter especially when the weather is so cold. Storage heaters can be as expensive as they are effecient. We will endeavour to guide our guests in the future regarding the most effecient manner in utilising these, which in due course should present a less surprising bill.

I look forward to welcomimg you back at some stage in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally prior to your arrival in order that I can afford you my personal attention.

With Kind regards


Ferghal Purcell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Booked online on 21 August and paid a deposit for a 4-night stay from 21 September. On 12 September hotel phoned to say booking had been cancelled because of "scheduled maintenance" and deposit would be refunded. No explanation as to why they had accepted booking when they knew the room would not be available (or was it really UNscheduled maintenance?) or why they had taken 3 weeks to contact me. The refund was exactly £1 less than I'd actually paid

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Erithian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews