We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem in Val di Luce”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Val di Luce SPA Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Abetone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel Val di Luce is a very quaint 4 star hotel located in Val di Luce, Tuscany, Italy. Situated a mere 200 metres from the slopes which can be accessed by foot or by using the hotel's complimentary golf kart service. Super for families and for those who which to enjoy the silence and beauty of the Tuscan ski slopes. The staff most cordial in every way. The dining and also the lounge areas have a wonderful warm cosy ambience which is most welcome on a cold and chilly day and a lovely open fire place in the sitting room and the bedrooms. Dinner is excellent for those who have a pallet which loves to indulge in a variety of flavours and textures. Breakfast is a typical Italian breakfast, however, I am convinced that some home baked cakes and warm strudel would be most welcome and would be an asset to the breakfast buffet. Lovely small spa with all the facilities one needs. For those who are seeking some peace and quiet, the hotel val di Luce is the ideal location. Highly recommended and definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed for 5 Nights , breakfrest was good but dinner was very bad , we hade to drive in to abetone town to eat dinner ón other hotels or restaurant , about spa area is okay we paid for adult time from 17-20 but very sad we have to pay for it in the morning time 10 -? When you have kids with you ,roms was clean but very Dark DÓ not expeded the same room as the home site fotos , very disapointed

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank kynde77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

First of all: before going to Abetone check you have the chains for tires!!!
And check it twice before going to Val di Luce.

The Valley fo Light is a relatively remote place. It is not exactly Abetone (it is not even Toscana, after you pass Abetone you will see the sign of Reggio Emilio). It is located 7 kms further up the hills. And it is here the road literally ends. Further on are only slopes. So for those of you who need some night life chains will do a lot of good traveling to and from The Valley down to Abetone.
We were extremely lucky to climb this road without chains. We reached the hotel only because we did not stop anywhere. A second pause before the hotel parking entrance was fatal. The tires were too sleek to move some 10 meters and I have to wait for help and pushed the car up the road. In order to avoid such mishaps I turned and parked the car facing downhill, and left it there for 3 days. So when we went home we simply rolled slowly down to the mount foot. Chains, chains, chains.

If you do not go to Abetone you have one, the best and the only Kokito bar (for local staff mostly) where you can a pizza and some alcohol for reasonable price. Plastic furniture, you know...
There is a food store if you need something extra. Open hours are not too long. Read the timetable if you do not want to walk 7 km down to civilization. The hotel staff will bring you to the shop in golf cart with studded tires))) Looks awesome. Actually the same cart brings you to the ski equipment rentals. Prices are higher than those advertised at Abetone. Well, you pay for being close to the mountains.

As for the hotel itself. It is almost worth the money you pay. I would say that the only flaw is location. And it is the flaw for those needing nightlife. For others it is a perfect place for skiing and hiking (in summer). The rooms are very nice, tidy and clean. Wonderful view from any room to the surrounding mountains. The hotel is like a big wooden chalet with wooden blinds and balconies. Very charming.

Fantastic pool covered with glass pyramid as a roof. It is really calming to soak in jacuzzi area of the pool and watch the snowflakes falling down. Yes, it is 20 Euro per person. But, it is for the whole day long, two baths (sauna and Turkish), indoor and open air pools, and drinks are unlimited. I believe it is fair.

The breakfast was decent, no complaints whatsoever. The dinner was definitely overpriced (if you do not want to pay Euro 75 for dinner for two go to Kokito, or put chains and drive to Abetone).

What is extremely important it is only 200 meters to the ski lift. You can walk this distance in ski boots and do not risk to die. It is great advantage. Hotel provides storage lockers for ski equipment so you do not have to carry ski up into your room.
Slopes are for differently skilled. We were beginners so we needed a coach (they are not too many and of different coaching skills, so ask for Carlo). It was very amusing to start the first morning as totally unable to ski and by the end of third day to ski and enjoy it!
Slopes are interconnected. Ski passes are priced depending on your wish to ski in Val di Luce only or the whole Abetone area.

Personnel are extremely friendly.

Overall impression was very positive indeed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikhailOrlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Charming resort in the small ski area near Abetone mountain, excellent for families and spa-lovers. I'm here right now with my family and our dog Molly, this is one of the few resorts that welcomes pets, too. The food is great and staff are accommodating and courteous. Though not located right on the slopes or in a big town, the outdoors is still breathtaking and peaceful. I did a three-hour spa extravaganza yesterday and it is 15 euros and you can wade through the sauna, Turkish bath, jacuzzi, and outdoor heated pool. I'm having my massage today, so check back for comments on that :) If you're looking for somewhere nice to stay with your family and friends for a ski week or weekend in Tuscany, keep the Val di Luce Spa Resort in mind.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

much needed in the tuscany area!!! excellent.
very nice spa, excellent service. care takers for kids.
close to the slopes.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel looks great and the rooms and general areas are good. However you are charged 20 euros to use their pool. The food is awful!!!! You expect in Italy to have good tasty food. It is awful, cold, tasteless, no fresh vegetables or fruit. Service is very poor too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Martino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abetone
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abetone Piramidi
Hotel Abetone Piramidi
#5 of 6 in Abetone
150 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#1 of 6 in Abetone
143 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Boscolungo
Residence Boscolungo
#6 of 6 in Abetone
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Da Tosca
Da Tosca
#4 of 6 in Abetone
95 reviews
8.6 mi away
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Re...
#1 of 1 in Castelvecchio Pascoli
1,177 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#3 of 6 in Abetone
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val di Luce SPA Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val di Luce SPA Resort

Address: Via Val di Luce 22, 51021 Abetone, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Abetone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Abetone
#4 Family Hotel in Abetone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Abetone
Price Range: £86 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Val di Luce SPA Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Val di Luce Spa Resort is in the heart of the high altitude natural environment of the Apennines. It is the ideal place to spend a holiday spoiling yourself in a refined setting with everything you might need.In this modern, elegant facility, you can get back into top shape. Let yourself be pampered and showered with treatments, giving you fresh energy and balance at any time of year. Words cannot describe our trademark warm welcome and outstanding service, but you can experience them for yourselves during a delightful stay in our resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Val di Luce SPA Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Val Di Luce Hotel Abetone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing