We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hinxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable weekend break”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Red Lion Inn for 2 nights whilst attending our Son's graduation in Cambridge. Lovely country pub, much nicer than staying in a city centre hotel. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, great shower! We didn't have any meals at the pub, apart from breakfast, which was most enjoyable.

The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

An added bonus for my Dad was seeing the aircraft from Duxford! Will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    43
    33
    17
    6
See reviews for
30
70
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Excellent food and friendly service. Tasty well cooked homemade pies, a real winner. A pleasant change to have hot food on hot plates. Good accommodation away from any noise. A rare part of old England. Look forward to next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in The T.R.L.I for Duxford airshow. However, the airshow was not all.
Villages(Hinxton, Ickleton, Duxford) are old but very pretty, fresh air, rabbits, ivy... everything was impressive.
Room was very neat and clean, of course. Every morning we had Cocoa that was deep and sweet.
This was my first overseas trip. The Red Lion Inn Hinxston left us with happy memories.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hk k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We visited last week on the Cambridge News "Dine out for £10" deal. We hadn't booked but they kindly accommodated us anyway. Limited menu of starter and main course (which we expected) but the food was tasty and portions plentiful. We added one dessert and 4 drinks (2 soft) to our £20 bill so we still ended up paying nearly £50, but a very nice meal nonetheless. It's an old, quaint pub which has been tastefully extended, serving good food in a very pretty village.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddy551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandybie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay.The room was very clean and had all the conveniences that we needed. The food was excellent and real ales in very good condition. All the staff were courteous friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The Old Speckled Hen was great and near the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Been to the Red Lion for numerous years and recommended it to many but would no longer do so as we feel the standard has dropped considerably over the past couple of years.
Ate there yesterday and so much has changed; No front of house charisma, very abbreviated menu, insufficient kitchen staff so really long wait (one hour) for the main course and only a sugary sweet "we are so sorry, I'll let chef know you've missed your train".
Just not good enough at these prices and with the supposedly high ratings.
Time for the owners to take heed, many other local hostelry's overtaking,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a great meal here over the bank holiday weekend. Vast menu, friendly staff and a lovely beer garden. I had the home made burger which was excellent and my wife had the fish and chips which again was very good. The children's menu has lots of variation too and both of ours eat everything. I would have given a 5 out of 5 but I did feel that it was a tiny bit expensive. The bill was £50 and considering we were on soft drinks I thought it was a bit too much.

I will be eating here again though as the food was spot on!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevIn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinxton
1.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
301 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
242 reviews
1.2 mi away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
221 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 32 High Street, Hinxton CB10 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Hinxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hinxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-award winning (Freehouse, Gastro Food and Accommodation Pub of the Year finalist at The Publican Awards) Classic 16th Century Grade II listed Freehouse in a tiny conservation village, sitting in a walled garden overlooked by a dovecote and the village church. Beamed ceilings, log fires, four cask ales, well known restaurant (AA Rosette, Local Secrets top place to eat and drink in the south of Cambridge 2008 award, Alastair Sawday, Good Pub, Good Beer & Good Food Guides, "top 50 pub garden in the country") - oak raftered traditional dry peg construction. Eight new-build double ensuites, direct dial telephone, free internet access (modem and wireless), 4 AA stars. New sister pub - The Black Bull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn Hinxton Hotel Hinxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing