We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful pub hotel”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hinxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is an very nice hotel in the small village of Hinxton in the middle of England's countryside. Hinxton is close to the Imperial Air Museum in Duxford and Cambridge and the M11. Behind the old pub there are several reasonably equipped rooms in a recently built terrace house, all rooms with direct access from the garden. In the room there were two separate good beds and a nice bathroom. The walls were a bit thin, so some noises could be heard from next door. The pub garden was nice and well maintained.

The dinner and breakfast were both very good and served in the pub restaurant. Why go further when such good food is available on site. The room plus breakfast cost GBP 90/night which was reasonable for what I received. Good parking was available in the rear.

Room Tip: Enjoy the good pub dinner and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoBonanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and we couldn't have chosen a nicer place. The staff were excellent, the room was exceptionally sited, with views over the dove-cote, garden and Inn, very clean and fresh looking. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in when away from home with a marvellous walk in shower.
When away from home we usually eat at different places each evening, but after our first evening meal, we ate here every evening!! Good choice of food, well presented and although a little on the high side price wise, worth every penny. There was a good wine list and a selection of well kept beers which my husband could indulge in as we did not have to drive. Good plus point.
The breakfast was very good, a large choice of food, all prepared to order. The waiting staff were courteous and very attentive. All in all a lovely break and a place we can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: If you require just a shower try for room 8 as it has a huge walk in shower, is accessible for less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed for 5 nights and really enjoyed myself. The breakfasts were great, evening meals even better. The bar and resteraunt staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. And the room had everything you would need. Lovely village location and full of character. If I was coming back to the area I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris555b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were there for a family wedding and the Red Lion was close to the venue. Although the Red Lion was our second choice, our first was fully booked, we were delighted with our second choice!
We had a lovely lunch there before heading off to the wedding, a delightful nights stay and a fabulous breakfast on the Sunday morning. Our 3 rooms although decorated in a similar style each had there there own individuality. Everyone of the staff were extremely helpful and kind, we really couldn't find any faults at all!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mj_hinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Quite a local for us; we have been coming here for years. The food is always sublime and the puddings to die for!
What impresses me the most is that the staff are well trained if you are not able to consume gluten. Case in point, with a dear friend. She was able to enjoy fish and chips for the first time in years and left very, very content.
The Sunday roast is a must, but please book ahead. They get very busy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JWandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

So good we are returning soon. Breakfast was superb, we didn't manage dinner this time but are certainly going to have dinner on our next visit which is soon. Bedroom was spotless and the bathroom too and lovely garden with table and chairs to sit and have a beer or two.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jotblack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The Red Lion is a little off the beaten track but well worth a visit. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable and the pub looks great although I didn't eat there but did enjoy a couple of pints. All the staff were friendly and very accommodating.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinxton
1.5 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
1.2 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
9.5 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
268 reviews
1.3 mi away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 32 High Street, Hinxton CB10 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Hinxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hinxton
Price Range: £150 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-award winning (Freehouse, Gastro Food and Accommodation Pub of the Year finalist at The Publican Awards) Classic 16th Century Grade II listed Freehouse in a tiny conservation village, sitting in a walled garden overlooked by a dovecote and the village church. Beamed ceilings, log fires, four cask ales, well known restaurant (AA Rosette, Local Secrets top place to eat and drink in the south of Cambridge 2008 award, Alastair Sawday, Good Pub, Good Beer & Good Food Guides, "top 50 pub garden in the country") - oak raftered traditional dry peg construction. Eight new-build double ensuites, direct dial telephone, free internet access (modem and wireless), 4 AA stars. New sister pub - The Black Bull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn Hinxton Hotel Hinxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing