We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Cross
Reviewed 1 January 2014

stayed here on new years eve for a wedding, the hotel is lovely food amazing and great views of Dublin bay, rooms were spotless too, staff were very accommodating, will be returning !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind review; it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon in the Marine Hotel.

Kind regards,

John Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent our last two nights in Ireland at the Marine Hotel. We wanted to be near Dublin as well as the airport. What an excellent choice! The staff members were all friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. We ate at the restaurant on site. The food was excellent and very elegantly served. The bar was a fun place to relax and eat. We would definitely stay at the Marine Hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Marine Hotel.
We are so convenient to the airport but still only 20 minutes by public transport to the city centre!

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

John Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

One night business trip-good location for north side of Dublin and only a short taxi ride to the centre. Hotel clean and friendly greeting on reception.
I had a great breakfast here and the again the staff where very helpful and accommodating.
comfy bed and great view from my room over the bay.
Would stay here again

Room Tip: have a room on the back overlooking the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyCStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time in the Marine Hotel.

I hope you have the opportunity to visit the Marine again and we look forward to it.


Kind regards,

John Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Spent one night here en route to Howth. The hotel is average, although it has potential to be much better. The reception staff were pleasant and the breakfast adequate. We ate out so don't know about dinner.
This hotel could attract more people if it was developed; it is very accessible in a lovely region close to the sea..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAMES P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
I am very pleased that you found the staff and services to your liking,

We are continually updating and upgrading our Hotel, and the small intimate feel of the Hotel is our biggest asset. We will continue to develop our comfort levels but will always retain our charming coastal Hotel.

We hope you visit us again,

Kind regards,

John Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

When travelling with my daughter hotels are divided into two. Those who when tidying the room while we're away take care with all the teddies and dolls a young girl needs and those who don't. In the Marine we returned to find all the teddies tucked up in their freshly made bed. It probably added a few minutes to someone's work day but added a lot to my daughter's stay.
It also shows the personal care that our family has come to associate with the Marine.
The room we stayed in was freshly decorated and spotless.
The facilities are lovely and the breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. We stay here a lot and will continue to stay here for the foreseeable future.
It was a real compliment to the hotel to see my daughter's face light up when she saw Cathy on reception because she always makes time for a 'little chat' with her.
Just a great home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grundy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for another lovely review of the Hotel.
I am delighted that you choose to mention the little touches that go into making our Hotel a special one.

I hope you, your daughters and the teddy bears are all keeping well and best wishes to you all!

See you soon,

Kind regards,

John Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here while attending a funeral so it wasn't going to be relaxing leisure time, but the welcome was good and the room was comfortable. I had a large single room overlooking the back garden and the beach - it was a gorgeous view. Room was stocked with tea/coffee facilities. Large old fashioned TV. Bathroom was fine, towels were small but fluffy. Bed was brilliantly comfy. The pool looks a little on the small side, I was going to swim but the day was lovely so went for a walk instead - went over to the Burrow Road Sutton beach - absolutely lovely. Cousin went down for swim but it was full of pool club swimmers. Breakfast was good, the usual cereals/fruit/yoghurts etc but then a choice of freshly cooked items. I opted for the full Irish - far too meaty for me really but what I ate was tasty! Should have gone for the kippers or scrambled egg which looked great!! Just a mention about Dublin taxi service - I was charged E30 from airport to hotel on the way out because the driver hid his meter, on my return it was E20 - be aware.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear, overlooking the beach, on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Marine Hotel.

It is wonderful that you experienced so much in the Hotel; unfortunately it was not a happy reason to stay with us.

I look to welcoming you back again on much better circumstances.

Kind regards,

John Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Sutton Village is approximately 20 minutes from the city centre, but access is easy with frequent bus services and the Dart train station about 500 metres from the hotel. I loved staying at the Marine Hotel. The room was lovely in an old-fashioned way with a little balony overlooking the beach. The only thing I'd change about the room would be the old fashioned C.R.T. TV set.

The staff were friendly and accommodating and took the time to chat to you. The breakfast was absolutely outstanding. Lovely to be served a piping hot, freshly prepared breakfast rather than the usual morning buffet hassle. Really, really nice.

I really enjoyed my stay in this comfortable, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Col1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for the lovely review! As always we are thrilled when our guests enjoy their time in the Hotel.

I appreciate your remarks and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

John Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Cross
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,636 reviews
2.9 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
3.3 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,193 reviews
3 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
4.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Sutton Cross 13, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Sutton Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Cross
Price Range: £87 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel's guests can browse complimentary newspapers in the lobby, go for a dip in the indoor pool, and relax in the sauna and steam room. Business guests can benefit from conference rooms, and those arriving by car will find complimentary parking onsite. Further practical amenities include a 24-hour front desk, a safe-deposit box and a dry cleaning service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Sutton Cross, County Dublin, Ireland
Hotel Marine Sutton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing