We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than my first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lapida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lapida Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Even better than my first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Having visited this gem of a hotel last September with my partner, and having had a fabulous time, I was a little apprehensive that second time around (and this time going with a friend on our annual girlie jaunt!) our visit may not be as enjoyable. However it was even better than my first visit, and it certainly won't be my last! I have never returned to the same resort, in all my years of travelling, let alone the same hotel, but this place is something very special. I was drawn back by the warmth of the hotelier's hospitality and the beautiful countryside location. I've never felt so relaxed and comfortable on holiday anywhere else.

This (now)15 room hotel has increased it's capacity by 4 rooms since last year. However rooms were under occupied in May, thereby sometimes giving the feeling that you were lucky enough to have the entire place to yourselves.

Fethi and Mary really make you feel like part of their family, and welcome you with such genuine Turkish/Cypriot warmth. Their overwhelming hospitality and truly genuine friendship made our visit even more special. They willingly help you achieve whatever you want from your holiday, without being pushy or intrusive.

We met some lovely guests whilst we were there, some of whom were booked on the Cookery Cuisine course, run by Mary, Fethi's mum. Evening dinners were a joy, engaging in conversation with other guests about the day's events and, being such a small hotel, you got the interesting personal interaction from both hotelier and guests.

We went on a couple of trips into the mountains with Fethi and, as I'd been before, I requested to take the scenic route to show my friend the fabulous places I'd previously visited. Fethi was more than happy to accommodate my request but also willingly went out of his way to show us other areas of history and beauty that neither of us had previously seen.

Lapida Hotel is a good 20 minutes journey from Kyrenia so evenings can be very quiet, and there aren't many places to go within walking distance. However, this is a wonderful place to get away from it all and completely relax and unwind.

I can't recommend this special place enough and look forward to returning for my third visit in the very near future. I hope you enjoy this hotel as much as we did.

Alison and Deniz

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alibongo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    41
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
84
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Hotel Lapida is a well located small family run Hotel with 15 double rooms on one floor,all but 2 have a balcony, the2 without overlook the main garden with sea views, and 4 poster beds. Walking distance to sea,mountains&village of Lapta, Great views from balcony,,Large comfortable rooms,and good facilities. Food was excellent, resourced from the wonderful gardens and cooked by chef Mary who gave lessons on Turkish Cypriot cooking to the visitors. Fethi the owner is a professional tour guide and is a mine of local knowledge, sharing his love of the Island and pointing out the not so obvious local events and even taking you to them, such warm welcoming people who cannot do enough for you. We thought The Lapida Hotel was great value and so relaxing, we would highly recommend it, and certainly will be going back.

Room Tip: Al This small Hotel has 15 double rooms on one flo
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mayfairSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

This is the third time we have been to the Lapida Hotel and each time we feel more one of the family. Fethi and Mary always give a very warm welcome no matter what time of the day or night you arrive and so it continues for the whole holiday. Fethi has added some new rooms over the winter making 15 in total. In such a small hotel the service is very personal and nothing is too much trouble.

We have always gone alone but this year as it was my partner's 65th birthday we decided to take the family so there was 10 of us ranging in ages from two and half to 67 (me). None of the family had been to North Cyprus before and we were a bit worried if the children would like the food but without exception everyone enjoyed Mary's home cooked, fresh Cypriot food. My daughter in law had a massage at the hotel and said it made her feel wonderful.

Fethi has made available optional culture/cooking days which can be booked on a daily basis. We went on them last year and they added an extra dimension to our holiday.

If you are looking for a friendly, relaxing, feel at ease holiday where you will get personal attention give Lapida a try.

We booked our holiday through The Discovery Collection, Dunmore, tel 01371 859733 who also gave very good service and liaised with Fethi for special requests such as cot and car seat.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oldgoodtimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

From the start we had a special welcome from Fethi and Mary. They made us feel part of their family. The hotel grounds are very pleasant with fruit trees and flowers. We took part in the culture and cooking course. Fethi took us to some beautiful places on our visits. Mary demonstrated some dishes that we could make at home. All in all it was a memorable holiday, very relaxing and great fun.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank tennisfanCamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

If you want 5 stars, a la carte silver service and the cold anonymity that comes with that then don't stay here. We came for a weeks break and a Taste of Cyprus cooking and culture holiday. Made to feel incredibly welcome by Fethi the owner, his mother Mary and their staff we didn't feel like guests in a hotel, much more favourite friends coming for a visit to their home. Nothing was too much trouble, we felt and were treated like part of the family.

Fethi took us to visit local historical sites and has an incredible knowledge of local history and culture, Mary gave us cooking lessons, changing the agenda to include items which we had particularly enjoyed for dinner. The lessons were just an hour or so in the late afternoons and not daunting at all, she is an splendid cook but the dishes she helped us make took only 10-15 minutes each to prepare and then we tasted them both in the lesson and later when we were eating dinner. We are determined to make some of them when we get back to England (lemonade, chicken and lentil soup, humus to name just a few) mind you it won't be the same in England, no trip to the mountains to pick wild herbs and plants and then prepare them into delicious dishes a few hours later.
We should mention the Turkish bath that hides in the basement, try it and the massage from Olga you won't regret it.
The pool wasn't in use, being February, but looks lovely and peaceful.
Staying at the Lapida was a wonderful introduction to the friendly local Turkish population and the lovely and generally unspoilt country they live in, we are not surprised so many British people have chosen to buy homes here.
Was everything perfect, no of course not, there was a mix up in the arrangements for our pickup on arrival and one day there was an issue with hot water while the boiler was replaced but Fethi more than made up for those in his hospitality and kindness and we for sure will be back and would recommend both the Lapida and Northern Cyprus without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hollysfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

This hotel is delightful, owned and run by Fethi and his mum Maryam. My husband and I first stayed at the Lapida in May, 09 the hotel was in its infancy and has flourished in the most positive way, especially the beautiful garden. The swimming pool water is so clean and easy to swim in, maybe because the water is from Fethi garden well.
Maryam's Cypriot cooking is excellent, no plastic food here!
Now our house is built we have no need to stay, but always eat regularly at the hotel when we visit the island. So pleased the hotel has some great reviews, you both deserve the praise for all your hard work. Would definately recommend this lovely family hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lewie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Quietly located a couple of hundred metres off the beach in a serene part of the peaceful northern (Turkish) sector of the island. Miles of shops, restaurants, bars & nightclubs are dotted, but not clustered along the nearby coastal road. Kyrenia town, within 20 mins drive along the coast, is scenic & vibrant, but not crowded.

The hotel is a spacious family venture with more than adequate dining room & garden space for the number of rooms. Small swimming pool & lemon trees in garden.
Well maintained & decorated with wireless internet. Friendly, efficient service from the proprietor & his mother plus a couple of staff. It feels like home because it literally is their home. We soon got a sense of being part of the family in the open-plan dining/
lounge with a constantly glowing fireplace in winter. You get to know them naturally in their own habitat, without a corporate image to uphold. They gave us daily tourism advice at breakfast. Breakfast is simple & continental from a clean kitchen. Other meals can just be ordered ad-hoc on a walk-in basis, or there are plenty local restaurants if you prefer.

Overall, a small but spacious home-from-home with a friendly informality that no big joint can offer. Highly suited to those who just want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jetset497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
0.8 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.6 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
5.5 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
3.6 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapida Hotel

Property: Lapida Hotel
Address: Sh. Ibrahim Nidai Cad Lapta Girne,, Lapta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapida Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., GoNorthCyprus and Agoda so you can book your Lapida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapida Hotel Cyprus/Lapta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing