We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“picturesque”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
11 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Beattock, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Faz_Diwan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“picturesque”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

we reached at Telford manor house on sunday a bit later than expected because of traffic but Chris waited paitently. Upon arrival we were given a warm welcome by her thomas and colin.
During our stay Colin helped us out a lot by mapping out areas to visit and seeing to our every need.
thankyou Colin
I hope to see you soon
and if you ever do visit leicester pop down
thankyou Chris and Thomas for letting us stay in your picturesque house
we really enjoyed our stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
thank you for your review, I much appreciate your comments, and hope you decide to visit again. Kind Regards, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
er0gan
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mum's 80th”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I booked Telford House for my mum's 80th birthday. I had read all the reviews but was a little apprehensive because they sounded too good to be true - but they were. Twenty adults and two children had a fantastic time. We were met by Thomas and Colin and given a tour of the house. As well as the generous welcome pack the house was decorated for a birthday celebration and there was a cake, flowers, fizz and a card waiting for my mum. All the rooms were a great size and the bedding and towels were an excellent quality. The kitchen was very well equipped with more glasses, plates, cutlery, pots and serving dishes than you would need to cater for a large group. Having Colin on site was an added bonus. We had no problems but if we had I'm sure Colin would have solved them. Moffat is only a pleasant walk away with plenty of hotels, bars and restaurants - if you don't like walking Emma's taxi is only a phone call away. As we were waved off by Colin and Thomas my brother was busy trying to book Telford House for his annual boys cycling weekend. Would highly recommend this property for a large family gathering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Hi, I did not get to meet you (busy with the other lettings) but Thomas (husband) and Colin (care-taker) would always look after you very well. Yes your brother has booked again and I gave him the discount for a returning customer; so I will get to meet this time. Thank you for leaving the house so tidy, you make my life so much easier, and also allows the next guests to arrive earlier. Kind Regards, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hak1963
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic family run accommodation for large parties”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

From the moment we arrived on the Friday afternoon and were met by Chris, Thomas and Colin, we knew this was going to be a memorable long weekend.

We came down from Aberdeenshire in a party of seven and another party of three joined us from Manchester to take part in Tough Mudder, Scotland. The house is very easy to find and can bee seen from several main roads.

The exterior of the building had that well cared for look which is usually an indicator in my experience of what to expect inside and we were not disappointed.

I lost count of how many bedrooms, bathrooms, lounges and kitchens we were shown round and all were in exceptional condition

The owners had also left a 'Welcome Pack' of wines, shortbread, crisps, biscuits etc. which the kids in our party soon got stuck into (we kept the wine away from them though)

The bedrooms are all very well appointed and whilst there is a main dual carriageway / motorway a relatively short distance away, there was never any hint of noise to keep us awake

Another very endearing feature of the property was the creaking floorboards in some areas of the house and while this may seem an inconvenience to some people, in our opinion, it only added to the character of the place, along with the many pictures and designs of Thomas Telford

So, to finish off this review, I would like to thank Chris, Thomas and Colin (who was extremely helpful with local information and was always on hand for any queries) for their hospitality and I cannot praise the Telford Manor House highly enough

Regards,

Mike Riach and party

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It would be a shame to single any one thing, everyrthing was perfect
Liked least: Having to hand back the keys at the ened of our stay
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review, and also for leaving The House so clean and tidy; you are most welcome back anytime. Best regards, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPF57
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for a family get together”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We booked Telford Manor House and the Mill House for a family party, and we could not have made a better choice. The welcome from Chris, Thomas and Colin was only the start of a wonderful weekend in a beautiful part of Dumfriesshire.

The house is full of character and has been beautifully maintained. Colin is available, but unobtrusive should you have any problems.

I can't recommend this highly enough if like us, you want the chance to spend time with friends or extended family in very pleasant surroundings.

Thanks to our hosts for helping make this such a wonderful family occasion

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind comment; you are most welcome anytime. Best regards, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weddingpl...
Glasgow-Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect for large get togethers”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned from hen weekend with 17 friends. House huge with bedrooms and bathrooms for everyone. Big kitchen with everything we needed, glasses, cutlery, plates, etc Massive table that seated us all together. Huge lounge upstairs and downstairs. House spotlessly clean, bedding and towels included. Met by friendly caretaker who showed us around and gave us the very generous and unexpected welcome pack that included chocolate, biscuits, crisps, wine, fizz and other items that I've forgotten. We cannot praise this place enough. So easy to find as just off the motorway. Lovely grassy area out front where we enjoyed our hen party sports day, much to amusement of passing cars. We all enjoyed our stay and I'd recommend the house to anyone looking for somewhere to host friends/family get togethers. I'll be thinking of a reason to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being altogether but still having space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Many thanks; we hope you soon think of a reason to return. Kind regards, Chris & Thomas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan1970
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family get together”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at Telford Manor. Everything was perfect from the warm welcome and tour from Chris And Thomas to the ongoing professional presence of Colin. The generosity of Chris and Thomas with a fantastic welcome pack including wine, sweets, dog treats, biscuits and crisps was very appreciated and beyond expectations.
The accommodation offers a comfortable space for 20 plus people to gather and the facilities are also more that adequate. We were lazy and decided to opt for a caterer to cook for 18 adults on the Saturday night and were not disappointed. They even took all the dirty dishes away to wash if any one is interested (Regis banqueting). The property offers enough space that everyone has their own space and there is enough communal space to make socialising easy. All in all a great weekend in a fantasticly priced property please believe all the reviews it's not too good to be true just book and find out for yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Hi Ewan and everyone, Many thanks for leaving The House in such good order , and what is also much appreciated is your very kind review and recommendations to potential guests. We hope you decide to stay again in the future. Kind Regards, Chris & Thomas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steph27Sc...
Maybole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous bug house”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a long weekend with friends in this house. What a great house for a large group. The house is in three floors 2 kitchens..2 lounges 11 bedrooms and toilets and showers. The house is so well equipped there was no shortage of glasses, dishes, cutlery ect everything you need. We were greeted by Colin and there was a welcome pack with wine crisps sweets and biscuits which was a lovely gesture. I will definitely book this again and the whole group agreed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Many thanks for leaving the house so tidy, guests like you make life much easier. We hope you book again. Kind regards, Thomas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing