We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Fabulous Tuscan Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Colomba is an 11th Century tower house full of character and original features
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Colomba is an 11th Century tower house full of character and original features
The charming living room with exposed stone walls amd beamed ceilings The romantic queen size bed is located in the 11th Century tower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Casa Colomba is an 11th Century tower house full of character and original features
The charming living room with exposed stone walls amd beamed ceilings
The romantic queen size bed is located in the 11th Century tower
At the rear of the property guests can relax in the private garden
Casa Colomba is situated in this street in the historic centre
The romantic bedroom with original antique bed and chandelier.
Guests can prepare and cook Tuscan dishes in the apartment kitchen
The living room has a study  and library area with a selection of novels and guidebooks-
The bathroom has a shower cubicle and contemporary  Italian fixtures
Contemporary bathroom under the ancient beams!
A peep through to the charming rustic kitchen
Modern bathroom under ancient beamed ceilings
The Tuscan kitchen with original features
Stylish comfy interiors a room to lounge and relax
Hand soap, shower gel, aft white towels and bath robes to make you  feel at home
View from the summer room through to the kitchen
The antique bed (Queen size)
A peep through the bedroom mirror!
Views from the castle over Vicopisano.
The exposed stone walls of the tower date back to the 11th Century
Views from the loggia and bedroom
The city of Pisa is just 25 minutes away.
The antique queen size bed.
The charming kitchen is fully equipped for cooking at home.
Colourful streets in the Medieval heart of the village
Visit a local organic olive farm and tate the delicious olive oil.
The Colourful river banks of Pisa
Florence can be reached in under 60 minutes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Vicopisano, Province of Pisa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marian S
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Fabulous Tuscan Experience”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We arrived at Casa Colomba on Christmas Eve to a lovely warm welcome from Marie And Lorenzo. They are a really lovely couple that make you feel right at home right from the word go. Casa Colomba is an amazing apartment, very spacious, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and takes you back in time to a more romantic age, especially the great big bed that you have to stand on a stool to climb into! Viscopisano is a lovely village with everything you need from a kebab shop to a medieval tower, the people are so friendly and welcoming. We didn't hire a car for our stay but the local transport is very good and we didn't miss having a car at all. We used the buses and trains which are very reliable and very economical. We visited Pisa for a day and Florence. A trip by bus to Pontedera is well worth a visit, it's only a small town but had some lovely shops. Unfortunately because it was the Christmas holiday all the local trips that Marie and Lorenzo organise such as looking around Bruneleschi's tower and visiting vineyards etc were not available when we stayed but we would love to return again one day to do all those things. Finally a big thank you to Marie and Lorenzo for all their help while we were there, we had a lovely Christmas dinner in a local restaurant which Marie had booked for us and a wonderful New Years Eve dinner in another local restaurant with Marie Lorenzo and their friends. We would highly recommend a visit to Casa Colomba for people of all ages, couples and families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package, hosts, apartment and the friendly village
Liked least: There honestly wasn't anything to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your kind and informative review for Casa Colomba. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was such a pleasure to have guests over the Christmas period. We were so pleased to hear that you visited so many places on public transport but we are sorry that we couldn’t organise all of our regular trips due to the seasonal holidays - however we are already working on this for next Christmas with a view to making these experiences available for guests who may stay with us next Christmas. We do hope you come back and visit us again and we can certainly arrange a trip to the nearby vineyards and Brunelleschi's magnificent fortress.
Thank you again for your support in choosing Casa Colomba and we look forward to meeting you again soon.
Warmest wishes Marie and Lorenzo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jyoti j
Gibraltar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

There's not many holidays where i come back saying that i will definitely go back again. But the experience we had at Casa Colomba was absolutely beautiful. From the people, to the wine, to the food, to the house and its lovely owners, everything was amazing.

It was the perfect mini getaway and truly sad to have to leave. Marie and Lorenzo are the nicest holiday home owners and made us feel extremely welcome. The whole experience and ambiance was unforgettable. A true authentic and rustic feel to the 4 days that we were there. I'd recommend everyone to go to Tuscany and stay at Casa Colomba. If you are a salami and wine lover i'd recommend you visit botte gaio, but Marie and Lorenzo will tell you all about that :)

We will definitely be coming back! Vicopisano is a beautiful little town with very nice people.. and with Pisa only being a 20 min drive, it's the perfect location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property itself!.. beautifully decorated
Liked least: nothing..
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn A
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most memorable stay”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Marie and Lorenzo are hosts extraordinaire. They are both so friendly, warm, and knowledgeable, and made sure we had the most memorable experiences in all of Italy. We met Nesti the pottery maker (and have some of his pieces to prove it) and the olive oil tour was fantastic. And the cooking lesson was a once in a lifetime experience. The restaurant downstairs is also great -- don't miss it. The owners are also so friendly, and the food was just plain good Italian home cooking. In fact, everyone we met in Vicopisano were friendly, and we loved the history of the town -- it was truly an unforgettable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mc1867
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Myself and new wife booked in at casa Colomba to Finish off our honeymoon.

All I can say is wow. First off the hosts Marie and Lorenzo are without a doubt the most hospitable owners we have ever met. They were very flexible, offered great insight into the area and gave great personal touches and tours of local areas.

Secondly the area, it was beautiful, great food m, drink and culture. We didn't hire a car but to be honest we didn't feel like we ever needed it, there are plenty of things to see and do as long as your happy to walk and the bus runs to Pisa and to the local train station where you can get to Florence in 30-40 mins.

The apartment is stunning and really helps you experience the true culture of Tuscany! This was helped even more so by the annual medieval festival that occurred in the village the weekend we were staying. Free weekend passes as a resident meant we could experience this crazy and amazing multi village spectacle to its fullest - and will be recommending it to all our family and friends.

Overall - easy stay away - great hosts - the best place to base yourself for a true Tuscan experience courtesy of Marie and Lorenzo!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnAussie
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Everything you think of about Tuscany is here.”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for 9 days recently in this lovely apartment. We were welcomed very warmly by Marie who was very helpful in providing information about the accommodation, the village and regional tourist spots. Vicopisano is in a very strategic position for easily visiting so many other wonderful places like Siena, San Gimignano, Lucca, Pisa, Florence .. The list goes on. The village itself has some treasures of its own like Brunelleschi's fortress. Just hanging out is a pleasure too. Filling your bottles up at the fountain with pure water, going to the bakery 3 minute walk away for our daily croissant, visiting our little bar EnoSophia at aperitif hour and filling our wine bottles up...all simple pleasures which memories are made of.
The apartment is about 150 metres from the village square, down a little side street. It is on the second floor, up a flight of steep and rather shallow steps. The apartment is generous in size with a fully equipped charming kitchen including an oven, where we could properly cook meals. The loggia is off the kitchen but it was too cold most of the time for us to be able to avail ourselves of its airiness and light. The bedroom has a very high bed (I needed a stool and I'm not short!) and windows that look out into the countryside. There is a small wardrobe for your clothes. The bed was comfortable with nice linen.
The lounge area was comfortable in size with a small television but no English speaking channels. We were happy to read books in any event so that was fine. There is a library of books to choose from. The bathroom was a good size with a glamorous glass basin and vanity. There is a laundry with a washing machine, in a low ceilinged room.
The apartment is nicely decorated and everything has been thought of to make your stay comfortable. You do have to pay for heating which at this time of year was needed. It cost us an extra 40 Euro. There is also a charge for a change of linen and towels on request.
We didn't see the garden as the downstairs (ground floor) is being renovated (not a problem) but it was too cold most of the time to use it in any event.
There is a bar downstairs (not noisy) and the night before we left, there was a rock band right outside our door, the street was closed off, and many of the locals ensconced themselves on chairs and tables to enjoy themselves. The music was great and stopped at a reasonable time, it was all fun and the beer on tap was good.
We loved our stay here and meeting Marie and Lorenzo, they are delightful hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was lovely
Liked least: being charged for heating, which was a first for us. Perhaps the rate could be adjusted to avoid this.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most beautiful and idyllic apartment”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was my second stay in this beautifully renovated apartment and I enjoyed it every bit as much as my first visit in December 2013. Marie and Lorenzo, who are the most kind and welcoming hosts, have restored their tower rooms to a very high standard preserving the Medieval features. It is extremely comfortable and carefully thought out with everything a guest might need. I especially love the antique bed which is very romantic and cosy; the bathroom is gorgeous and spacious - and everything sparkles. The village of VIcopisano is very authentic and unspoilt - the square is a very short walk where I enjoyed a morning cappucino most days mingling with the very friendly locals. Marie and Lorenzo recommended excellent restaurants nearby and if I'd had more time I would have loved to have joined in with the olive oil tasting. It's great that the coast is just half an hour away and enjoyed a visit to Marina di Pisa very much with it's seafood and superyachts! Also visited the wonderful 'Angels' exhibition which was showing near the Leaning Tower. Each time I come here there are always great exhibitions to be seen - last time it was Andy Warhol in the Blu gallery in Pisa. I am so glad I have discovered this rich and fascinating area and will definitely be returning very soon, re-booking Casa Colomba where I feel so at home, de-stressed and blissfully happy. Thank you so much to Marie and Lorenzo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved everything about this apartment.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joandes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tuscany in Style!!!”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Hosts were an amazing couple. They could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We felt like we had known them for ever. The accommodation was amazing - well appointed and spacious. The information provided was extensive and we needed more time to embrace it all. The experience was what we wanted, staying in a small Tuscany village relatively untouched by tourists. Shopping in the local village was fun and a great experience with little English spoken. Great location close to Pisa, Florence and other attractions. We travelled to Pisa and did Marie's walking tour it made the day about more Pisa than just the leaning tower. Our experience was first class and we would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing