We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supporting my Husband on LEJOG”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marchbankwood House
Ranked #2 of 4 Beattock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2013

What a pleasure to stay at this hotel. Both Sally and her husband could not help us enough. The rooms were very comfortable with amazing views. Beds were very comfortable and the food was amazing. If only all B&B's were like this. Would definitely recommend that anyone who is looking to stay in this area book this B & B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights before attending a wedding locally. Exceeded our expectations, beautiful large room and bathroom, breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. Owners are very friendly and welcoming, will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1612Bubble77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our third visit, over some years. Stayed in a different room to previous trips. Excellent standard of accommodation as we have found before. Definitely recommend the " Munro " breakfast. Sally and her family as welcoming as ever. The rooms offer views over woodland or countryside, depending upon which room one has.

Room Tip: Choose any room, all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN_C027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Going to make this review short and sweet. Rooms spacious and clean, the service catered to our every need and the breakfast is definitely above average (best scrambled eggs I've tasted for a long while). I would highly recommend the Marchbankwood house to anyone looking for accommodation in the area! 

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukeMurray17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We chose Marchbankwood House as a convenient half way point to stay just off the motorway between home and our destination of Aberdeen. It had great reviews and we were hopeful that it would be a comfortable place to spend the night.
We weren't disappointed. The place is very conveniently situated and you drive through a sylvan wood on approaching the house. The rooms are tall,airy,and spacious; beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are very well appointed. There are nice touches like a bedside radio as well as the expected TV.
Sally was lovely and welcoming and Meg the dog deserves a special mention for entertaining me through breakfast by presenting a ball to play "catch". Breakfast was delicious and we had a good walk through the garden and lovely wood.
My only regret is that we got there late and left early to travel onwards. It would have been good to have spent longer in this area and we would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harassedmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My wife and I found this B&B looking on laterooms.com, we read some reviews, all of which were good. We were not disappointed. We had a large room with all the usual facilities. Sally and her family couldn't have been more accommodating, we even played fetch with the dog 'Meg'. Breakfast was delicious! We would recommend to anyone looking to explore the area.

We also went to 'Claudio's' Italian restaurant in Moffat, which we would also recommend, as the meal was really good.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here for a night on 22 Dec 12. We chose it as it had great reviews and looked lovely.

It was wonderful!

Peaceful, tranquil and simply beautiful views. The hostess, and her 4 year old assistant, were wonderful. Very attentive, ensuring our every whim was taken care of even before we had even realised we had one.

The choice of breakfast was great. We asked for something that wasn't on the menu, baked beans (heathen I know), but this was arranged without fuss. My son does like them.

Both host and hostess, not forgetting the little hostess of course, were all perfect hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and will definitely be making this our regular over night stay.

Thank you all very much.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Marchbankwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marchbankwood House

Address: Beattock DG10 9RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Beattock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beattock
Price Range: £54 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marchbankwood House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the countryside, 3 miles from Moffat, Marchbankwood offers a perfect place to relax. Spacious en-suite rooms and comfortable guest lounge with log fire. Ideal base for walking, cycling and exploring the local visitor attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Marchbankwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marchbankwood House Beattock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing