We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service & central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MF Harbor View Hotel Penghu
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Penghu County
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good service & central location”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The location is great, right at the heart of Magong City. The staff is young, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel has a desk at the airport and readily picks up all guests - in fact, all airport transfers are free. The breakfast is great and creative. The staff also helps to arrange a rental car for us at reasonable rates. We enjoyed our 3 day stay in Magong.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twcsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier813, Public Relations Manager at MF Harbor View Hotel Penghu, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear MF friend,

Thank you for choosing MF HOTEL PENGHU and spare time to share with us your MF HOTEL experience online.

It's our honor to learn that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us. It’s truly one genuine happiness to receive such a kind recognition from our own fellow friend! Your lovely words I will surely be shared with the entire MF HOTEL team, whom I believe will be so much motivated.

Thank you once again for your kind support towards MF HTOEL ! We shall all look forward to welcoming you soon here at MF HOTEL PENGHU.

Xavier LU
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    67
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
68
53
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We were impressed with the friendly staff during check-in and check-out. The room (and bathroom) was spacious. As the hotel is an eco-friendly hotel, disposable amenities were not provided in the room (but available upon request at front counter). Breakfast was surprising delicious. The hotel even gave us free beer vouchers (2 cans per person), welcome drink voucher and sent us from the hotel to the airport. The only comment we have is the stale smell of cigarettes when we initially entered the room. We left the windows open to ventilate the room when we went sightseeing, and it was alright when we returned. Overall, we were happy with our stay at the hotel, and would certainly consider staying at MF Hotel if we visit Penghu again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dannychan_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We recently made our third trip to Penghu and this was easily the best hotel we've stayed in. If you arrive by air, MF Hotel has a desk at the airport and will take you to their hotel. We were there during low season, when rates are 50% off, making this an excellent bargain. Our room had a little wear and tear, but was mostly in pristine condition. Very nice size for the price. The entire hotel is spic-and-span and many rooms afford a view of Magong harbor, a nice perk for a mid-range hotel in Taiwan.

And to the person who said Penghu is not worth the effort -- to each his own, but I respectfully suggest that you didn't make an effort. There's plenty to do and see in Penghu but it can require some exploring. It's far and away my favorite place in Taiwan.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MattnMingYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

MF Hotel in situated in the main downtown area of Makung. We received a very friendly welcome despite arriving very late. Our room (which may have been upgraded) was of a great size. We also had a view over the harbour (think more Harwich rather than Sydney!). Everything worked well in the hotel and free wireless internet is provided.

Breakfast is average to say the least. Orange juice is more like a power and water job rather than being fresh juice. There are 5 main options to choose from which are Chinese 'takes' on Western food. A hamburger for breakfast? Really? Not quite sure I would call whatever came out a hamburger anyhow. Oddly, the Chinese breakfast option was only available two days a week. The coffee is good, however. There are a few nice bakeries nearby and would suggest that if you are a breakfast person.

Self washing facilities are available in the basement (washer and dryer NT$50 per unit, per use). This was a welcome facility for an extended trip.

We would like to single out a member of staff, Xavier, who was most helpful during our stay. His English is excellent (something not often found in hotels, especially outside of Taipei) and nothing was too much trouble for him.

Do contact the hotel prior to arrival as they do offer a complimentary airport collection/drop off facility.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ionlyflyfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here for an anniversary we had- we had a beautiful room that was set into a corner of the hotel that had windows on the two longest sides which gave us a wonderful view. Everything was very clean and well presented, and the staff was exceptionally friendly. The shower had really low pressure, but besides that I was 100% happy with our room.

The staff helped us with anything we needed and assisted us in renting a scooter. Someone personally walked us down to a shop and sorted everything out for us, which was really nice.

We did not eat at the restaurant for dinner or lunch, because it seemed a little overpriced for the quality of food being offered. We did have breakfast included in our package which was fine- they offer different sets to please everyone, a full English, hot dog, Asian, etc.

They have free internet access in the lobby (they said we would have wi-fi in our room, but we did not). I found though that some gusts let their children use these terminals to play games, and even when adults needed to use them, no one asked them to get off (this is the parent's fault- not the hotels).

When booking- M Hotel is also known as MF Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank phoenixwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Should you need to go to Penghu, the M hotel (MF hotel or Mongfu hotel) is probably your best choice, but Penghu is not worth the effort. Don´t believe the Lonely Planet, there is hardly anything worthwhile visiting. The LP must have been sponsored by the local tourist board.
The M Hotel is surprisingly boutiquerish for this island. Staff goes out of their way, but only the manager speaks English, further you have to pantomime, which is an experience as well. The attached restaurant is mediocre. Better try seafood somewhere in town (not cheap).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PieterdeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The service was excellent.
The hotel staffs can speak good English and inform you where to go, to eat, to see according to your taste and your time.
The room was clean and cosy and the bed really comfortable and soft.
It is close to the main street so it's easy to walk and fine food, drinks, shops,etc
It is located near Matsu Temple, the oldest temple in Taiwan.
You can rent easily a car or a scooter to go around the island but don't forget your international driving licence.
Well everything was great and I would like to thanks M hotel friendly staffs for their kindness and service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jesser_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penghu County hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penghu
Four Points by Sheraton Penghu
#3 of 32 in Penghu County
72 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#1 of 32 in Penghu County
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ever Spring Hotel
Ever Spring Hotel
#5 of 32 in Penghu County
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yaling Hotel
Yaling Hotel
#3 of 10 in Magong
12 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yentai Hotel
Yentai Hotel
#1 of 10 in Magong
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
An-I
An-I
#4 of 10 in Magong
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MF Harbor View Hotel Penghu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MF Harbor View Hotel Penghu

Property: MF Harbor View Hotel Penghu
Address: No.2 Minquan Road, Magong City, Penghu County 880, Taiwan (Formerly MF Harbor View Hotel Penghu)
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Penghu County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Penghu County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MF Harbor View Hotel Penghu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Magong city's city center, MF Hotel offers the ultimate in style to Penghu's traveling elite. Steps from the beautiful Magong harbor, this iconic hotel opened in 1995 and has been updated and re-decorated every year by our design team. MF Hotel's lavish interior combines old tradition with contemporary style and comfort, creating a leisurely spatial combination of guest rooms and dining experience in an unique way, while providing guests' their heart's desire in state-of-the-art comforts unmatched by other hotels in Magong city center. This boutique style hotel is beautifully situated in the heart of the city, where business circle, fisherman wharf, Goddess temple, ancient city gate, and the old military base village are all within walking distance, as well as the main historical site area. Our guests will enjoy not only the southern island aura of Penghu, but also feasted upon a journey of history. In order to make your precious leisure time a cozy, tranquil and relaxing vacation, we offer organized tours for you, such as romantic boat tour of south islets', fishing activities at east islets' tidal flat and exciting water sports at north islets' ...etc. We will bring you a splendid and unforgettable holiday at our sunny island. Besides the richhistory and beautiful sceneries of the islets, our restaurant team, with strictly chosen local ingredients and freshly caught seafood, creates a comfortable and refreshing pied-a-terre after visiting Penghu, the archipelagos scatter over the azure blue Taiwan Strait. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your MF Harbor View Hotel Penghu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing