We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sempati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sempati
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My sister & I stayed at this hotel 18/5/14 for 1 wk we only paid £199 which is only the price of a flight so we wasn't excepting to much, we were more than happy with our stay.lovely friendly staff very helpful our room was nice & clean bed comfy nice pool & from our balcony you could see the sea.free wifi in reception was great. admittedly there evening meal menu was very limited & everything came with chips I think that's all they think us British eat is chips lol.at the time we stayed there everyone in the hotel paid same price some people was moaning & I thought to my self for goodness sake what do you expect for the money. Kerinia is a lovely little town nice shops & restaurants we took at book trip with company called 6 brothers £17.50 brilliant day with lunch well worth the money. The dolmas bus is great u can get to most places for £1 each way & they will ring from reception it pick's up outside still £1 we found all the people everywhere very nice & friendly & yes we would stay at sanpati again

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties choose a ground floor room as there's no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Linda,

Many thanks for your review, we are so pleased to hearing from you that you have enjoyed your stay, we all looking forward to meeting you again.

Kind regards
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    158
    84
    53
    30
See reviews for
98
263
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We got a really cheap last-minute deal to Northern Cyprus in early May this year. It seemed that most of the people in the hotel were on the same deal.

The flights are a bit of a trauma to deal with having to stop in Turkey (no direct flights to Northern Cyprus) so by the time we got to the hotel it was past their serving time. However when we arrived (transfer was around an hour from the airport) the staff offered us food in the restaurant - we had no choice but the chicken and potatoes given were fine.

Drink prices were pretty cheap (about £10-13 for a decent bottle of red wine) and the beer around £2-3.

The Rooms
Our room wasn't in the main part of the hotel itself but in a 2 storey apartment block next door - there were around 5 or 6 of these with 6 rooms in each. The rooms were big, contemporary designed (all creams / browns / muted), nice big bed, very clean and had a nice balcony looking out to the sea (it only took a few mins to walk to the sea but there was no beach to speak of). Only real issue in our room was that the shower head kept slipping - I had a conversation with another guest who had the same issue.

The Hotel
The main part of the hotel is pretty small. Again clean and fine nothing flashy just pretty basic. There was a nice pool area but the weather wasn't great so we only spent a couple of hours sitting around it but it looked nice enough.
The foyer had some chairs and tables which were kept busy with people using the free wifi.
The bar was OK - had a paying pool table, dart board (with only one dart) and a TV screening football or MTV.
There was a large outdoor area with plenty of seating and an outdoor bar.

The Food
Breakfast: We went half board with our deal. Breakfast was basic continental - cheeses, hams, eggs, bread, salads - was fine for us.
Lunch: We didn't have lunch at the hotel as we went out for the day but we did see people having lunch and it looked fine.
Dinner: A choice of 2 x main course options. Food was OK (not amazing but not awful) we generally enjoyed it. The meze selection which was laid out self-service style was nice - great salads, sauces, olives, pastes, etc. Desserts were lovely - and there was a good selection.

The Area
There wasn't much going on in the area. We had a few rainy days so got the bus (which picks up from the main road - 2 min walk - to Kyrenia) a few days. Not really a great deal to do there. It takes about 30 mins or so.
There is a new walk way to the left of the hotel (if you head towards the sea and to the left you'll eventually get to it via a deserted looking estate of villas). In the middle there is a little cafe and a nice spot to break for a beer. At the end of the walk there is a little bar with a tiny beach which was cute.
If you go to the main road and cross over and head in to the main Lapta village you'll find some bars and restaurants - it is twisty turny but really pretty around there and you'll find some great surprises.
There are a couple of bars around if you want a change but for us they weren't up to much but it was just nice to get to go somewhere different.

So all-in-all for what we paid it was fine and a nice break. I probably wouldn't run back to Lapta as an area but if the sun had of come out all week I might have a different opinion. I certainly prefer the South of Cyprus as a destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KerryFused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Owner at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Kerry
Thank you for your review, and we are pleased to enjoyed your stay, North Cyprus is unique and Tranquil, of course you should see both South and North and make your own preference, however North is more unique than South when you visit you will see the different, Lapta actually is great please for relaxing, most people visit Lapta for relax, I hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The area is in a very quiet part of Kyrenia but some distance from the actual town centre about a 20 minute dolmas ride away.The hotel was ok for our needs, very quiet and relaxing, the rooms ample space for a family of 3,the food was very repetative, breakfast consisted of salad stuff, cereals fresh bread which was lovely and jam, boiled eggs and a variation of eggs, you were given a choice of two meals for dinner each evening nothing very exciting with chips and veg there was always the salad bar to fall back on, and the same desserts every night, if you have small children there is no choice for them they are expected to have the same as you.There is a sign saying no food or drink from outside the hotel to be brought in, but we never got caught! Drinks are pricey but seem to be the going rate, the local shops and bar expect custom from the hotel. Entertainment does not exist you make your own up each evening, we did have one night where a local came in wielding an iron bar pushing staff about, they made sure we were safe by keeping us in the hotel terrace area whilst the police were called and they tried to find him!! The staff are very polite and courteous and nothing is too much trouble for them. Do not hope for a sound sleep as the dog at the hotel yaps most of the night and will definitely wake you up early along with the local cats screaming and fighting all night long, the hotel has a few furry guests, which come into the dinning room looking for food or use the flower pots as their loo. Would we go back there? North Cyprus yes Hotel No

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you your review, your Opinions are important for us,
Live Entertainment Starts this week, Actually Tonight, and will carry whole season once a week.
Sorry about the dogs, They are belong to Neighbours who they barking sometimes, we are not happy either.
Sorry about that night which local English Man who was Drunk and came in to hotel, We called police and they took him away.

We work Hard to make everyone happy. If you are not happy while you are staying with us, please come and see me, I try my best to make you happy.

We knew you were bringing food and drink in to hotel, however I told reception to not argu with you.

Hope to see you again.

Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allestree,Derby
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

128 reviews rated this hotel excellent on this site, I think Excellent means different things to different people ...I’m sorry but this hotel is average at best, we had a cracking holiday despite the hotel not because of it. North Cyprus is lovely definitely recommend it, but choose another hotel. Sempati is tired, in need of some serious TLC and their attitude to paying guests is unbelievable, unless you spend hundreds of pounds on your bar/minifridge bill you will receive a rant of a reply from the manager of how little you have spentthere… I admit we only paid £199 each for 7 nights half board, its not a lot of money but I wish we had paid more and gone somewhere else. Breakfast was poor, on at least 4 occasions no cups/bowls plates etc, no one was topping the food up, dinner was slightly better but long delays getting the food, its not worth saying anything as no one seems to care, the staff are pleasant enough there is just no supervision.
Even though you cannot drink the tap water, any bottled water not purchased in the hotel found in your room will be removed, infact any crisps, snacks that you may have bought at the airport on your way there or during the day will be taken (that’s theft in my book) there are notices everywhere. We took a kettle and tea bags and had to hide it in our luggage even though they couldn’t supply one.
Location is about 10k west of lovely Kyrenia well worth a visit, lots of buses during the day not that frequent at night. We hired a car from the Mercury Direct Rep for 3 days at £20 a day new car, all in, it was fantastic , the roads away from the towns are deserted. It was easy finding Nicosia, Famagusta and the pan handle.
Overall this is a review of the hotel which was poor to average, Cyprus was good to excellent I think some people have confused the two !!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sk9a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Ska,
Thank you for your review and sorry to hearing from you that our hotel not came up to your requirements. Our Aim is to provide you best service and feel at home, while you are staying with us. However this is our Home, and you are visitor, We put everywhere Kind messages, please do not bring food or drink from outside, result ? You brought 7 bottles water 2 liter kola, bottles of beers, Lemonade in to your room.
If you decide to stay our property you're more than welcome, you are our guest, not customer, however you should respect to opposite person also. Everyone work hard and spend high Effort to make our visitors holiday perfect, 128 People are right they liked us and wrote good messages, We are family run business and we have people coming last 10 years. I think we are doing something right, we dont say we are perfect, once you are staying with us and tell us this is no good or i didnt like we can fix or amend that minute.

Thank you
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Disley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Really cheap package holiday which was too good an opportunity to miss, having never been to Northern Cyprus before. We arrived very late but the hotel was contacted and opened the kitchen for us. Admittedly the food wasn't up to much but it was 11.30 at night so we made allowances. We weren't in the main hotel but lodged in the annexe rooms. 1 double and 1single bed, en suite shower room, working air-conditioning and a terrace or balcony. The decor was a little tired but the room was spacious, adequate and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable. There's a mini-bar containing water, soft drinks and beer. Be aware that 500ml water costs 2TL which is about 10 times the price of water bought from the mini-market at the top of the road. Also be aware that hotel policy states that any drinks not bought in the hotel will be confiscated if found in your room... The food is truly awful as we found out the following morning. We booked half-board and wished we hadn't. You can have meze for breakfast if you like that sort of thing. Self service. Various cheese and unidentifiable ham-type slices, salad and cake... Hard boiled eggs, or fried or scrambled, are available in hot trays. There is yoghurt (good) but the fruit in syrup is rubbery, thick and sticky and fresh oranges somewhat bitter. Nescafe or tea, or odd fruit juice - hot water & milk available for the hot drinks. The local bread, either toasted or fresh, is nice and there are butter pats. Evening meal comprises meze followed by the dish of the day and a pudding of some sort. Everything seemed to be made from the cheapest ingredients possible. We ate out after the first day. Apart from the food, the stay was enjoyable. The owners are helpful even getting the local bus (dolmush) to call to pick us up. These provide cheap travel to Girne (Kyrenia) and from there to Lefkosa (Nicosia) and they're not allowed to charge more than 3.5TL per person for each journey. Cheap way of getting around. At the bar, a bottle of wine costs about 30TL or 8TL a glass and beer about 7TL which isn't cheap but probably on a par with British prices. The hotel will provide a hire car for a minimum of 3 days at about £20 per day. All in all OK except for the food.

Room Tip: The hotel faces north so the main rooms don't get much sun, especially those in the middle. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spida505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Spida
Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hearing from you about Enjoyed yous stay,
We are not expensive on the mini bars. 2 Tl is equal to 0.57 Gbp. and Shops sell 0.30
We have costs so we have to make some money to run the business renew the place and make better service, I always Travel to UK, and Shop prices and Hotel prices are different. I expect that beacuse I get service from the Retaurant or From Hotel.
About the Food, We serve Normal Food, sorry to hearing from you that you didnt like our food, We try our best and we cook daily Fresh mezes and Main Course, If you dont like Half board Menu Always you can Buy From Alacarte Menu any other Dishes.

Many thanks and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Sempati for a week from 07th May 2014. Had a great time. All the staff are very helpful and attentive. We booked a late deal through Cyprus Paradise, Half Board. Breakfast was great every morning, lots of variety of cereals, eggs, breads, cheese and the usual salads along with great preserves. The evening meals were good. Great starters, a different local soup every evening along with a choice of main course. Dessert was the same every night (though delicious) maybe a slight variation would be a good idea.
Our room was in the main part of the hotel. Cleaned daily along with fresh towels and bed linen. All in all a very good, family run 3* hotel. Bar prices along with snacks during the day was very good value for money.

Though a little bit out of the way (12 Klm from Kyrenia itself) it was excellent value for the money paid.

We look forward to a future stay.

Room Tip: Room 1127 - great view - sunny balcony - above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear David,
Thank you for your message and How happy to hearing from you that you enjoyed your stay, Next time you come you will see more Update on our hotel, We are quite busy upto end of year so this will help us to make more improvement for our hotel, always we want to give best deal for our client. Tonight Menu is Open Buffet, Izmir Kofte (Meatballs Turkish Style) or Roasted Chicken,
Sorry I am writing from here the Menu, but people guess What we serve and I want to write Clearly so everyone can see,

Some events started in May will continiue unil end of June, Lapta Festival and Bellapais Music Festival,

Regards
and hope to meet you again
Sempati family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

After a considerable time travelling and arriving in the dark our first impression as we walked outside into the dark were what have we let ourselves in for! However the bedroom in one of the 5 outside blocks of 6 rooms/block was spacious, clean with plenty of wardrobe space, air con which worked, nearly full marks. The following morning waking up to a brilliant blue sky and warmth all our reservations were dissipating rapidly.
The breakfast was satisfactory depending on your taste, many complained but then I believe that is what Brits Abroad do best ( Ozzies describe us as whinging pommes!). The lunch time menu provided a good range of edible food which cannot be said about the evening meal, a range of various mezes followed by a main course which would include rice and chips. To be fair though everywhere seemed to provide both rice and chips.
A lovely pool, outside bar and seating.
Although approx. 12miles from Girne transport via the local bus system was simple with the receptionist telephoning for a the "dolmush" which would then pick up from the hotel and on return drop you off at the top of the road.
It is a family run business and the hotel staff were all very friendly, spoke English well and most willing to please.
Would we go back? - YES we would, Was it a BARGAIN? - YES it was

Note for hotel manager - please provide deodorant for staff

Room Tip: The external rooms in the 5 blocks of 6 rooms/block may seem a little out of the way but you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Al
Many thanks for your review, and so glad to hearing from you about enjoyed your stay. We run Hotel but this is our home and you are our visitors not customer, so we are looking forward to seeing you again.
I take care about deodorant, and I go now outside to speak with them and make sure they use deo, I do apologize about that.

Ps.This Sunday We start for Live Music. The Menu is Tonight open Buffet, Grilled pork Chops, or Chicken with Mushroom Sauce following Dessert Buffet. Information for new arrivals :)
Weather is perfect warm Swimming pool and Sea Waiting for you

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
10.0 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
5.9 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
1.2 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sempati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempati

Property: Hotel Sempati
Address: Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sempati 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sempati is a comfortable family-run hotel which offers friendly service together with high standards. Our luxury hotel is situated 10 miles west of Kyrenia in a particularly tranquil area with a wonderful mountain backdrop and spectacular views of the Mediterranean sea.Accommodation is of a high standard and the crescent shape of the hotel ensures that every room has the benefit of superb sea views. Each room overlooks the private swimming pool and bar area. The hotel has 64 rooms, each with an en-suite bathroom, minibar, satellite television, air-conditioning and direct dial telephone. There is an indoor restaurant and lounge bar. Hotel has a small sandy beach which is located 200 yards from the hotel and several local restaurants are within walking distance. An ideal setting for those seeking a peaceful relaxing holiday. You can go by frequent local minibus (dolmush) from the front of the hotel into Kyrenia which takes about 20-25 minutes and only costs 50 pence per person each way. In all of Northern Cyprus, Hotel Sempati is one of the best value and friendliest, offering an excellent quality of service at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise , GoNorthCyprus, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sempati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sempati Hotel Kyrenia
Hotel Sempati Cyprus/Lapta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing