We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Sempati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sempati
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just returned from a week staying at the Sempati and don't understand why people write negative comments! It is a very friendly family run hotel and for what we paid fantastic value!
We were in a room in the main hotel, a bit tired but fine, I don't go on holiday to sit in a room.
The pool is lovely and plenty of sun beds to relax on, pool towels provided as well. Was not sure when first looked at the little beach, but fine to sit on and swim in the sea, I wore water shoes as quite a lot of stones.
The food was fine, breakfast, a good selection. Dinner, a good cold buffet, self selection and soup. Choice of 2 main meals, different each day which were fine and it is a nice change being served by polite waiters instead of a busy free for all buffet. Then a nice range of desserts and fruit to serve yourself . We often bought lunch and ate on the patio, good choice and not expensive.
The drinks are reasonable so there is no need to bring in from outside!!!
Free wifi, in the nice lobby area and on the patio was a big bonus.
We chose the hotel as we wanted to relax and it was just the place, nice people to talk to. We used the dolmus to go into Kyrenia, very good value, nice to wander around and visit the castle.
We booked the holiday through Cyprus Paradise and a couple of weeks before leaving got an email advising the hotel was full and they needed us to change to another hotel, we did not want to go there, so said so, as did 2 other couple who arrived the same day as us and we all still went to the Sempati !!! Also we were meant to have free in flight food and drink..... But not on Pegasus airlines!!!! Apart from that, good flight, 1 hr on plane at Istanbul airport and a long transfer but food served to us on the patio when we arrived at 10.30pm.
Thank you Sempati we really enjoyed our holiday!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iloveholidays46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Iloveholidays46,
Many thanks for your review, we are so pleased to hearing from you that you enjoyed your holiday, we are always trying to make our client holiday best. We did Some changes on main hotel building, new curtains, new beddings, ets, and Some bathrooms removed from first floor and new showers added. We will continiue this winter, January, You will see Sempati next year, more perfect, more update.

Kind regards
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    160
    84
    54
    31
See reviews for
103
265
23
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed 1 wk 31/5/14. Great price so didn't know what to expect. Hotel ready for updating but in lovely quiet setting with sea to front and mountains behind. Room was big and clean with good view, though in middle so didn't get much sun. Shower room usable but ready for makeover. Towels changed daily but not sheets. Staff were friendly and helpful and our Cyprus Paradise rep was very helpul when we needed him. Reasonable choice of food for breakfast and evening meal but much of it spoilt by having to share it with numerous flies. Free wifi in reception was useful. Pool looked nice though we didn't use it. Managed to get around using dolmus and tour bus plus lovely walks by the sea. Overall a great weeks break for the money!

Room Tip: All hotel rooms have similar pool/sea view, only two storeys high but no lift, middle rooms don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jaci and James,
Many thanks for your review, and we are pleased to hearing from you, You enjoyed your stay,
Looking forward to seeing you again

Customer Relation Dep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just returned from a great week at the Sempati,fantastic value for money based on what we paid.Special thanks to Libby at Cyprus Premier who booked the holiday for us & gave us lots of useful information about the area,a visit to the Corner Restaurant on the harbour in Kyrenia is a must.Erkan & his staff at the Sempati made us very welcome & provided a fast & efficient service.The room we had was huge with 2 balconies & spotlessly clean with a daily maid service.We will definitely be going back

Room Tip: Room 1141 is huge & has 2 balconies both seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Owner at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Colin
Many thanks for your review, we are all missing you and looking forward to meeting you again,
weather is changed wind is down now, Its not normal for this time, I think the Climate change in Cyprus also. Looking forward to seeing you again

Kind regards
Sempati Family
Erkan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My sister & I stayed at this hotel 18/5/14 for 1 wk we only paid £199 which is only the price of a flight so we wasn't excepting to much, we were more than happy with our stay.lovely friendly staff very helpful our room was nice & clean bed comfy nice pool & from our balcony you could see the sea.free wifi in reception was great. admittedly there evening meal menu was very limited & everything came with chips I think that's all they think us British eat is chips lol.at the time we stayed there everyone in the hotel paid same price some people was moaning & I thought to my self for goodness sake what do you expect for the money. Kerinia is a lovely little town nice shops & restaurants we took at book trip with company called 6 brothers £17.50 brilliant day with lunch well worth the money. The dolmas bus is great u can get to most places for £1 each way & they will ring from reception it pick's up outside still £1 we found all the people everywhere very nice & friendly & yes we would stay at sanpati again

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties choose a ground floor room as there's no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Linda,

Many thanks for your review, we are so pleased to hearing from you that you have enjoyed your stay, we all looking forward to meeting you again.

Kind regards
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We got a really cheap last-minute deal to Northern Cyprus in early May this year. It seemed that most of the people in the hotel were on the same deal.

The flights are a bit of a trauma to deal with having to stop in Turkey (no direct flights to Northern Cyprus) so by the time we got to the hotel it was past their serving time. However when we arrived (transfer was around an hour from the airport) the staff offered us food in the restaurant - we had no choice but the chicken and potatoes given were fine.

Drink prices were pretty cheap (about £10-13 for a decent bottle of red wine) and the beer around £2-3.

The Rooms
Our room wasn't in the main part of the hotel itself but in a 2 storey apartment block next door - there were around 5 or 6 of these with 6 rooms in each. The rooms were big, contemporary designed (all creams / browns / muted), nice big bed, very clean and had a nice balcony looking out to the sea (it only took a few mins to walk to the sea but there was no beach to speak of). Only real issue in our room was that the shower head kept slipping - I had a conversation with another guest who had the same issue.

The Hotel
The main part of the hotel is pretty small. Again clean and fine nothing flashy just pretty basic. There was a nice pool area but the weather wasn't great so we only spent a couple of hours sitting around it but it looked nice enough.
The foyer had some chairs and tables which were kept busy with people using the free wifi.
The bar was OK - had a paying pool table, dart board (with only one dart) and a TV screening football or MTV.
There was a large outdoor area with plenty of seating and an outdoor bar.

The Food
Breakfast: We went half board with our deal. Breakfast was basic continental - cheeses, hams, eggs, bread, salads - was fine for us.
Lunch: We didn't have lunch at the hotel as we went out for the day but we did see people having lunch and it looked fine.
Dinner: A choice of 2 x main course options. Food was OK (not amazing but not awful) we generally enjoyed it. The meze selection which was laid out self-service style was nice - great salads, sauces, olives, pastes, etc. Desserts were lovely - and there was a good selection.

The Area
There wasn't much going on in the area. We had a few rainy days so got the bus (which picks up from the main road - 2 min walk - to Kyrenia) a few days. Not really a great deal to do there. It takes about 30 mins or so.
There is a new walk way to the left of the hotel (if you head towards the sea and to the left you'll eventually get to it via a deserted looking estate of villas). In the middle there is a little cafe and a nice spot to break for a beer. At the end of the walk there is a little bar with a tiny beach which was cute.
If you go to the main road and cross over and head in to the main Lapta village you'll find some bars and restaurants - it is twisty turny but really pretty around there and you'll find some great surprises.
There are a couple of bars around if you want a change but for us they weren't up to much but it was just nice to get to go somewhere different.

So all-in-all for what we paid it was fine and a nice break. I probably wouldn't run back to Lapta as an area but if the sun had of come out all week I might have a different opinion. I certainly prefer the South of Cyprus as a destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KerryFused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Owner at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Kerry
Thank you for your review, and we are pleased to enjoyed your stay, North Cyprus is unique and Tranquil, of course you should see both South and North and make your own preference, however North is more unique than South when you visit you will see the different, Lapta actually is great please for relaxing, most people visit Lapta for relax, I hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The area is in a very quiet part of Kyrenia but some distance from the actual town centre about a 20 minute dolmas ride away.The hotel was ok for our needs, very quiet and relaxing, the rooms ample space for a family of 3,the food was very repetative, breakfast consisted of salad stuff, cereals fresh bread which was lovely and jam, boiled eggs and a variation of eggs, you were given a choice of two meals for dinner each evening nothing very exciting with chips and veg there was always the salad bar to fall back on, and the same desserts every night, if you have small children there is no choice for them they are expected to have the same as you.There is a sign saying no food or drink from outside the hotel to be brought in, but we never got caught! Drinks are pricey but seem to be the going rate, the local shops and bar expect custom from the hotel. Entertainment does not exist you make your own up each evening, we did have one night where a local came in wielding an iron bar pushing staff about, they made sure we were safe by keeping us in the hotel terrace area whilst the police were called and they tried to find him!! The staff are very polite and courteous and nothing is too much trouble for them. Do not hope for a sound sleep as the dog at the hotel yaps most of the night and will definitely wake you up early along with the local cats screaming and fighting all night long, the hotel has a few furry guests, which come into the dinning room looking for food or use the flower pots as their loo. Would we go back there? North Cyprus yes Hotel No

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you your review, your Opinions are important for us,
Live Entertainment Starts this week, Actually Tonight, and will carry whole season once a week.
Sorry about the dogs, They are belong to Neighbours who they barking sometimes, we are not happy either.
Sorry about that night which local English Man who was Drunk and came in to hotel, We called police and they took him away.

We work Hard to make everyone happy. If you are not happy while you are staying with us, please come and see me, I try my best to make you happy.

We knew you were bringing food and drink in to hotel, however I told reception to not argu with you.

Hope to see you again.

Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allestree,Derby
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

128 reviews rated this hotel excellent on this site, I think Excellent means different things to different people ...I’m sorry but this hotel is average at best, we had a cracking holiday despite the hotel not because of it. North Cyprus is lovely definitely recommend it, but choose another hotel. Sempati is tired, in need of some serious TLC and their attitude to paying guests is unbelievable, unless you spend hundreds of pounds on your bar/minifridge bill you will receive a rant of a reply from the manager of how little you have spentthere… I admit we only paid £199 each for 7 nights half board, its not a lot of money but I wish we had paid more and gone somewhere else. Breakfast was poor, on at least 4 occasions no cups/bowls plates etc, no one was topping the food up, dinner was slightly better but long delays getting the food, its not worth saying anything as no one seems to care, the staff are pleasant enough there is just no supervision.
Even though you cannot drink the tap water, any bottled water not purchased in the hotel found in your room will be removed, infact any crisps, snacks that you may have bought at the airport on your way there or during the day will be taken (that’s theft in my book) there are notices everywhere. We took a kettle and tea bags and had to hide it in our luggage even though they couldn’t supply one.
Location is about 10k west of lovely Kyrenia well worth a visit, lots of buses during the day not that frequent at night. We hired a car from the Mercury Direct Rep for 3 days at £20 a day new car, all in, it was fantastic , the roads away from the towns are deserted. It was easy finding Nicosia, Famagusta and the pan handle.
Overall this is a review of the hotel which was poor to average, Cyprus was good to excellent I think some people have confused the two !!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sk9a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Ska,
Thank you for your review and sorry to hearing from you that our hotel not came up to your requirements. Our Aim is to provide you best service and feel at home, while you are staying with us. However this is our Home, and you are visitor, We put everywhere Kind messages, please do not bring food or drink from outside, result ? You brought 7 bottles water 2 liter kola, bottles of beers, Lemonade in to your room.
If you decide to stay our property you're more than welcome, you are our guest, not customer, however you should respect to opposite person also. Everyone work hard and spend high Effort to make our visitors holiday perfect, 128 People are right they liked us and wrote good messages, We are family run business and we have people coming last 10 years. I think we are doing something right, we dont say we are perfect, once you are staying with us and tell us this is no good or i didnt like we can fix or amend that minute.

Thank you
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
1.2 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau Lambousa
Chateau Lambousa
#6 of 7 in Lapta
227 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sempati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempati

Property: Hotel Sempati
Address: Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sempati 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sempati is a comfortable family-run hotel which offers friendly service together with high standards. Our luxury hotel is situated 10 miles west of Kyrenia in a particularly tranquil area with a wonderful mountain backdrop and spectacular views of the Mediterranean sea.Accommodation is of a high standard and the crescent shape of the hotel ensures that every room has the benefit of superb sea views. Each room overlooks the private swimming pool and bar area. The hotel has 64 rooms, each with an en-suite bathroom, minibar, satellite television, air-conditioning and direct dial telephone. There is an indoor restaurant and lounge bar. Hotel has a small sandy beach which is located 200 yards from the hotel and several local restaurants are within walking distance. An ideal setting for those seeking a peaceful relaxing holiday. You can go by frequent local minibus (dolmush) from the front of the hotel into Kyrenia which takes about 20-25 minutes and only costs 50 pence per person each way. In all of Northern Cyprus, Hotel Sempati is one of the best value and friendliest, offering an excellent quality of service at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld, GoNorthCyprus and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sempati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sempati Hotel Kyrenia
Hotel Sempati Cyprus/Lapta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing