We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to the moaners”
Review of Hotel Jagerhaus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langenau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Jagerhaus
Ranked #1 of 4 Langenau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wary of all the adverse comments we were expecting the worst but it didn't happen. Clean and comfortable with good coffee (which means a lot) and adequate breakfasts. Food in evenings four courses with good soup, salad and a main course unexciting but OK.

One unsmiling owner doesn't ruin the experience especially if you are expecting it and rest of staff fine including hilarious waiter. Wine is also OK for a free one and there is never a problem with beer in Bavaria. Enjoy it as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alfred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jagerhaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

What could have been a pleasant quiet holiday was spoilt by the owner of this hotel and her objectionable son.We should have been forewarned of the attitude by the coach drivers comments before we arrived " I won`t have anything said about Margeret ( the owner) she is really a sweet person". She was the most grumpy person I have ever met in position which normally requires personality. Everything was too much trouble, and her son was arrogant and an overbearing know all.It explained why the coach driver"Sue" felt the need to make excuses for them before we even set foot in the place.
The food was tolerable but sparse, the packed lunch was repetitive and indigestible, even the ducks on the pond turned away from the bread!!
as for the all inclusive bar in the evening, Ok for first drinks then the bar was deliberately left unnattended for long periods i assume to discourage guests from drinking too much. Unless of course Margerets German friends were in then she sat with them and glared sourly if you interrupted her conversation to request a drink.
Never again!!

Room Tip: find another hotel!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here as part of a Treyn Bavarian holiday. This hotel deserves a 5 rating on tripadvisor if it was not for the owner Margaret. OK she does not speak English and why should she but smiles and attentiveness are a universal language. But she reserved these for locals and German visitors. That said the rest of the staff and her Son where excellent. The rooms were above other 3 star hotels I have stayed in and the meals were fine. Breakfast in particular was good and the organised barbeque at the end of the week was really good. So if you stay there ignore the owner and embrace the quality of the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

If ever a regime change was desperately needed, this has to be it. What has the potential to be a really good hotel is undermined by the irritable and grumpy management. The overal standard of the premises has much to recommend it with modern comfortable rooms, pleasant dining area and separate traditional bar. The food quality was of an acceptable standard but there was little choice or variation on the daily menus. Its location of 10 minutes walk to the station is convenient whilst the town of Langenau is quiet albeit unexciting. Given such positives why would any owner not want to encourage and embrace as much custom as available ?

Room Tip: Rooms in the most modern wing are excellent
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Recently returned from a shearings holiday at this hotel. We were lucky to have a large room, spotlessly clean. Only downside was the shower curtain which wrapped itself around you. The food was very good and plenty of it. We found the staff very pleasant, Margaret a bit dour , but if you tried you could get a smile from her. The trip was made special by our driver Sue, so much knowledge and always cheerful with her 'chicks'. Well done Sue a credit to Shearings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A clean, comfortable hotel. Rooms were immaculate. Evening meal was excellent but breakfast some days was very basic. We were with Shearings all inclusive deal but when using the bar felt as if they were giving us our drinks very begrudgingly. We were served using the same glass every time (which I have never known before in Germany) and when asking for a fresh glass (which I did quite often) was greeted with an ignorant grunt and shrug of the shoulders. To round up, Langenau is lovely place, hotel good, food good. But the owners very very inhospitable almost to the point of ignorance, not a smile or a greeting. 11pm - Margarete, without even a good night, would just leave and go to bed. If you rung the bell for another, Andrew would appear and 'take it away' lol. No music, just one big cold room. Luckily, we had some great characters on the coach and our driver was one of (if not the) the best we've ever travelled with. Certainly will not stay at this place again. Glad to say, it is not typical German/Bavarian. The reason I mark the overall rating as 2 is for the inhospitable and cold way we were treated.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kes29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Have just returned from a Shearings All Inclusive stay at this hotel. On arrival, much the same as any other. Hotel appearance is very good, and the welcome seems like any other, but don,t be misguided. The rooms are adequately comfortable and the meals are very good, as is the waiter service, but beyond that things tend to slip. Being All Inclusive free drinks could be obtained between 7 and 11 pm., and at 11pm Margerete would ring the bell, turn out any lights not needed and go to bed, without any regard that some would have had more to drink and willingly pay. There is no interaction with any locals and this hotel and certainly no music, either live or just background. Our Shearings driver went out of his way to ensure that we all enjoyed ourselves and the trips provided and optional were excellent. Thank You Shearings and Glynn our driver for the week.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langenau
0.2 mi away
Lobinger Hotel Weisses Ross
1.9 mi away
iQ-Hotel
iQ-Hotel
#2 of 3 in Langenau
74 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Taste Hotel Heidenheim
The Taste Hotel Heidenheim
#1 of 3 in Heidenheim
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Rasthaus Seligweiler
5.4 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Zur Post
Hotel Gasthof Zur Post
#1 of 3 in Leipheim
101 reviews
8.8 mi away
Comfor Hotel Frauenstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jagerhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jagerhaus

Address: Bahnhofstr. 16, 89129 Langenau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Langenau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Langenau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing