We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My son's wedding reception”
Review of Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Cross
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My son's wedding reception”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just come back from a weekend stay at this hotel for my son's wedding. He held the reception here. We arrived from Manchester at this hotel at about 9 am just to drop our luggage off as we knew book in time was 2.00 pm but we were given the rooms straight away. The rooms are clean and had everything including iron. ironing board, hair dryer, shampoo. shower gel etc. We had a sea view that was amazing. The food was most probably the best we have had in a hotel and the staff could not do enough for you. Trying to think of one negative but can't apart from we had to go home after 2 days. We will definately go back again. Howth is a nearby fishing village and a must to visit. Well done Marine Hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
To the parents of the Groom,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel and our Wedding service to you.

We appreciate that this is a most important day and I am delighted that we delivered on what we promised with C & A when they came to view the Marine Hotel last year.

It is a pleasure to host spectacular Weddings here at the Marine Hotel, with its lawns rolling down directly onto Dublin Bay; it is a truly special venue for romantic Wedding.

I wish you both the very best and congratulations again to the Happy couple!

My very kindest regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    166
    71
    19
    32
See reviews for
146
202
35
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We arrived to our waterfront room and found the accommodations clean and well appointed. The Marine Hotel is located in a terrific spot 2 blocks from the train station and within walking distance of the harbor village of Howth, and a 20 minute taxi ride from Dublin Airport. We loved the place as the room was perfect, the views were spectacular, and the location was within a 20 minute train ride to Dublin's Connolly station. We experienced the city and countryside in a perfect location at a warm and friendly hotel. The Schooner Bar staff was prompt and courteous, and our food was well prepared and served quickly. This place seemed like home right away, a comfortable welcoming hotel with attentive staff and very reasonable rates. We will stay at the Marine Hotel on our next visit to Ireland! We were very happy here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor and congratulations on your Anniversary!
I hope you enjoyed your stay in Ireland and that you have safely returned home to the states.

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Sutton, just outside the very pretty fishing village of Howth.
It is a fantastic location to experience Dublin’s beautiful coastal villages: Portmarnock, Malahide, Howth and Sutton while only 20 minutes on the DART line to the city centre.

I hope that your review will help many more guests choose and enjoy all the Marine Hotel has to offer.

Kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenderry, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed at Marine Sutton for short break - very comfortable bedroom, friendly staff and good breakfast. WiFi in public areas but none in bedroom. Swimming pool was good and that area well maintained - there is a nice area at the back of the hotel but the flower beds could do with some gardening care.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on the Marine Hotel.
I must apologise for the Wifi issue, as it has been addressed on tripadvisor in the past few comments, there is obviously an issue that we can address now that we are aware of it.

Thank you for the comments on our pool, it is lovely and quiet and I hope you enjoyed it.
I appreciate the point raised on our flower beds, and we have addressed this as it is BBQ season and they are now running on Friday evenings for the summer.

I hope that you stay with us again soon on the shores of Dublin Bay.

Warm regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is an old world hotel with a lovely relaxed atmosphere about the place. The rooms were spacious and the one I was in had sea views. The only down side is that the wifi didn't work in the bedroom and I had to go to the bar. It did work in the lobby but the French doors to the back gardens were open and I found it a little chilly there. The hotel has beautiful gardens and a patio area to sit out in and the beach is close by. It is situated right in the village of Sutton, a short walk from the DART station. Howth and all it scenery is a DART stop further along the line or a good 40 minute walk. We ate is the hotel on the first night and in the Chinese (The Golden Elephant) across the road on the 2nd night. Both were very good but service in the hotel was slow. Didn't use the pool so can't comment

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the Marine Hotel, in its amazing location on the shores Dublin Bay, 5 minutes from the pretty fishing Village of Howth and only 20 minutes from the city centre by DART.

I must apologise about your Wifi issue, we clearly had a major problem with our signal and this is being addressed currently, I know it will be fixed for your next visit to us.

I hope that you will visit us soon and we look forward to it.

Kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malahide, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We recently had a family get together in the Marine Hotel. Some of the family travelled so they stayed and the rooms look great, comfortable, clean and modern, there is also a swimming pool and the most amazing views across Dublin Bay to Dun Laoghaire and beyond to the Sugar Loaf. The food in the restaurant was excellent, great value but really tasty. The staff are really friendly and we felt a huge amount of personal attention with each one wanting to make our event special (even though it was just a small gathering). We finished with drinks on the beautiful lawn which runs right down to the beach - and did I mention the view, you could be in the Mediterranean but Ireland is nicer.

Great place to visit, free wifi and stunning views. Really want to go back

Room Tip: Great location, easily reached from Dublin and the airport. Ask for a sea view room, the view is stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattlanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,

What a glowing review, thank you!

We are so proud of our Hotel on the Bay, and when the sun shines and you are sitting in our huge suntrap Garden, you could be anywhere!

The view, well you have to see it to understand it! From our gardens you can see Howth Hill, the Sugarloaf mountains, Dun Laoighaire, Bray Head, the Aviva Stadium, and at night, the Spire on O Connell St! It truly is spectacular.

Our Meridian Restaurant is a wonderful place to dine, the Hotel staff is friendly and very professional, the food is of the highest quality and our promise to you is excellence.

I wait to welcome you back to the Marine Hotel in the future,

My best regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsale, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Arrived to the hotel after a very busy day and long journey. Reception and check in was great, very helpful and informative. The room was great, shower a little dates but ok. View was incredible and a calm evening to add to the view. Breakfast was great also and next trip to Dublin and the surrounds I will be staying there again!!!!!

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor with a wonderful sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Marine Hotel. We are so proud of the view on offer to our guests, whether it is from a bedroom or our extensive lounges and lobby’s, it is amazing.

I am happy that you mentioned Breakfast, we serve a wonderful Breakfast at great value and all our hot dishes are prepared freshly in the Kitchen to order, so everything is fresh and very tasty when it comes to your table.

We look forward to you booking to stay with us again,

Best wishes,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed for a lovely weekend - a break by the coast with nothing planned but pondering and eating.

The hotel is impressive on arrival. Staff friendly on arrival and as we arrived early we left our bags and pondered over to Howth - well worth a visit or two and come hungry, its a lovely fishing village.

Checking-in, especially as we had done the hard stuff earlier, seemed to take for ever. Still got to the room, very nice and airy. Little strange to have a skylite in the bath room that opened onto an internal wall. The other skylite gave a great sky view from the bed.Pity it had not been cleaned in ages - covered in dust and worse.

Went for a swim, so to reception to sign-in. They provide the towels, but had not, so had to wait 10 minutes for them to arrive. Come-on a little system - when towels drop below 10 order more!

Swimming Pool is fine, but too much chlorine for my eyes, however the sauna was working. The steamroom was off. Oh and no staff to help here.

Still got towel went to swimming pool to find a key coded door - back to reception to get the code.

To the bar to order coffee - eventually get the attention of a member of staff. Nice coffee, but trying to pay was almost impossible. Even after catching the eye of 2 members of staff and being told "2 minutes". I had to make the moves to leave before a bill was presented.

Breakfast time - and they are good breakfasts, but can't find staff to be sat down, can't get attention for coffee, run out of bowls and glasses.

Don't get me wrong, it was an enjoyable stay, but each of these irks did not have to happen and they lie at the manager(s)' feet. These are all poor systems, perhaps tested by the hotel being busy, but busy means more business - not a great reason to drop your standards.

Will I stay here again, well maybe, but next weekend break I will check out the other local hotels.
Pity.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkwind1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor, we are very happy to get the negative aspects of a guests stay as we can work on them once they become apparent.

In regards to your comments on the Swimming pool: we should never run out of towels and this is a simple thing to fix for the guests sake. It is an unsupervised pool so there would be no staff in the club to assist, however the Reception staff are available over the phone from the pool courtesy phone.

As you can appreciate, Breakfast can be very busy and these are the shortfalls that sometimes happen on the busy days. I do apologise and hope the wait was not too long.

Please do think of us again when you visit the area, I hope you may give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes.

Kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Cross
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,564 reviews
2.9 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
3.3 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,968 reviews
6.7 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,076 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Property: Marine Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Sutton Cross 13, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Sutton Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel's guests can browse complimentary newspapers in the lobby, go for a dip in the indoor pool, and relax in the sauna and steam room. Business guests can benefit from conference rooms, and those arriving by car will find complimentary parking onsite. Further practical amenities include a 24-hour front desk, a safe-deposit box and a dry cleaning service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Sutton Cross, County Dublin, Ireland
Hotel Marine Sutton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing