We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for skiing and winter sports”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gudbrandsgard Hotell
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We travelled in a Family-group of 15 and stayed for Easter. The two of us stayed in one of the suites. The room is spacious and comes with balcony and a separate bedroom. The interior is more of a "cabin-style" and cosy. The hotel offers swimming pool and Jacuzzi in the basement. This is excellent when travelling with youngsters. They love the pool-area. First night in the dining room they had only prepared 9 chairs for the 15 of us, but after some time they managed to get us all seated.
They were very polite and excused themselves, and guaranteed us that for the rest of our stay we will have enough space in the dining room for all meals. They kept their promise there and the dining room staff were extremely friendly, no matter what requests they received.
The hotel offers ski-in/out to fantastic prepared slopes including the Olympic downhill from 94.
Perfect hotel and location. Can absolutely be recommended!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwayPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

The hotel is very cozy and comfortable!
We were staying for 6 nights since 30 december.
The room is not so big, but very comfy and nice. We liked very much breakfast: delicious salmon; a lot of warm dishes (omlet, bacon, fried potatoes with some meat), a lot of choice of cheese and ham, coffee, croissants.
There are a nice a swimming pool and a jacuzzi in the hotel. Last our two days the temperature was not so warm in the pool and the jaccuzzi. There is a sauna in the hotel. But the hotel has one type of the sauna. And in the sauna wasn't always hot.
The hotel is in wonderful place! Surroundings are only fir-trees covered the snow! It was like in a fairytale!
The hotel offers ski in - ski out - it is very convinient.
The restaurant is good, but expensive.
I really recomend this hotel for skiing and relax in beutiful nature!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We booked this hotel as we wanted good quality combined with good skiing-facilities without the hazzle of using the car to get to and from the lifts. We are a family with two children ( 5 and 11 ) so we therefore booked two standard double-rooms with co
nnecting door. We had accomodation with halfboard (dinner) . The food was absolutely fantastic. I don't think we have ever eaten better in a hotel restaurant in Norway. Being a couple working as airline-crew we have quite some alternatives to compare with and the food was way above expected...however it was a bit to small portions for a grown up man. One slice of tiny trout is not enough for fish as a main-course. We commented it and was instantly offered more. The wine list was impressive but far too expensive. NOK 500,- (65 euros or more) for a bottle of average red-wine is too expensive but unfortunately quite common in Norway.
We travelled with children during the winter school-vacation and we were a little bit disappointed that the hotel had no activites what so ever for children. They had looked forward to swim in the inside pool, but the water was freezing cold so they stayed in the jacuzzi most of the time.
Service was in general good in the hotel. Friendly, nothing extra, but ok. ¨
The only very poor thing we experinced at Gudbrandsgard was that a pair of ski-poles were stolen from us in the "Ski-stall" at the hotel. This area was locked during the night, but somebody managed to steal them anyhow. We reported it at the reception, and they had no solution or excuse for it. Our advice is to keep as much ski-equipment in your room or inside your car as possible. It can be stolen, as we were proven were the case at Gudbrandsgard.
Kvitfjell as a ski-resort is perfect for good to advanced skiers. Beginners should choose Trysil or Geilo as Kvitfjell only offers advanced pists. A green piste in Kvitfjell would be blue or black in Trysil.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Frank Hagen: It is really a wonderful hotel. I travel alot, so there is no better place than home, but this hotel is different. The moment I walked in first, I felt a warm, welcoming and peaceful athmosphere. The open built log architecture calmes my mind. Perfect for holiday and convention. It´s location at high elevation gives convention participants the focus on the event, since only mother nature would be of distraction.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank nature-addiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Stayed at Gudbrandsgard hotel with my family last winter and had a splendid stay. The hotel is very cozy and has a very special atmosphere. Rooms are clean and nice, excellent food and the spa is top notch. We have stayed at a number of the five star resorts in the Alps. Gudbrandsgaard can compete against most all of them and has a lot in common with the Riffelalp 2222 in Zermatt. As the Riffelalp, Gudbrandsgard is situated in the middle of the slopes. However, you can drive your car right to the door.

Skiing in the area is not enormous, but upscale and of very high quality. With some steep hills and total lack of lines in the lifts, we made more than 10000 vertical meters in a day! We also made a lot of cross country skiing.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stabek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank kristian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringebu Municipality
11 mi away
Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
20 mi away
Scandic Hafjell
Scandic Hafjell
#1 of 5 in Oyer Municipality
495 reviews
12.5 mi away
Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Thon Skeikampen Resort
Thon Skeikampen Resort
#1 of 1 in Svingvoll
121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kvitfjell Hotel
Kvitfjell Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ringebu Municipality
49 reviews
4.5 mi away
Frya Leir Motel
Frya Leir Motel
#3 of 6 in Ringebu Municipality
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gudbrandsgard Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gudbrandsgard Hotell

Address: Kvitfjell Mellomstasjon, 2634, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Ringebu Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ringebu Municipality
Price Range: £101 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gudbrandsgard Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gudbrandsgard Hyttegrend is located at the mid station (Mellomstasjonen) is lying close to Kvitfjell Hotel. We have 5 cottages and 6 apartments which are build as traditional Norwegian cottages the 5 cottages have a nice fireplace. From here you can put your skies on are slide into the slopes The cottage is 120 sqm with 8-10 bedplaces divided in 4 bedrooms. One with a double bed and one with a family bunkbed. Two tiled bathrooms with heatingcables, wellequipped kitchen with dishwasher, cable-TV and a booth. The apartments for 4-5 people are 60 sqm, two bedrooms and one bathroom with underfloor heating, the kitchen is open-plan kitchen/living room equipped with dishwasher and oven. The livingroom has a cable TV. Access to ski stable. Within a few minutes walk you can among others reach the crocery, pizzeria, restaurants and a sportshop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gudbrandsgard Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gudbrandsgard Hotell Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing