We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has got to be the best hostel that i have ever stayed in! Fautless!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
5 Terre Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This has got to be the best hostel that i have ever stayed in! Fautless!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Despite being away from the hustle bustle of the main tourist area, i still struggle to fault the location. Being up in the mountains and being able to dine, fall asleep and wake up to such picturesque views was incredible. The free shuttle that ran 4 times a day (twice in the morning and twice in the evening) taking us down to Monterosso allowed us to both live like a tourist by day down in the towns and a local by night up in the mountains.The hostel itself is very impressive; cosy like a home but also very chic and incredibly clean, like a highly rated hotel. The host, Francesco is by far the warmest and most welcoming Italian I have come across in my travels around Italy. His hospitality does not stop at the complimentary glass of wine (or a can of coke for those who cant handle their drink like myself) upon arrival, but lasts up to the very last hug goodbye. His amazing cooking skills and easy going nature made us as guests feel as though we were part of an Italian family. I honestly had such an incredible time at this hostel and have been ranting about it to those at home ever since! Most definitely can not to wait to return!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The view from the quiet hill top town is breathtaking. I appreciated the silence after being in the loud and bustling Cinque Terre. Francesco really cares about what he is doing and cares about his guests. If your looking for some calm after the storm, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night but WISHED we'd booked more! The hostel is a drive away up in the more secluded area of Cinque Terre, in a quiet village with an AMAZING view! (you get picked up by staff and dropped off to and from Monterosso). The hotel owner Francesco made us very welcome with a free glass of wine when we arrived, and he cooked us a delicious meal for dinner with desert! He has done some travelling himself which I think gave him a good idea on what a good hostel really is, as he got us all socialisig with no pressure. He served dinner in the wifi zone / terrace area at 8pm, and all the guests eat together, meaning you meet some really interesting people! The rooms were clean and comfy beds, lockers, modern bathroom, friendly staff. Would 100% recommend to anyone who is in the Cinque Terre/La Spezia area!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This hostel has such a great set up!
Francesco is such an awesome guy! His hard work is definitely apparent in every aspect of this stay. Location is breathtaking with the views that you get from the common area.
Can't fault & will be back.
Thank you so much!!
Love the Aussies, Shay & Laura!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shayden G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This place is the perfect environment to meet new people. Francesco provides amazing dinners and everyone eats together so you can chat to everyone at the hostel. 5 Terre Backpackers has a great atmosphere, it was nice that it was a bit more secluded and away from the tourist area. The shuttle bus makes it easy to get to the main centre during the day but it was good that everyone came back to the hostel in the evening to hang out and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Would definitely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma-louise-aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

5 Terre Backpackers was hands-down the best hostel I have ever stayed at (and I've stayed at many). Francesco, the owner, and his staff are all wonderful people and so helpful and friendly. While this hostel is not located in one of the Cinque Terre Towns, there is a free shuttle that takes you to Riomaggiore in the morning and picks you up in the evening. The drive through the winding roads is beautiful, and there is a nice patio area with amazing views of the mountains. The facilities were very clean and modern, with nice beds and bathrooms. Francesco cooks dinner for 10 euro a person every night, and the food is amazing. Everyone eats together family-style, and it is a great way to meet people. The hostel only has around 20-25 beds, so there is a very welcoming and family atmosphere. Francesco is very attentive to everyone's needs and passionate about his job. Staying at this hostel for four nights is one of the main reasons my stay in Cinque Terre was amazing, and I will definitely be returning to 5 Terre Backpackers. If you can, definitely book a room here. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pab2492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place is hands down magical! An amazing host who welcomes you in like family and creates the most wonderful atmosphere. The hostel itself is clean, modern, and so comfortable. But moreover, you feel at home. The host (Francesco) cooks amazing family style meals where everyone sits around drinking wine, eating, and talking about the day's adventures. While some might worry about the location-- Do not!! It is a wonderful way to see the beautiful costal mountains, and is so relaxing after a day spent at the beach (if anything it is nice to get away). There is a free shuttle to and from, offering total peace of mind. A MUST DO if you are traveling to Cinque Terre, or even an excuse to go to Cinque Terre just so you can stay here. Cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnolia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corvara
0.0 mi away
Hotel Paese Corvara
Hotel Paese Corvara
#1 of 2 in Corvara
178 reviews
3.9 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
187 reviews
4.9 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#10 of 11 in Riomaggiore
132 reviews
5.0 mi away
Alla Marina
Alla Marina
#1 of 33 in Riomaggiore
494 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ostello Tramonti
Ostello Tramonti
#6 of 68 in La Spezia
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5 Terre Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Terre Backpackers

Property: 5 Terre Backpackers
Address: Via San Michele 5, 19020 Corvara, Beverino, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Beverino > Corvara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Corvara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 5 Terre Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing