We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good chilled week.”
Review of LA Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LA Hotel & Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel seems to be updated. Attentive staff, clean rooms. Food good and varied. Good beach site and beds available. Some good restaurants within walking distance. The busès are gòod but if you want to see ythe villages then you would need a car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking hotel pool. On lowe floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
7  Thank Sue_HY4996YK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAHotelCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at LA Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you Sue for your comments.

We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday and hope to be able to welcome you back to the LA Hotel & Resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just come back on 2nd August after staying at LA Hotel, I must say that we didn't book the hotel but we had booked a villa in Famagusta but apparently to overbooking they sent us to the LA.
We arrived after 11pm, they did provide some baguettes but they were extremely dry, our rooms were not overlooking the pool but the delivery bay, the bathrooms were black round the edges. We did complain and they changed our rooms immediately to a pool view and the bathrooms were much cleaner, perhaps newer as the hotel is very dated as stated often in the reviews. The hotel only seems to have half of it occupied as the other block looks closed down. I have got photos but will have to find out how to post them on here. This is definitely not a 4*, more like a 2*, the door handle to our room was hanging off and the screw poking out was dangerous, there was broken tiles too.
The food was tasty but not much choice in the evening, if you didn't like the 2 main meals that they provided then you would have to go out and eat at another restaurant. There is nothing for children or fussy eaters, oh one night there was chicken and mash, another night there was chips but both of my daughters were not haps, so, we spent many a night at the local kfc. Thank goodness we did hire a car.
You are not allowed to take any food or drink into the hotel or on the beach, when we first arrived, we decided to get some water from the shop then walk to have a nosey round the hotel/beach. we were approached by 2 waiters who told us we weren't allowed to bring any drink onto the beach. We did try telling them that we were only having a look.
We found that the hotel staff watched you as you entered into the hotel if you had a large beach bag with you, it made us feel very uncomfortable.
I can't see why people would go back to this hotel again.

Oh, the air conditioning in the rooms is fantastic but not in the foyer where you have to sit to get internet access, we did buy an hour internet each but it wouldn't work in our rooms at all, quite a few people complained about this too.
Also it lacked evening entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 293Gaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAHotelCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at LA Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

The hotel was informed at very short notice that you and your family would be arriving late in the evening to our hotel as your original accommodation choice was unavailable. We explained to your tour operator and the representative that although the hotel was fully booked we would do our best to accommodate you. The rooms initially allocated were temporary for the first night only and you and your family were moved to more suitable rooms the following morning.

As you say you were not booked into LA and we went to great lengths to give you this room which is not used for guests but is emergency accommodation for staff who may need to stay on site for one reason or another - it is not a standard sized or specified room - it only has a shower and is only for one person and in no way represents the specification of rooms covered at the LA. We moved a member of staff out to make this possible, with hindsight we shouldn't have.

You have made incorrect assumptions regarding occupancy, the hotel was full throughout July and you have mistaken the not yet operational wing/ block which we will have in the future, despite our overstretched capacity we still tried hard to make you happy and not turn you away.
It may have not occurred to you but if you are a fussy eater or have a special request you can just ask and we are more than happy to accommodate your needs, or you could always order any one of the numerous dishes made fresh from our A-La-Carte menu available each evening, but it seems you would rather pay for different varieties of chicken at KFC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I visited the LA Hotel & Resort in early July with my Mum and Dad. We had a great stay and the weather was fantastic, if anything a bit too hot.
The hotel was in a good location, rooms were cleaned every day and linens changed frequently - maid service was excellent. Our room overlooked the pool and was plenty big enough for the three of us. The amenities were good and all hotel and bar staff were really friendly and helpful.
Breakfast and dinner were taken across the road (can be accessed via underpass) by the pool and beach. Breakfast was pretty good, especially the fresh pancakes!! Dinner was quite varied with an excellent choice of salads and mezes, and a BBQ once a week. Drinks from the pool bar were reasonably priced. Excellent little supermarket virtually next door with really friendly staff.
In Lapta itself there isn't a great deal to do, however having direct access to the beach certainly makes up for that. It is also possible to get a minibus into Girne/Kyrenia from outside the hotel, this costs approx £2 return - 3.50lire each way - very good value. The harbour and shops are definitely worth a visit. Car hire is very cheap, but we didn't bother as it was too hot to do anything other than chill out.
Overall was a great family holiday and excellent value for money. Would definitely consider visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank xiaght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAHotelCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at LA Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are glad you and your parents enjoyed your holiday (and the freshly cooked pancakes!).

We hope to see you all again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Food was excellent, quiet, breakfast by sea, private beach, new towels very often, very clean, private balcony, air-conditioning by room. Excellent sea-side restaurant nearby with absolutely delicous marisco food!! Jewel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Hana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAHotelCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at LA Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your comments.
We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Myself and my wife have just returned from LA Hotel. This hotel is in need of modernisation and the decor is outdated. Also there was no air conditioning turned on within the reception, bar and restaurant areas, although there were a couple of large fans, but with the temperature outside being in the 40's this didn't really help. We had a large triple bedroom which was clean and nicely air conditioned. There are 3 pools, 2 outdoor and an inside swimming pool. The outdoor pool in the middle of the complex was very quiet and there was no problem at all getting sunbeds although the reason for this may have been that were dead wasps/flies etc floating in the pool. The infinity pool was nice and has a small bar. Sunbeds were harder to find at the infinity pool but we always managed to find a couple. The beach is nice with clear waters. Staff were friendly around the whole complex. We paid £199 including breakfast and dinner which was an absolute bargain. Food was plentiful but with not much variety so we mainly had breakfast and dinner outside of the hotel but we expected this anyway, I mean what else would you expect for the low price we paid! Outside of the hotel there are several restaurants with Calamari being my favorite and also gets good reviews on Trip Adviser (We had two 3 course meals here, 2 glasses of wine and 2 vodka/coke and the bill came to just £30 for both of us). There are not many bars around the area although we found the 'Stumble Inn' which is located next to the hotel and set back a little. The staff there were extremely friendly and at the time it was open gone 2am. This is a good hotel for relaxing. In fact we were asked to move to the 5* Acapulco hotel, I do not have a clue why, but we refused as we were so relaxed at the LA. Some would say we would be mad not to move but I had already seen reviews for the Acapulco...Would I return, yes! Do not let the fact I only gave this hotel a 3 star rating. This was mainly due to us being used to 4/5* hotels and the fact the hotel had no air conditioning in certain areas, the food and the hotel decor. In general I would recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing holiday. I would like to say thank you to all the staff who took care of us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 151Adam1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAHotelCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at LA Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are sorry there were some aspects of the hotel and your stay that you did not enjoy.

We take on board all comments both negative and positive, and are happy that overall you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere at the hotel and thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is near a sandy beach via a subway,the best rooms with views are those facing the hotel pool.The beach bar and restaurant provide very pleasant facilities,large fresh water pool,plenty of sun beds and parasols on the beach and around the pools are provided free of charge.
During our stay 29th June to 6th July 2014 we noted no evening entertainments.Food and drinks prices are reasonable.The staff are very attentive and polite,the rooms are cleaned daily complete with bath towels.A trip to Kyrenia harbour takes approx.30 minutes with a dolmus(mini bus) and costs 3.50 Turkish Lire ( 1 GBP) per person each way.The mini bus stops just outside the hotel on request.There is a supermarket near the hotel well stocked with cold drinks and food at very good prices.Good location for a relaxing holiday by the sea.The weather was too hot during the day this time of the year.Would go again but avoiding high season.

Room Tip: high floor facing the pool and mountains room 226 is perfect choise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAHotelCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at LA Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities on our sandy beach!

We would love to welcome you back to the hotel, May and October are perfect months to visit North Cyprus if you want to avoid the Summer heat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We are a couple in our 30s, headed to North Cyprus for a long weekend. LA Resorts is a bit old and had some outdated features but it was a great choice. There were 3 pools, 2 outside and 1 indoors. There is a sauna although it was too hot outside and we didnt use it. The rooms were very nice....clean, with a bathtub and AC. We had a pool view balcony. We didn't spend much time in the room but it was a great room. That said, we had no idea that all the plug sockets were going to be UK. We live in Istanbul and so came prepared with Turkish plugs. The World Cup games were on and our TV, which was Turkish, couldn't be plugged in to the UK plug sockets. Although once we got around to asking we got an adapter from the front desk. Other highlights, the private beach is amazing. Really nice with chairs and umbrellas free for guests. It is, however, across the street. No biggie. The breakfest was ok. Not a great english breakfest but we dont care, the Turkish breakfest was nice. Free beach towels, drinks you can charge to the room. The downsides include its location...it was quite far from Girne but you can jump on a dolmus. But in the evenings, forget getting to and from the hotel easily. Its pretty dead at night. We found the restaurant at the hotel to be lacking...non exisitant rather. But Silver Rocks and Blue Song restaurants a 5 min waling distance we really good. The hotel staff was excellent. Mehmet was lovely and Jane as well. Overall, would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarjourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAHotelCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at LA Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your review, we agree the LA Hotel is the perfect place for a weekend break!

We hope to welcome you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
0.2 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
485 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Lambousa
Chateau Lambousa
#5 of 7 in Lapta
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Alda Hotel
Club Alda Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lapta
73 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LA Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LA Hotel & Resort

Address: Fevzi Cakmak Caddesi, Lapta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range: £35 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LA Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those searching for that perfect holiday in the sun, then look no further than the LA Hotel & Resort in North Cyprus. As one of the top hotels in North Cyprus, it offers an idyllic holiday destination and provides exceptional value for money accommodation. The LA Hotel & Resort Situated in Lapta, 14 km (9 miles) away from the famous harbour of Kyrenia (Girne), the LA Hotel & Resort enjoys an enviable position beside beautiful blue waters of the Mediterranean Sea. The La Hotel & Resort has a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and is set in lush subtropical gardens. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of the Mediterranean, as well as breathtaking mountain scenery. The LA Hotel & Resort is one of the best-selling North Cyprus hotels amongst holidaymakers from the United Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, GoNorthCyprus, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your LA Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Lapta
La Hotel And Resort
La Hotel Kyrenia
La Resort Kyrenia
Hotel Resort
LA Hotel & Resort Cyprus/Lapta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing