We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most beautiful and idyllic apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Colomba is an 11th Century tower house full of character and original features
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Colomba is an 11th Century tower house full of character and original features
The charming living room with exposed stone walls amd beamed ceilings The romantic queen size bed is located in the 11th Century tower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Casa Colomba is an 11th Century tower house full of character and original features
The charming living room with exposed stone walls amd beamed ceilings
The romantic queen size bed is located in the 11th Century tower
At the rear of the property guests can relax in the private garden
Casa Colomba is situated in this street in the historic centre
The romantic bedroom with original antique bed and chandelier.
Guests can prepare and cook Tuscan dishes in the apartment kitchen
The living room has a study  and library area with a selection of novels and guidebooks-
The bathroom has a shower cubicle and contemporary  Italian fixtures
Contemporary bathroom under the ancient beams!
A peep through to the charming rustic kitchen
Modern bathroom under ancient beamed ceilings
The Tuscan kitchen with original features
Stylish comfy interiors a room to lounge and relax
Hand soap, shower gel, aft white towels and bath robes to make you  feel at home
View from the summer room through to the kitchen
The antique bed (Queen size)
A peep through the bedroom mirror!
Views from the castle over Vicopisano.
The exposed stone walls of the tower date back to the 11th Century
Views from the loggia and bedroom
The city of Pisa is just 25 minutes away.
The antique queen size bed.
The charming kitchen is fully equipped for cooking at home.
Colourful streets in the Medieval heart of the village
Visit a local organic olive farm and tate the delicious olive oil.
The Colourful river banks of Pisa
Florence can be reached in under 60 minutes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Vicopisano, Province of Pisa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nancy B
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most beautiful and idyllic apartment”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was my second stay in this beautifully renovated apartment and I enjoyed it every bit as much as my first visit in December 2013. Marie and Lorenzo, who are the most kind and welcoming hosts, have restored their tower rooms to a very high standard preserving the Medieval features. It is extremely comfortable and carefully thought out with everything a guest might need. I especially love the antique bed which is very romantic and cosy; the bathroom is gorgeous and spacious - and everything sparkles. The village of VIcopisano is very authentic and unspoilt - the square is a very short walk where I enjoyed a morning cappucino most days mingling with the very friendly locals. Marie and Lorenzo recommended excellent restaurants nearby and if I'd had more time I would have loved to have joined in with the olive oil tasting. It's great that the coast is just half an hour away and enjoyed a visit to Marina di Pisa very much with it's seafood and superyachts! Also visited the wonderful 'Angels' exhibition which was showing near the Leaning Tower. Each time I come here there are always great exhibitions to be seen - last time it was Andy Warhol in the Blu gallery in Pisa. I am so glad I have discovered this rich and fascinating area and will definitely be returning very soon, re-booking Casa Colomba where I feel so at home, de-stressed and blissfully happy. Thank you so much to Marie and Lorenzo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved everything about this apartment.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joandes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tuscany in Style!!!”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Hosts were an amazing couple. They could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We felt like we had known them for ever. The accommodation was amazing - well appointed and spacious. The information provided was extensive and we needed more time to embrace it all. The experience was what we wanted, staying in a small Tuscany village relatively untouched by tourists. Shopping in the local village was fun and a great experience with little English spoken. Great location close to Pisa, Florence and other attractions. We travelled to Pisa and did Marie's walking tour it made the day about more Pisa than just the leaning tower. Our experience was first class and we would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat in an undiscovered part of Italy”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Colomba for our honeymoon, and were so glad we chose this wonderful part of the world to celebrate. Marie and Lorenzo couldn't have been more accommodating and the apartment was very impressive. Marie was always on hand to book restaurants, give guided tours and offered local tours of olive farms and ceramic workshops. She even managed to hire us bikes from Savino: the 80 year old bike mechanic in Vicopisano in a memorable hour that proved to be the talking point of the village! The local restaurants were excellent and we were pleased to learn about 'Botte Gaio' - a deli with excellent 'Vino Sfuso' at very cheap prices...

The local information in the apartment was extensive and very welcome, offering us the opportunity to tour the local area with some insider knowledge. Pisa is a wonderfully unspoilt part of the country with plenty to offer: we will definitely return again and there is only one apartment we would consider staying in! Thanks Marie and Lorenzo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer service, impressive surroundings, lovely quiet local area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish we could have had longer...”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The booking process and pre-holiday information told us that these were people who understood the meaning of 'customer service', and so it proved. The apartment is delightful, well-equipped with everything that could be required for a long or short stay. Marie and Lorenzo are lovely, and will do all they can to make your stay enjoyable... or stay in the background and let you do your own thing if that is what you prefer. The welcome pack of food and wine was very welcome, and allowed us to make a lovely meal on our first evening. The village of Vico Pisano is very appealing, with a fabulous old castle and bell-tower, as well as all the conveniences (shops, restaurants, bars) to ensure that you are well-catered even if you just want to stay at the apartment and chill for a day or three. The Piaggio museum in nearby Pontedera is well-worth a visit - it is very well done, and free to enter. On arrival, we let slip that it was our wedding anniversary on the following day... and an anniversary card was popped under the door next morning! Just an indication of how caring and attentive Marie and Lorenzo are. The only criticism - and it seems to have been not uncommon in our accommodation in Italy on this vacation - was that the mattress on the bed was a little too firm for our soft English backs. Would we return? - At the drop of a hat!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and friendliness and helpfulness of the owners
Liked least: The firm mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Z4940LWki...
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment in a lovely rustic village”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful apartment set in a traditional Italian village. The apartment is beautiful, romantic and very comfortable, especially the big bed and also the lounge area, but we found the Loggia to be our favourite place for relaxing, this room 'brought the outside in' was fresh with a lovely view and perfect for lounging before or after days out. The kitchen had everything you needed for self catering if you chose to. The village centre, which is only a couple of minutes walk away had a great butcher, bakery, fruit and vegetable kiosk and convenience store, so it was possible to completely cater without needing to go elsewhere. There is a fantastic wine bar 'Onosophia's' in the centre also opening around 6 o'clock in the evenings. Marie and Lorenzo were very friendly and there is masses of information booklets and maps in the apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful rustic decor and comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2014
This is a long overdue response not just to Kim who wrote our last review but also to those guests who have taken the time to write us a review over the summer months.

It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and we thank you all for taking the time to share your views and experiences with our future guests. Although we have thanked you all personally we are sorry we have not been able to respond to each review on this site.

For those of you who have stayed with us or follow us on social media you will know that we have been busily working on new experiences to share with our guests and we are delighted that many of you have enjoyed our cooking lessons, ceramic workshop visits, olive oil and wine tasting experiences, you have kept us busy and given us some fun and memorable moments.

We thank you all again for your support in choosing Casa Colomba and we hope to welcome you back to Vicopisano in the not too distant future.

If you happen to find we are already booked please remember that we do now have other properties available in the Vicopisano area and all are listed with Flipkey and Tripadvisor.

Till we meet again - take care and warmest regards
Marie and Lorenzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff W
Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing experience with fantastic hosts!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Casa Colomba in Vicopisano was a real treat in so many ways. Marie and Lorenzo were about the best hosts one could hope for - we felt like we knew them our whole lives in no time!

The apartment is an amazing experience in itself - like living in history (but with all the modern conveniences). We loved the close proximity to Pisa and the surrounding countryside, which was a real treat to explore.

We have to give top marks to Marie for the outstanding communication with us, as we planned for our trip. Not only were her responses very quick, she provided a wealth of information on places to see right in the town (amazing food the first night at Osteria di Ceppato, a visit to a master potter, an olive tasting and wine tasting tour), and in the area (a walking tour of Pisa and amazing boat tour of Cinqueterra).

Loved this place and would definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in a very roomy, clean and authentic Tuscan apartment
Liked least: That we had to leave :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: comfortable accommodations, spacious, lovely details
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing