We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Cross
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel. I cannot recommend it enough - super clean, spacious, lovely good and drinks - location is gorgeous as well.
And then there is the terrific staff. Special shout out to Sarah and Agnes from reception. So friendly, helpful and caring! We felt like we were staying with friends!
I asked if they had soy milk and they went out to buy some for me for breakfast.
In no matter where they shy to go the extra mile to cater for our needs.
I honestly cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hela7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationsMarine, Guest Relations Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your kind words to Sarah and Agnes.

We do hope you will return to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Irene Wyse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    158
    66
    18
    32
See reviews for
137
195
34
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is situated on the bay of Dublin and a room in the back of the hotel with a view of the bay is recommended. The double room was basic, but spacious and clean and it offered the best view.
Breakfast was included in the price and was of poor/average quality. The chef did not master the art of frying eggs nor bacon. The cappuccino however was well made every time. The selection of breakfast choice was limited and below average. Service was friendly and efficient everywhere in the hotel. We stayed there a week and overall it represents good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationsMarine, Public Relations Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and efficient at all times.
Our hotel looks onto Dublin Bay and the view from our bedrooms overlooking our gardens is amazing.
We are currently reviewing our hotel menus and hope that should you decide to return to stay with us again in the near future, you will find our breakfast menu much more to your liking.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Kindest Regards

Irene Wyse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailieborough, Ireland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Marine as a base for hopping on the bus to visit Howth for the excellent Dublin Bay Prawn festival. The large bedrooms are clean and well appointed, breakfast was tasty and the added bonus was use of the leisure centre which made for a very pleasant stay. As there is also a Dart station nearby this hotel would also be handy for getting into Dublin but give the option for being on the coast and close to the lovely town of Howth.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bailieborough_Blowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationsMarine, Guest Relations Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of the Marine Hotel, Sutton. Alot of our guests attended the Dublin Bay Prawn Festival and the hotel is only a few minutes drive from Howth. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will return to stay with us again soon.

KIndest Regards

Irene Wyse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a three day break in this first class hotel It is situated twenty minutes by bus from the centre of Dublin There also a DART station within a ten minute walk which also goes to the centre of Dublin However the bus stop is just outside the hotel entrance The bedroom was large and had a sea view The breakfast was first class The food in the bar was also very good When we again return to Dublin this will be were we stay

Room Tip: Room 232 is large with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationsMarine, Guest Relations Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is very convenient with both DART and bus stops only minutes from the hotel. We do hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to Dublin and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Irene Wyse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was a nice hotel.I went to this hotel on the 12th April with my boyfriend for his birthday.When we went to the reception around 1pm to check in the receptionist said we wouldn't be able to go to our room til 3pm.This was ok-we didn't mind going to the restaurant for a bite to eat.However, when I asked if we had got a room with a balcony which I had requested online, the receptionist became very irate and said in an angry tone "Yes, and as I said the room that has been allocated to you is not ready yet!".I was shocked by her attitude as I was very friendly to her,This wasn't a nice introduction to the hotel.The receptionist was not welcoming.We didn't get a balcony in our room as it turned out.We thought we might be able to get bar food which was nice, but that wasn't available til 4pm.The bedroom was nice and big though and we got a lovely sea view which we had requested,However, I think nowadays all hotels should have flat screen tvs.To get the leisure centre, we had to go out the back door of the hotel and walk outside along the garden to the leisure centre.Should it have been raining, we would have got wet!There was no reception area in the leisure centre and no one supervising the pool!I didn't like that the sauna and steam room were separate to the swimming pool and just outside the men's and women's changing rooms.Should we have needed any help in the leisure centre, there was no one to call upon and it is separate from the hotel.The back of the hotel is located overlooking a beach and the sea.There is a gate to get out onto the beach but it was locked.Think hotel guests should be able to use the beach as this location is an advantage to people choosing the hotel.We were not told of the steps to the beach a few minutes away from the hotel.Nice to have a beach near the hotel.We only found this out by chance.We liked the bar.Great location for bus and dart services.Bus stop just outside the hotel.Personally, I prefer a buffet breakfast rather than table service but the food was nice,

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room with a balcony.Two rooms seem to have a balcony but you have to pay the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronica1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationsMarine, Guest Relations Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Please accept my apologies that you did not receive a warm welcome on your arrival to the hotel. This is something that we always pride ourselves on and I am disappointed to hear that we fell down on this occasion. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me direct on 01-8390000 or alternatively on om@marinehotel.ie.

I do hope that you will consider the Marine hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kindest Regards

Irene Wyse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Had a family dinner here on Easter Sunday, there were 9 of us in total. We book edit table for 3pm but it wasn't ready on time, this was the only fault for the whole afternoon.
Firstly the food was exceptional probably one of the best I've had in a long time, the presentation was very good and a good choice from the menu.
The staff were so helpful and very professional with the manager overseeing everything. There were a few fussy people in our group but the staff ensured that everybody was accommodated with their requests.
I highly recommend The Marine and will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationsMarine, Guest Relations Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of the Meridian Restaurant at the Marine Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience with our food and service. We were extremely busy on Easter Sunday and glad to hear that you had a good day!

We do hope you will return to dine with us soon.

Kindest Regards

Irene Wyse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at The Marine Hotel last week for two nights. From the minute we arrived, we were met by helpful, polite staff. The room was spacious, very clean and had a sea view. From Cathy and Sarah on reception to Sebastian In The Restaurant, Ivan in the Bar, cleaning staff all made us welcome. The rooms, food, pool and facilities were excellent. Try the steak! The Dart is only a ten minute walk away. The drive round Howth is beautiful. We are already planning our next trip to The Marine

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17Des
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestrelationsMarine, Guest Relations Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of the Marine Hotel, Sutton. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your two night stay with us. I have passed your comments onto the staff that you mentioned and they are delighted with the feedback.

We do hope that you will return to stay with us again soon and we are looking forward to welcoming you!

Kind Regards

Irene Wyse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Cross
2.9 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
1.9 mi away
King Sitric Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
3.2 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
6.7 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Property: Marine Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Sutton Cross 13, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Sutton Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel's guests can browse complimentary newspapers in the lobby, go for a dip in the indoor pool, and relax in the sauna and steam room. Business guests can benefit from conference rooms, and those arriving by car will find complimentary parking onsite. Further practical amenities include a 24-hour front desk, a safe-deposit box and a dry cleaning service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Sutton Cross, County Dublin, Ireland
Hotel Marine Sutton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing