We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Blue Grotto (Il-Hnejja)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$512.69*
and up
Malta Highlights in a Day
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Zurrieq
Certificate of Excellence
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Relaxing view- Have reasturants five mins walk , good for all the family. Have parking area few mins away.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francesca-Melchior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    871
    523
    199
    47
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This location is a wonder.....the sea is so deep and blue; the caves are all spectacular especially Blue Grotto. It is a place to be visited at least once in a lifetime. I recommend it to all visitors coming to Malta.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great experience with the boat trip we took. It was really enjoyable and very interesting. The clean and crystal sea water in and around the Blue Grotto were fantastic. I will visit again for sure as it was a memorable holiday.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Camilleri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fun, fabulous place!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was a wee highlight! The boats are small and great fun (if you don't mind some 'hearty' sea spray on a choppy day!). At €8 for an adult on the boat it's decently priced, as the caves and the grotto are beautiful. We took advice and went in the morning - go in the morning when the sky is blue and sunny for maximum impact! Fab fun, recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Happeecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

First I was a bit skeptical and thought that it might be overrated, but afterwards when I got there I knew that it was worth the visit.
I wasn't able to go on the one of the boats because of the weather that day didn't allow it so I can't express an opinion about that, but I highly recommend you to go to the area of the 'panoramic view' bus stop. It's about 15 minutes of walk from the bus stop off the tourist buses. The view is great and it's worth sweating a little.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Grotto (Il-Hnejja) also viewed

Mdina, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Mellieha, Island of Malta
Qrendi, Island of Malta
 

Been to Blue Grotto (Il-Hnejja)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing