We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning guest”
Review of Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Cross
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Returning guest”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Marine on numerous occasions over the last 25 years & can highly recommend the hotel. It provides lovely views over Dublin Bay with a good bus & dart service close by for easy access to Dublin City. A 20 minute walk takes you to Howth which has a good variety of restaurants.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting the Marine Hotel once again!
We are so happy when our guests return time and time again, it is a pleasure.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    160
    66
    18
    32
See reviews for
139
195
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Howth and Sutton are fairly lacking in hotel accommodation. I stayed at the hotel because I was going to a New Years Eve party in Howth.

The hotel is large, with good parking, and has pleasant reception and public areas. Breakfast was good, with an a la carte menu and a small but good buffet. Staff are friendly.

At the same time, it is expensive for what it is. I was surprised to find, after paying €110 per night, that the toilet bowl in the bathroom had clearly not been cleaned. The lady on reception organised for it to be cleaned...but...still not ideal The room was very cold even with the radiator at maximum and the shower was very poor. I mentioned this at check-out and later heard other guests complaining about having been "freezing" during the night.

All in all, this could be a hotel for you if you need to be within a couple of km of Howth or Sutton. If this is not a priority for you, I would look elsewhere, and I would definitely not make this a "destination hotel" for a holiday or short break.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzzaround30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the Marine hotel.

I must apologise if the Hotel was not as clean as you would expect, this was a pure oversight on our part.

I am happy you enjoyed the breakfast and your overall stay.

Kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

stayed here on new years eve for a wedding, the hotel is lovely food amazing and great views of Dublin bay, rooms were spotless too, staff were very accommodating, will be returning !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind review; it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon in the Marine Hotel.

Kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amana, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent our last two nights in Ireland at the Marine Hotel. We wanted to be near Dublin as well as the airport. What an excellent choice! The staff members were all friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. We ate at the restaurant on site. The food was excellent and very elegantly served. The bar was a fun place to relax and eat. We would definitely stay at the Marine Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Marine Hotel.
We are so convenient to the airport but still only 20 minutes by public transport to the city centre!

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

One night business trip-good location for north side of Dublin and only a short taxi ride to the centre. Hotel clean and friendly greeting on reception.
I had a great breakfast here and the again the staff where very helpful and accommodating.
comfy bed and great view from my room over the bay.
Would stay here again

Room Tip: have a room on the back overlooking the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyCStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time in the Marine Hotel.

I hope you have the opportunity to visit the Marine again and we look forward to it.


Kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Spent one night here en route to Howth. The hotel is average, although it has potential to be much better. The reception staff were pleasant and the breakfast adequate. We ate out so don't know about dinner.
This hotel could attract more people if it was developed; it is very accessible in a lovely region close to the sea..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAMES P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
I am very pleased that you found the staff and services to your liking,

We are continually updating and upgrading our Hotel, and the small intimate feel of the Hotel is our biggest asset. We will continue to develop our comfort levels but will always retain our charming coastal Hotel.

We hope you visit us again,

Kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

When travelling with my daughter hotels are divided into two. Those who when tidying the room while we're away take care with all the teddies and dolls a young girl needs and those who don't. In the Marine we returned to find all the teddies tucked up in their freshly made bed. It probably added a few minutes to someone's work day but added a lot to my daughter's stay.
It also shows the personal care that our family has come to associate with the Marine.
The room we stayed in was freshly decorated and spotless.
The facilities are lovely and the breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. We stay here a lot and will continue to stay here for the foreseeable future.
It was a real compliment to the hotel to see my daughter's face light up when she saw Cathy on reception because she always makes time for a 'little chat' with her.
Just a great home from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grundy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another lovely review of the Hotel.
I am delighted that you choose to mention the little touches that go into making our Hotel a special one.

I hope you, your daughters and the teddy bears are all keeping well and best wishes to you all!

See you soon,

Kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Cross
2.9 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
1.9 mi away
King Sitric
King Sitric
#1 of 2 in Howth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,744 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.7 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Property: Marine Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Sutton Cross 13, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Sutton Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel's guests can browse complimentary newspapers in the lobby, go for a dip in the indoor pool, and relax in the sauna and steam room. Business guests can benefit from conference rooms, and those arriving by car will find complimentary parking onsite. Further practical amenities include a 24-hour front desk, a safe-deposit box and a dry cleaning service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Sutton Cross, County Dublin, Ireland
Hotel Marine Sutton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing