We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
284
208
75
41
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
208
75
41
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in advance pizza ski area ski lift lounge skiing children snow
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed for 5 Nights , breakfrest was good but dinner was very bad , we hade to drive in to abetone town to eat dinner ón other hotels or restaurant , about spa area is okay we paid for adult time from 17-20 but very sad we have to pay for it in the morning time 10 -? When you have kids with you ,roms was clean but very Dark DÓ not expeded the same room as the home site fotos , very disapointed

Date of stay: March 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank kynde77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

First of all: before going to Abetone check you have the chains for tires!!!
And check it twice before going to Val di Luce.

The Valley fo Light is a relatively remote place. It is not exactly Abetone (it is not even Toscana, after you pass Abetone you will see the sign of Reggio Emilio). It is located 7 kms further up the hills. And it is here the road literally ends. Further on are only slopes. So for those of you who need some night life chains will do a lot of good traveling to and from The Valley down to Abetone.
We were extremely lucky to climb this road without chains. We reached the hotel only because we did not stop anywhere. A second pause before the hotel parking entrance was fatal. The tires were too sleek to move some 10 meters and I have to wait for help and pushed the car up the road. In order to avoid such mishaps I turned and parked the car facing downhill, and left it there for 3 days. So when we went home we simply rolled slowly down to the mount foot. Chains, chains, chains.

If you do not go to Abetone you have one, the best and the only Kokito bar (for local staff mostly) where you can a pizza and some alcohol for reasonable price. Plastic furniture, you know...
There is a food store if you need something extra. Open hours are not too long. Read the timetable if you do not want to walk 7 km down to civilization. The hotel staff will bring you to the shop in golf cart with studded tires))) Looks awesome. Actually the same cart brings you to the ski equipment rentals. Prices are higher than those advertised at Abetone. Well, you pay for being close to the mountains.

As for the hotel itself. It is almost worth the money you pay. I would say that the only flaw is location. And it is the flaw for those needing nightlife. For others it is a perfect place for skiing and hiking (in summer). The rooms are very nice, tidy and clean. Wonderful view from any room to the surrounding mountains. The hotel is like a big wooden chalet with wooden blinds and balconies. Very charming.

Fantastic pool covered with glass pyramid as a roof. It is really calming to soak in jacuzzi area of the pool and watch the snowflakes falling down. Yes, it is 20 Euro per person. But, it is for the whole day long, two baths (sauna and Turkish), indoor and open air pools, and drinks are unlimited. I believe it is fair.

The breakfast was decent, no complaints whatsoever. The dinner was definitely overpriced (if you do not want to pay Euro 75 for dinner for two go to Kokito, or put chains and drive to Abetone).

What is extremely important it is only 200 meters to the ski lift. You can walk this distance in ski boots and do not risk to die. It is great advantage. Hotel provides storage lockers for ski equipment so you do not have to carry ski up into your room.
Slopes are for differently skilled. We were beginners so we needed a coach (they are not too many and of different coaching skills, so ask for Carlo). It was very amusing to start the first morning as totally unable to ski and by the end of third day to ski and enjoy it!
Slopes are interconnected. Ski passes are priced depending on your wish to ski in Val di Luce only or the whole Abetone area.

Personnel are extremely friendly.

Overall impression was very positive indeed.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikhailOrlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Charming resort in the small ski area near Abetone mountain, excellent for families and spa-lovers. I'm here right now with my family and our dog Molly, this is one of the few resorts that welcomes pets, too. The food is great and staff are accommodating and courteous. Though not located right on the slopes or in a big town, the outdoors is still breathtaking and peaceful. I did a three-hour spa extravaganza yesterday and it is 15 euros and you can wade through the sauna, Turkish bath, jacuzzi, and outdoor heated pool. I'm having my massage today, so check back for comments on that :) If you're looking for somewhere nice to stay with your family and friends for a ski week or weekend in Tuscany, keep the Val di Luce Spa Resort in mind.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieInTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

much needed in the tuscany area!!! excellent.
very nice spa, excellent service. care takers for kids.
close to the slopes.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel looks great and the rooms and general areas are good. However you are charged 20 euros to use their pool. The food is awful!!!! You expect in Italy to have good tasty food. It is awful, cold, tasteless, no fresh vegetables or fruit. Service is very poor too.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews