We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous family holiday”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Lena, Lars, Robert and all the staff at Venabu made sure we all had an amazing first trip to Norway to experience cross country skiing. We were a big family group ranging in age from 5 - 70 with a variety of skiing experience amongst us and we all had a great holiday. The location of the hotel was ideal for the beginners as well as more experienced skiers, beautiful location and amazing snow. The training and guided tours we had with Robert, Richard and Wenche was first rate. The hotel is clean, comfortable and we enjoyed the relaxed evenings accompanied by the delightful chap on the piano as we played games and chatted in the lounge area. The food is wonderful and plentiful - great quality and with lots of choice, there was something for everyone from the picky 5 year old to the hard to please foodies in our group. The sauna, pool table, table tennis, pancake house trip and in particular the husky ride were all favourites. We cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeDelamere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenabuFjellhotell, Front Office Manager at Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review, we are very happy to hear that you had a nice stay.
Welcome back to Venabu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    18
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
36
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We loved it so much at Christmas that we hope to squeeze in a week of ski safari between work commitments in March. This is a great base for ski-ing, with magical mountain scenery within easy range for a day's exploration, and lots of tours for all level of experience. Rob and Wenche are excellent instructors and guides, with endless patience and a genuine interest in developing your ski technique and confidence..

The food is really excellent, fresh every day and loads of choice, exactly what you need when your appetite goes into overdrive after all that fresh air. And everyone makes you feel very welcome - there is a very personal and homely atmosphere, where people truly care that you enjoy yourself on holiday.

Room Tip: West wing rooms are worth the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleandJohn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenabuFjellhotell, Public Relations Manager at Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for a nice review! We hope that you are able to come again, and join our skisafari in March :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I've spent a lot of time at Venabu through the last decade or so. This autumn I've spent three weekends there.

There are a two main reasons why I go:

First I've got to know the staff very well and they truly treat me like family. Lars is always excited to see us and we usually have dinner with him and Halldis during the stay. Line is set to take over managing the hotel and it's exciting to talk to her about the ideas for the next few years. Karl Thomas has become a very good personal friend. Michael, the musician has played there since my first visit to Venabu and we discuss hikes and more. It's funny how you're on first name with Hjalmar, Justyna and the others within a day or two.

Second, the nature is great, diverse and always changing. From the dining room you see the Rondane mountains, last time they had a bridal wail of snow whilst the lower areas were dressed in colorful green, yellow and red. I've hiked most of the mountains around, but the gorges like Dørjuvet is the place I always go back to. It's such a wonder with the canyon appearing from the flat terrain carved by the glaciers long time ago. We also had a wonderful encounter with about 100 reindeer behind Gråvorden while out hiking.

I really recommend trying it out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the west wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erlend E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Great, comfortable base for a cross country ski trip. Rooms are basic with plentiful hot water and fantastic beds and there are his n' hers saunas in the evenings. Food is buffet style; salads, cold meats and fish; hot meat, fish and veggie; cheese and always a great selection of homemade puddings and fruit as well as fresh baked breads. Lars and Halldis and their staff are genuinely welcoming, friendly and enthusiastic at sharing their local knowledge with the guests. The ski guiding and tuition from Robert, Wenche and the team is expertly done, coaxing and stretching boundaries at the right times. A good value base in what can be an eye-wateringly expensive country, just don't expect Alpine style apres ski!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MepLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have stayed at the this hotel twice now and both times it was excellent in every way. The oweners go out of their way to make sure you feel at home and they think of everything to make your stay wonderful. The food was excellent and had incredible choice - I don't know how they do it and consistently produce amazing dishes. The skiing is second to none there are so many different types of trails and the snow is perfect. The organised guides are fantastic and it is easy enough to navigate to go out on your own. But it is the owners that make the stay truely special. I was there for Christmas last year and they went out of thier way to make you feel like family. I will be going back again and again. It's great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have just spent a very enjoyable week at the Venabu Fjellhotell. This was the first cross-country ski trip we've ever done and the hotel and its guides did everything possible to make us welcome and give us the confidence to explore the numerous trails.
The food in the hotel is excellent with plenty of Norwegian specialities on offer, especially the Norwegian buffet evening on the Wednesday. On those days when you are not back in time for lunch you are able to pack up sandwiches at breakfast and if you leave your flask on reception at night they fill it with your choice of hot drink ready for the next day.
The rooms/bathrooms are small and basic but perfectly adequate for the amount of time you spend in them. The hotel had a large lounge where you could sit and socialise and help yourself to tea and coffee throughout the day.
We'll be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_Linda04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reeuwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

A winter paradise. The hotel has clean nice rooms, absolutely excellent buffet dinners, and a good breakfast. A personal friendly service, good facilities for waxing ones skis, advice on what trips to make, and guided tours. The area offers splendid views on the many trails that are well prepared, and cross country options are plentiful. One feels welcome. family, but very professionally, run. Not too big, not too posh, just the right size.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjk94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringebu Municipality
1.5 mi away
Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
16.9 mi away
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
#1 of 3 in Vinstra
92 reviews
11.0 mi away
Gudbrandsgard Hotell
Gudbrandsgard Hotell
#4 of 4 in Ringebu Municipality
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Rondablikk
Hotel Rondablikk
#3 of 3 in Kvam
50 reviews
20.6 mi away
Thon Hotel Otta
Thon Hotel Otta
#1 of 2 in Otta
76 reviews
14.8 mi away
Per Gynt Lodge
Per Gynt Lodge
#1 of 3 in Vinstra
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter

Property: Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
Address: Venabu Fjellhotell | Rondevegen 860, 2632, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Ringebu Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ringebu Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel in the mountains Venabu fjellhotell is situated centrally on the Venabygdsfjellet mountain plateau, south of Rondane National Park. This special mountain area offers fine experiences in nature, across the plateau, in its lakes & streams, waterfalls & mountain tops stretching towards 1500m asl. Venabu is built in several stages in Norwegian architectural style with light & airy rooms throughout. There are 56 bedrooms with shower, WC & telephone. 6 Of the rooms are suitable for wheelchair users. We also have high standard holiday cabins for rent. Peaceful & relaxed atmosphere throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venabu Fjellhotell Og Hytter Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing