We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary”
Review of Hotel Sempati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sempati
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

As expected everything was brilliant and would recommend this hotel to anybody. It has an extremely good authentic mediteranean feel to the place and the cuisenes were marvelous. The beach very near but spent most of my time with my family by the poolside as its very cosy.

very good value for money including flights from stansted. Definately coming again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    158
    84
    53
    30
See reviews for
98
264
23
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a very cheap flight and hotel from Groupon-company. We really did not believe that hotel with breakfast at this price would be so nice and good. Staff was friendly, pool and garden area ok. We hired a car for couple days from hotel, price was ok for that too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jursti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for one week at the Sempati and prior to arriving we had read the Trip adviser reviews. Some good and some very poor.
The check in was quick and we were soon taken to our room in the main hotel. Two double beds and three balcony's with sea views. The room was clean and the towels changed daily.
We had a problem with our kettle not working but this was replaced without any bother. Any requests were dealt with by the beautiful Claudia on reception for whom nothing was too much trouble and always a lovely smile greeted us.
As I am a very fussy eater I was not expecting to find the meals to my liking, but my wife enjoyed the mezza's and some of the meals. The breakfast was fine as at home I have cereals and toast etc., Their was a good choice of cereals for me and the bread was fantastic.
We find the staff very accommodating and helpful. No problems with dogs in fact the beagle call 'Fred' was petted by so many guests and was never a bother at meal times or at any time
The drinks were all reasonably priced and again the bar staff were all cheery and helpful
The small beach was easy to access and was quiet and great for swimming. There is another beach to the left of the hotel accessed b y a lovely cliff walk by the sea.
This holiday was within our expectations and meeting the manager Erkan, a lovely chap, that only wants for you to enjoy your stay was an experience in sharing a beer together
All in all for a week for £500 for two including all B&B, evening meal flights and transfers was great value and would return one day Thank you Malcolm & Mo

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ubpositive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Owner at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Malcolm,
Many thanks for your review, it was great pleasure to meet you, I have missed your Chat, I hope you enjoy your retirment, and hope to see you next year.

Kind regards
Erkan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

1st off the food was POOR, 2nd even in a all inclusive i would bring baileys with me and drink in my room after my shower !!!!!, it is my right as a paying guest to do so and the threat that it would be removed is disgraceful and is driven by money grabbing by the hotel, however my main concern are the DOGS running around barking in packs till all hours, ( A small Polish child was walking alone to the entrance and a large ???? breed dog was growling at him i had to place my self in-between them ) at one point i counted 4 dogs and 3 cats all milling around while everyone was eating, then only to witness one of the staff KICK one so hard it yelped and ran off, the chap then puffed his chest and walked out and roared away on a extremely loud quad bike, that was driven up and down and around by whomever wanted ( SO LOUD ) If you are trying to run a hotel then act like proper staff not as if you don't care about paying guests, in the week i was there i didn't see any cleaning of any kind anywhere, the tables have dust and paper blown and stuck under them and never lifted, on day 3 I placed a brown card under one it was still there when we left 4 days later, if i had to some up this place id say it is run as a playground for the owners enjoyment and family and not as a hotel that warrants 2* let alone 3* our bar bill was £210 for 2 of us for 2 weeks, i don't drink much nor did i have much at lunch times, my advise to everyone is go All Inclusive in Turkey Cheaper in the long run, better Run and the last plane hop is a killer !! A REAL KILLER late in the evening, the 20 people that i returned with on the coach all said they never wanted to see that place again nor do we, I've been all over the world and stayed in 7* hotels and Thai hovels this is not worth anything like what they are charging.

Room Tip: away from the hotel but brave the dogs walking to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benchyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Owner at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Benchyboy

Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hearing from you that, you couldnt enjoy your stay After all hard work.

I would like to answer your comments.

First of all we have one dog and cat his called fred small beagle and everyone loved him,.
Sometimes people dumped dog or cat around the hotel.

What we do ?

We call Animal Centre to collect them until they come collect of course we give them water and food as so hot and you cannot leave them like that. Who kicked that dog it was a polish man! not staff. we had argu with him.

2. Everyone work so hard, always cleaning on procces, we work hard for best. if something goes wrong we do apologize. staff and we work so hard to keep the place up and running.

If you had problem about cleaning or so, why you havent complained for us ? we were loved to hear from you any problem.

3. I would like to write the true history about "baileys" If is bailiys or whisky we dont take from your room. however if you have bought, Beers, Cola, Water, bread, butter, and Cheese, Tuna Fish, Salami, and Burger, found in your room and mini bar. This is hotel I think you stayed in hotel first time.

4. After you checked out We have paid £ 100 Gbp to Spray the room becuase of your food carried to your room Cause ant problem and We had to call and pay Cleaning service, we have already reported to your Travel agent this we will claim from you.

5.Why we dont accept and write everywhere dont bring any food in to your room

6.Mini bar for Hotel products, you have purchased from outside everything and put in mini bar

7.Outisde of the hotel a small road going to beach and open for public, how can we stop the road.

Overall Our Hotel is not suitable for you, as we are small Family run and friendly hotel, and we like to Speak and welcoming people. you should choose all inclusive holiday and pay £ 1000.00 not £ 199.00 for One week Half board including flights.

You have stayed 7 nights with us and not any single complained or suggest made us while you are staying with us

We have 65 Rooms and every week New 130 people arrives our hotel, We try to pleased everyone however I belive this is impossible. but again, we response, training staff, work hard, speak with clients, and do our best.

I kindly ask all our guest from here, while you are staying with us and you find some problem or you dont like something please speak to us, we would love.

Kind regards
Owner.

Kind regards
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

just returned from holiday ,Agree with other comments yes we had a cheap holiday but we still expect certain standards, there were some good points near a cove where you could swim.but the running of the hotel was very poor, the staff were unfriendly even when you tried to speak to them they did not respond,
the food was very poor when there was some mealtime was supposed to be from 7.30pm we looked out from balcony and realised tables were filling up from 7pm on hindsight this was probably because food ran out very quickly even the salads.we went down at 7.30 and asked a waiter to replenish a salad bowl he came back and said it had run out there were very few staff one evening there was only 1 waiter bringing food out.one night they advertised a local traditional meal kelefico there was no choice we enjoy this but got served chicken hard potato wedges and the usual mound of rice no resemblance to what they said.We never found out who the manager or owner was presumed he was part of a group who came every night with his family to eat and not the food we were being served. there was no one taking control of the running of the restaurant and the over 1hr wait we had .there was only entertainment 1 night the rest of the week you were subjected to a strange mix of music from cds.We did not go with high expectations as we did not pay a lot but the basic things like enough food and pleasant staff are a normal expectation.I notice the manager has suggested to another person they should have asked to be moved but when you are only there a week it is not easy to start the process hopefully if enough people highlight the weaknesses Cyprus paradise will respond to this

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yorkie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife & I stayed here for 1 week through a Travel Zoo offer from Paradise Cyprus from 6/7 to 13/7. The holiday was a absolute bargain at under £500 for both of us which included flights, meals & drinks on board, transfers and half board hotel accommodation. Because of the low price our expectations were not high and therefore we were not disappointed when some elements were well below acceptable standards.

The good points
The family run hotel was in a good location with its own small sandy beach a short walk away, great for safe swimming and snorkelling. Our allocated room was within the annex blocks, this was quite modern with its own balcony and was very quite away from the day/night long music around the pool area. There are a few good restaurants within walking distance, which were very welcomed as is explained in the bad points below.
Drinks in the hotel were very reasonable and were on a par with the local bars. Transport arrangements to and from the hotel were excellent as were the local Dolmus buses which picked up at the hotel entrance on request via reception.

Bad Points
Breakfast was very basic and the same each day and some of the food for example the eggs were cremated. They regularly ran out of some basic food stuff, for example bread.
The evening meals were quite honestly terrible and most people we spoke to agreed, hence why we very grateful for the local restaurants being within walking distance and serving excellent food at low prices. They often ran out of items on the buffet / Meze by 8pm when the restaurant closed at 9.30. The menus could have been really good if cooked to an acceptable standard, examples being fried fish which was cremated and meat balls which turned up as poor hamburgers.
Overall we really enjoyed North Cyprus and for the low cost paid did not expect 4 star standards from this hotel. I would recommend this hotel for its location and acceptable accommodation but it really needs to improve its quality of basic food.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the separate annex rooms on first floor for a partial sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarpendenWrinklies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Owner at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear HarpendenWrinklies
Thank you for your comments and sorry to hearing from you that you didnt like our food.
First of all we are 3 star hotel not 4 star hotel, our breakfast is open buffet and over 20 kind of food served on buffet, its med turkish style not engliesh breakfast, you could order English breakfast and make change during your stay if you didnt like the Turkish style breakfast.
For the dinner we serve over 100 people and we serve standard meal open buffet to start with and follows main course why you were in the hotel why you didnt say I didnt like this food and we see if there is anything wrong
You are saying you didnt like the food but you didnt miss any evening meal ? how this come, I know if someone didnt like the meal go outside to have meal, we did special offer yes and you arrived one week for 250 including flight and evening meals but this doesnt mean you will have bad food or bad service, we still offer standard meal, of course we cannot offer fillet steak or King prawn, or Lobster, and the price which you paid not covers, We offer good clean accommodation and standard food not luxury not poor food.

yesterday menu example . Open buffet mezes, Special roasted chicken roasted potatoes, rice
dessert menu.

Ps. I eat every night in the hotel and if is meal not good I inspect first.
I replay again during day time, I am avaialable back of the reception after 7 you can find me around bar area, I would like to meet you and chat and if any problem solve that minute

kind regards
Erkan K
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We are just back from a week's bargain break at the Sempati. All in all we had a fantastic time. Our room was spotless and spacious. Breakfast was fine. Dinner was a bit hit and miss, however the salads etc were lovely. There is so much to see and do around the area, and a cheap bus service to transport you around. We liked the fact that the local bus would come to the hotel to pick up.
The only negative thing is the hotel seemed to lack atmosphere. Maybe some entertainment would be good.
We would definately return here though. Thank you lots to the Sempati staff :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SempatiManager, Owner at Hotel Sempati, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Pet
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased to hearing from you that you enjoyed your stay.
I take your comment thanks

We have once a week Live entertainment, Usually Monday,

Look forward to meeting you again

Kınd regards
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
10.0 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
5.9 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
1.2 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sempati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempati

Property: Hotel Sempati
Address: Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sempati 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sempati is a comfortable family-run hotel which offers friendly service together with high standards. Our luxury hotel is situated 10 miles west of Kyrenia in a particularly tranquil area with a wonderful mountain backdrop and spectacular views of the Mediterranean sea.Accommodation is of a high standard and the crescent shape of the hotel ensures that every room has the benefit of superb sea views. Each room overlooks the private swimming pool and bar area. The hotel has 64 rooms, each with an en-suite bathroom, minibar, satellite television, air-conditioning and direct dial telephone. There is an indoor restaurant and lounge bar. Hotel has a small sandy beach which is located 200 yards from the hotel and several local restaurants are within walking distance. An ideal setting for those seeking a peaceful relaxing holiday. You can go by frequent local minibus (dolmush) from the front of the hotel into Kyrenia which takes about 20-25 minutes and only costs 50 pence per person each way. In all of Northern Cyprus, Hotel Sempati is one of the best value and friendliest, offering an excellent quality of service at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise , GoNorthCyprus, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sempati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sempati Hotel Kyrenia
Hotel Sempati Cyprus/Lapta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing