We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real great place.”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hinxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Siena, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Real great place.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My family and I spend 4 day here, and I can assure that was everything almost perfect. One of the strength of this place is surely the kindness of the people working here. They help us in any issues, question or necessity we had ( travelling with a little baby isn't never easy :-) ).

The meals ( and we had each breakfast, lunch and dinner here, but one lunch ) were really wonderful, and so a good variety of beers.

Finally, I wish to thank all the staff, since we leave early in the morning and the last evening I forgot to tell them how good was our staying. Thanks, guys!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matnamo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    44
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
30
73
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I enjoyed Sunday Lunch today with 4 other family members to celebrate my mother-in-laws 83rd birthday.Meal booked for 1pm,and by 1.15 we were enjoying delightful starters.Drinks were served very promptly with a jug of water on the table upon arrival-a nice touch.In nice time the "mains" were served-piping hot and very generous portions.Locally sourced roast beef sirloin-Burtons of Saffron Walden I was informed by a very polite member of staff.The Suffolk pork was a melt-in-the mouth dish with beautiful veal jus ,seasonal vegetables and fluffy roast potatoes.Pan fried seabass satisfied yet another guest, all followed with a very generous sticky toffee pudding,vanilla pannacotta and nice selection of British cheeses.Total was £152 including a beautifully chilled New Zealand wine.A really enjoyable meal served by charming staff in a very nice "old-fashioned with a modern touch". country Inn.Nick Bailey,Cambridge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

this was a very modern clean hotel, the food was very good nothing was to much trouble, will definitely stay again, would highly recommend it, everywhere was so beautiful and quite, nothing was hurried just moved at a leisurely pace. the stay we had was as a gift from our son, he had stayed there earlier everything he had told us about the hotel and area was better than we expected, i absolutely loved the telephone box library's, when we go again i will take some of my books to put in.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whodunit186332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had visited the Red Lion during a walk a couple of months ago and were struck by its charm. Like a lot of people we checked the reviews on Tripadvisor and thought we would give the restaurant a try. Usual thing, it's the end of a busy week and you just want someone to put a nice, uncomplicated meal in front of you. To cut a long story short, cold plates, frozen chips (not literally !!), presentation left very little to be desired, veg looked like it had been kept warm for a while and the usual unwanted and generic salad garnish. My point is, if they can't get something as 'challenging' as fish and chips right, why would you be enticed by something from the a la carte menu. To sum up, lovely setting but no atmosphere and very mediocre food

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacdoubleU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexClarke, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for coming to visit us - delighted you liked your recce and that you were tempted by our food. I am sorry you did not enjoy our fish & chips - one of our very popular pub classics that we dare not take off the menu. We serve this dish on cold plates because it is served with a salad and delicate dressing that would be ruined by a hot plate - it is always a difficult one when serving a hot dish with a cold salad. I can assure you that our chips are not frozen but hand cut every day and freshly deep fried to order - our chefs will be gutted to hear their labour of love had not been appreciated. I am sorry that the presentation was not up to scratch - this is something that the chefs normally take a lot of pride in.
I completely agree that it is as important to get the classic pub dishes as right as the a la carte. We like to think, and are regularly told that we do both well - sorry that we let you down on this occasion. Please do try us again from either menu and I trust that you will have a good experience (but no fuss).
Thank you for your feedback - we need to be kept on our toes.
kind regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Einbeck, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Being late, we just passed by and see the place. A very friendly young staff member checked out wether the existing reservation are valid or not - and luckly we could get the last room. Even being late, we could get a nice pub dinner and good local beer. The room was modern, clean and with a very suitable bathroom. The breakfast again became a nice moment of our short stay - and again the team was realy attentive.
You will miss something on your tour in Cambridgeshire if you pass by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gisbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Four of us had Sunday lunch recently, two of us who had the roast beef were a little disappointed that it was so tough with a hard edge so we were unable to eat most of it.

The starters and deserts were very good and staff very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexClarke, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for coming to visit us for Sunday lunch. I am glad you enjoyed it overall, particularly the starters, puddings and staff. I am sorry that your beef was a little tough. We have had a couple of issues on this front now so are very excited to have moved to a new local butcher who is coming up trumps.
Thank you for your feedback which is always valued
yours sincerely
Alex Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Red Lion, Hinxton, was a complete and utter delight, old world charm of the pub, modern mews looking type rooms,
lovely menu and the best of all most of the menu could be adapted to G/F.
We travelled from North Wales to attend Duxford IWM, it was great to be able to see the planes from the pub garden too. Will recommend it too all our friends and relations

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolMcI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinxton
1.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.2 mi away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 32 High Street, Hinxton CB10 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Hinxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hinxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-award winning (Freehouse, Gastro Food and Accommodation Pub of the Year finalist at The Publican Awards) Classic 16th Century Grade II listed Freehouse in a tiny conservation village, sitting in a walled garden overlooked by a dovecote and the village church. Beamed ceilings, log fires, four cask ales, well known restaurant (AA Rosette, Local Secrets top place to eat and drink in the south of Cambridge 2008 award, Alastair Sawday, Good Pub, Good Beer & Good Food Guides, "top 50 pub garden in the country") - oak raftered traditional dry peg construction. Eight new-build double ensuites, direct dial telephone, free internet access (modem and wireless), 4 AA stars. New sister pub - The Black Bull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn Hinxton Hotel Hinxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing